We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Tip for Everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland to your Saves list
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet, Tip for Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The InterContinental Suites is one of three properties on the Cleveland Clinic campus. We’ve stayed at the Guest House Hotel. It’s older, the least expensive, and in need of a major overhaul. The only reason to stay there is that it’s close to the hospital, the Chicago Deli is in the same building, and you don’t pay an inflated fee for parking.

On this trip we stayed at the Intercontinental Suites. It’s a little farther away from the main entrance. Unfortunately there is no skywalk to the hospital, but there is a shuttle bus. On good weather days, it’s a relatively short walk if your physical condition permits. The Suites Hotel has been renovated and is more expensive than the Guest House. Don't go by the room rate alone - ask for the total cost per night (there is 16% tax plus a $16 per day charge for parking.) This hotel is trying hard to mimic it’s more upscale sister property, the Intercontinental Resort, and justify it’s rates, but there are too many little things that make it fall short.

Our one bedroom suite was comfortable. It had a small, but serviceable living area with a desk. Bedroom is a decent size. Air conditioning is a puzzle. The numbers on the thermostat don’t reflect the temperature in the room.

Service is a relative term and an expensive add-on at this hotel – be prepared to pay/tip for everything. Hotel parking is a revenue source, not a service. The lot is next to the hotel and fenced. Guests are not given the option of self-parking. You are charged $16 a day in addition to the expected tip each time you use your car. A real hassle.

There aren’t many restaurants within walking distance. If you are going to spend most of your time at the hospital – eat there. The options are limited at the CC food court, but it’s affordable. There’s a Starbucks and an Au Bon Pain on the first floor of the hospital – good soups and sandwiches. You pay a premium for the convenience of eating at the hotel. The food is okay, but not worth the prices charged. We noticed that people who were staying for a week or more had smartly brought snacks/supplies with them.

Internet service is inconsistent. If you need to conduct business while you’re there it can be frustrating. We were told there was a “business center”. It’s an open-air area in the lobby - two computers and two printers - with people sitting and talking nearby. You have to contend with the conversation and the guys from Toledo enjoying Happy Hour.

The hotel desk staff was polite and helpful. If you are not coming specifically for the clinic, stay a little further out and get more for your money. Same advice if you are coming only for an appointment and not for an extended stay in the hospital.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    118
    34
    23
    16
See reviews for
90
47
31
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We recently traveled to Cleveland to see specialists at The Cleveland Clinic, and on the recommendation of the person making our Dr. appointments we stayed at the InterContinenal Suites Hotel. The room was very nice, clean and open - having the separate living room is great. We experienced a few glitches in the system that do have to be addressed.

First, on our first night, the toilet stopper valve was leaking , causing the toilet to run constantly. We called maintenance, and they came and installed a new one, which promptly continued to have the problem of staying propped open. Repeated calls didn't get anything done about it, the maintenance man saying that it works just fine. Anyhow, we had more on our mind than a leaky toilet, so we didn't continue badgering them.

Secondly, the free Wi-Fi was absolutely non-reliable. It would go down for no reason while you were connected, and be down for hours before it came back. Even the computers in the lobby were affected, which was very frustrating for someone trying to get their airline boarding pass. When I asked at the front desk if the network was going up and down, they said yes, it does that, but it will be back. I guess you get what you pay for.

The Cleveland Clinic shuttle picks up and drops off at this hotel, making it very easy to visit the medical complex. We decided against getting a car because we would have to pay $16 a day for valet parking? No, not if we're staying there 8 days.

We didn't dine at the hotel's restaurants, but I did venture down to ask them if I could get a can of chicken broth opened for my wife when she was prepping for surgery the next day. They were more that helpful, and even brought up some additional plates, bowls and silverware sets for us.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night, in August, while in town for a wedding on the Case Western Reserve campus. The facility is beautiful, modern and clean. Very nice lobby area (thank goodness since we had to wait there 2 hrs for our room to be ready.) The room we had was spacious and clean with good amenities.

However, the service was consistently poor. No one was very friendly or welcoming, and the front desk staff was not at all helpful. The restaurant service was so inattentive that we waited over 30 minutes for our sever at breakfast before we just got up to leave.

If you don't mind the lack of service, this is a very nice place to stay, reasonably priced and obviously a good location for CW or Cleveland Clinic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding. Rooms are suites, with a kitchenette, dining table, living room (with LCD TV) bedroom (with LCD TV), Powder Room with closet and bathroom. Overall, very clean and a great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our family travelled to Cleveland for a surgery at Cleveland Clinic and from the moment we pulled in onsite, the staff at a the Intercontinental Suites made us feel welcome and special. From Kahlid, who stored our bags until we could check-in, to Gemal who showed us to our room and distributed our luggage to the rooms we reserved, to Vellice at the front desk who thoughtfully and quickly remedied an issue with our reservations, the customer service has been truly outstanding. Everyone here has greeted us with smiles and confirmed our thoughts that we are indeed in the best hands...be it at Cleveland Clinic or at the Intercontinental. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Our suites were fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Staff was helpful and the room was spacious and luxurious. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hotel was nice, but the restaurant was overpriced and not that good. Unfortunately there are not a lot of options within a walking distance. They could also use more front desk help. Called to get my car brought around and went into hotel voicemail, not good. The rooms where very nice and the staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland

Address: 8800 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, the region's only "wellness focused" all-suite hotel, is conveniently located right on the Cleveland Clinic campus. An oasis for guests to relax, rejuvenate and improve their overall mental and physical well-being, yet close to the city's most prominent attractions such as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland Museum of Art and Cleveland Botanical Garden. From the moment you arrive you'll feel the warmth and comfort of a hotel and staff that are focused on assisting you reach your goal of wellness and good health. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Cleveland
Intercontinental Cleveland
InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Suites Hotel Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.