We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for University and Hospital Areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location for University and Hospital Areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently stayed here while in town for a concert at the Quicken Loans Arena. I feel that I knew it wasn't exactly in the downtown area, but was ok with the location since I had planned on checking out the museums and the University Circle area. This hotel is hard to spot while driving by but is right on the Cleveland Clinic campus and is a short distance from the art museums and Little Italy. However, it is a good distance from downtown and many other neighborhoods of the city, so research your transportation plan if you're coming. Also, the valet parking is reasonable and allows in-and-out privileges if you are planning to drive.

That said, I really was happy to stay here for the rate and the comfort and amenities. While not as upscale as some of the other Intercontinental Properties, it is still a very comfortable, clean and well-appointed hotel. I would have been happy to stay here during my days of heavy business travel. This is a big step up from other suites I've stayed in.

If I were in town again, I would definitely consider the Intercontinental Suites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear PittTrvlr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at the hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and certainly look forward to your next visit.

Happy New Year!

Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    118
    34
    23
    16
See reviews for
90
47
31
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely awesome place to stay. We are SOOOOO glad we didn't end up at the Hilton. The taff was great and the restaurant was supurb. Check in and check out was perfect. What a great introduction to Cleveland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Jim C,

We are glad you stayed at the InterContinental Hotel as well! Thank you for excellent reviews and comments and hope you will stay with us again.

Happy New Year!
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Cleveland Clinic is walking distance close. Lunch had a portobello burger with side salad. Yummy. Lots of low calorie healthy food on the menu with calories. If you want other fried foods for example they are also available.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Okrernt3209,

Thank you for sharing your lunch experience at C2 and hopefully the next vist to Cleveland you will also stay with us.

Stay well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently traveled to Cleveland for surgery at the Cleveland Clinic. I had previously stayed at the Cleveland Clinic Guesthouse, which I believe is another InterContinental managed property (though not even in the same league as the suites). This time I brought my family and we decided to stay at the InterContinental Suites property. What a wonderful stay. The service was outstanding, the restaurant was surprisingly good, and the room was fantastic. I'll go into detail below:

Service: From the valet (I know...it's contracted out, but still, it's part of the hotel) to the front desk and the housekeeping staff, everyone was very friendly. The housekeeping staff actually took the time to ask how my recovery was going and to wish me luck. Little things like that make a huge difference. The front desk staff were cheery and helpful as well.

Restaurant: This one was kind of a shocker. The decor was not spectacular, but the food was fantastic. Healthy (yet very flavorful) choices, and the cappuccino was memorable. Our waiter was very attentive as well. Very pleasant experience.

Room: The suites are spacious and laid out very well. As I recovered from my procedure, I really appreciated the layout of the room and how easy it was to navigate.

Now here's the only downside. We visited right in the late summer/early fall time frame. It was a bit chilly at night and it warmed up nicely during the day. Unfortunately, the entire hotel is apparently on the same HVAC unit and it's either on heat or A/C (remember dorms in college? Yeah, it's like that). They had already made the switch over to heat, so our room was quite toasty. In fact, we had to open the windows at night. If you travel there in the "in-between" seasons like we did, I would recommend getting a room on a lower level so not as much heat gets to you.

Overall, I was very pleased. The hotel is only a block or two from the hospital, it's well lit and safe, and it definitely caters to patients and families. If you're going to Cleveland Clinic for anything, I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel over the Guesthouse.

Room Tip: If you're traveling in early October, book a room on a lower floor. Once they make the switch o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Jeremiah D,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and shared those experiences with everyone. We appreciate all the positive comments and look forward to your next stay with us should you return to Cleveland.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleurr
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I can't imagine I would stay here for anything other than visiting the clinic but for medical treatment this hotel is perfect. It's lovely to come back to a serene, comfortable and well appointed hotel after a long day that is so well located and only 2 small blocks from the main entrance.

The bed was extremely comfortable, the windows opened which is important to me and the room itself was very nice and spotless. There wasn't much food around the area but the restaurant downstairs which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner was actually very good and I never had a bad meal there. The fruit water in the lobby is a nice touch and delicious.

I will be back to stay again and again whenever I need to visit the clinic and found it a very convenient and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear fleurr,

We look forward to having you as our guest should you need to visit the Cleveland Clinic. Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with everyone.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First off, this is a nice hotel. The suite I got was huge, and had awesome ac/heat and the bed was fluffy and fantastic. In fact, the bed with sheets and all is probably worth a couple grand, and you will sleep like you're sleeping in a bed that costs a couple grand. There were two flat screen tv's (one in the bedroom and one in the living room), and the bathroom has a scale too. The decor is modern, fun, and lively. This is a pricey place to stay in with 1 or 2 people. The couch is a pull out, so the room would be perfect for a family of 4 or 5. Honestly, you could even sleep 4-5 adults there comfortably.

It is a 5 minute walk from all of the cleveland clinic buildings, however parking at the hotel is $16 per day.

Bad aspects included that the entryway light burnt out right when I walked in and turned it on (I miss the reliable incandescent lights of my youth). The toilet ran constantly although I couldn't hear it outside the bathroom due to the thick walls. The worse offense was that the fancy keurig coffee make was broken or too complicated to use. I've used keurig coffee makers successfully before, so this one was likely broken (although to be fair, I didn't have any coffee that morning, so I might have been unable to concentrate or in withdrawal).

Lastly, the in room food service was expensive. $14 for a breakfast (which was nice) plus $3.50 for OJ and I though I'd bee adding a tip to maybe round it out to an even $20. Well lucky for the hotel they included a $2.00 service charge (which I assume they only charge when you request your room service to be delivered to your room?), plus 18% gratuity, and tax too I think, which brought it to just over $25. Since the food was delivered on time, I left a nice "additional tip" of $0.00.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Michael A,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Suites Hotel during your visit to the Cleveland Clinic and sharing your experiences during your visit. We are pleased you enjoyed the bedding and our suite. I am sorry for the bad aspects of your stay. I thank you for bringing these to our attention so we can improve our amenities and services.

Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When we checked in, they were going to give us a room with 2 double beds. When I showed her the reservation was made for a King, she found a room with an air purifier and hypoallergenic appointments. It was lovely. We were very comfortable for the 2 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kknoll, Manager at InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear roadwarrior205,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of the hotel during your recent visit. We are pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Stay Well,
Kim Knoll
Business Travel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Address: 8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, the region's only "wellness focused" all-suite hotel, is conveniently located right on the Cleveland Clinic campus. An oasis for guests to relax, rejuvenate and improve their overall mental and physical well-being, yet close to the city's most prominent attractions such as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland Museum of Art and Cleveland Botanical Garden. From the moment you arrive you'll feel the warmth and comfort of a hotel and staff that are focused on assisting you reach your goal of wellness and good health. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Cleveland
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.