We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Check out the Theater!
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I just completed a mini-road trip, touring a few baseball stadiums over a week. For our night in Cleveland we chose to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn and it was a great choice!!! First of all, we did not want to spend over $300 on the other "downtown" hotels. The Hilton Garden in was a great deal at only $139 for the night, just being on the fringe of the downtown area--but still easily walkable to many of the major attractions. Its especially great if you are going to the baseball game, as it is literally across the street from the stadium. If you want to walk over the bridge to the Westside Market (highly recommend!!), that is also doable. We did not want the expense and hassle of a rental car, and it was easy to either walk or take public transportation anywhere we wanted to go from the Hilton. The room was comfortable, the hotel lobby was clean and bright, the staff was very helpful, and free wi-fi was also a plus! The only small negative was that the breakfast was not included in the room rate and it was pricey if you wanted to add it on. We were only there one night, so we didn't bother and it wasn't a huge issue for us. However, be warned--there are no quick/cheap breakfast options in the immediate vicinity, so if breakfast is important to you, it might be worth the extra expense.

One other plus--they even held our luggage for the entire day after we checked out, since we did not leave the Cleveland area until later that evening, so we were able to sightsee and return for our bags that evening. Overall, for this price point, you can't do much better!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Please know we offer a complimentary shuttle Monday through Saturday for all the downtown attractions. But yes you are correct, most are walkable from where we are situated. So glad you had a nice stay in our city and at our hotel. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    264
    94
    26
    8
See reviews for
192
189
39
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

clean and modern hotel located within walking distance of lots of downtown bars and restaurants. Safe and secure parking and easy to find location. We enjoyed our stay here. Downtown was way cleaner and safer than I had previously thought

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Yes, downtown Cleveland has come a long way for sure! Thank you for pointing that out and for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came in for a reunion and decided to attend the Indians-Yankees game. Literally check in and parked the car. No need to drive anywhere. Perfect place to stay- hotel staff over the top friendly. Room was ready and clean. Harvey's Bar that is off the elevators was the perfect place for a night cap to end a perfect day. Will no doubt stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
"Perfect" review - thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Yankees-Indians game on Tuesday July 8th. The hotel is right across the street from Progressive Field. Booking early has it's benefits. I got 2 rooms for $169 each. Also got comp breakfast ticket. We requested a view of the stadium and we got it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Glad you had a very nice stay and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

It was a dark yet clear night. We pulled in at 9pm tired and hungry after a long drive. I asked at the front desk if a room was available. No, they said, and Justin, the PM supervisor, gave me a list of nearby hotels that may have a vacancy. Kiona handed me a phone and I started dialing. Tonya (also behind the desk) knew of other hotels with no vacancy so I skipped calling those. The first one I called said they had a double room for $189 (didn't have one at the AARP rate).Then I talked to a nice lady at a Hampton Inn about 5 blocks away. She did have a room for $179/night. But there would be a $20 parking fee. I said OK. We'll be right there. In the meantime, Mr. Greg Koloze, Front Office Manager, suggested that the beautiful LaTonya call a patron to ask if he would be honoring his reservation that night. He said no. She said, "OK and we will not charge you the penalty this time." So we got his room (for the price quoted by Hampton Inn) on the 8th floor where we could see fireworks each time the Indians scored a homerun. The room was clean and well-equipped (Keurig coffee maker).

The Indians and Yankees were playing across the street. The hotel lobby was empty except for the extraordinary staff. The restaurant closed at 10 pm but we were greeted warmly when we showed up at 9:30. Terrance, our waiter, was so helpful with suggestions including being willing to customize an order to fit my preference. I had a cup of delicious cream of green bean soup, a custom-made Cobb salad, and my husband had a burger and fries. All were fresh and just right for the time and setting.

We were also able to leave our car in their parking lot the next day and take their free shuttle to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Our driver was friendly and knowledgeable.

I may never get to Cleveland again but I will always remember the friendly, kind, helpful and delightful front desk and restaurant staff that made our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your excellent experience through your review. Also thank you for recognizing our team members in the process. If you should visit Cleveland again please be sure to stay with us. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I grew up in Cleveland and usually stay at a hotel in the western suburbs, and this is the first time I've stayed at a hotel downtown. We were going to an Indians game, so we wanted a hotel close to Progressive Field. The Hilton Garden Inn is across the street from the ballpark; you can't get any closer.

The hotel itself is great. Our room was huge - be sure to ask for a room that ends with "00" (we were in room 600) and you'll be on the corner with two windows. We peaked into other rooms that were being clean and could see that our room was much bigger. The bathroom is a little small, but that's no big deal for us.

There is a breakfast buffet that includes all the usual suspects: cold and hot cereal, pastries, made-to-order eggs, etc. It was adequate. We saw a lot of people asking for take-out containers and they piled them with food from the buffet. None of the staff said anything and I was surprised.

Our shuttle driver, Jan, was very nice. She drove us to and from the Horsehoe Casino. On the way back, she drove us by the Ritz-Carlton to boo the Yankees fans who were waiting for the players to come out.

We had an "incident" with one of the parking attendants our first night. Todd, the night manager, and the front desk staff were very apologetic for what happened and comped our parking AND gave us a voucher for the breakfast buffet. That was more than what we expected and made us want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms that end with a "00" (400, 500, 600, etc) are on the corner with windows at each cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Glad you gave staying downtown a try and you had a great stay with us. Also please know your kind comments in regard to Jan have been shared with her. She is certainly a hoot isn't she? Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our family was in town for the baseball game and you can't get any closer to the stadium than this. But what really made this hotel great beyond it's location was the staff. Only disappointment was the swimming pool area - really needs a wading pool for the little kids so the adults can actually use the hot tub, change room would be nice too. Special thanks and commendations to Greg! His winning personality and helpful tips truly made our stay here outstanding.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I can't disagree with you. I have been in the hospitality business 25 years and our team is the best I've had the priviledge to work with. Thank you for the kind comments and Greg is the man!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.