We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here recently. Front desk staff and manager were very nice and smiling! A great way to start my stay! Across the street from Progressive Field so I took in a ball game too! Very convenient! Very clean and well kept! Restaurant food is very good. I will stay here again and see another game!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We are glad to know we will have you back for another game. Right across the street as you know. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    319
    118
    31
    11
See reviews for
240
230
46
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

It may look like it's in a sketchy part of town when you get here, but it's really not. Just across the street from progressive field. We walked to the rock and roll hall of fame and could have to the football stadium too. Plenty of restaurants around if you're willing to walk a bit. Nice enough hotel and friendly staff, but breakfast is not free.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for the review and we appreciate you mentioning our breakfast. You are correct, we offer an all you can eat breakfast buffet for $11.95 for adults and $5.50 for children. But you can always book one of our package rates which include breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Let me start by saying that we have stayed in a lot of Hilton Garden Inn's and this one has to have the nicest and most pleasant people working for them. The front desk people are so kind and courteous, and always had a smile on their faces, no matter what time it was. The housekeeping ladies always greeted us with "hello" no matter how many times we may have seen them that day. With that said, the rest was just ok. The hotel pool picture that the "management" have put on here is NOT what that pool looks like. I am not sure if it was a complete renovation from that photo, or if it is even a completely different hotel, but the one that is there is small and very, very cold. The hot tub was ice cold and did not work (no bubbles). The room was not too bad, but the mattress....ooofa. Way not comfortable, at all. It was as if it started bowing in the middle, someone then flipped it over and you were on a 45 degree slant all night. The a/c units are VERY loud and when they kick on, you will know it! The breakfast was overrun with a large group of little soccer girls who touched EVERYTHING and then put it back, and gave those poor people running it a run for their money! That is not the hotels fault just poor parenting. The parking lot is in the back of the hotel, and is kinda pricey at $16 a night, yet about 1/2 a block away you can park all day for $9.00. I would not say that this is a bad hotel, at all, but just not quite up to the Hilton name. What it lacks, the people do make up for it. Beware though that after 5 pm, that city shuts down (except for bars)! If you have kids, you might as well call it a night. There is nothing at all to do. There is a bowling alley, which is really cool and only a few blocks away, but is costs and arm and a leg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review the good and not so good from your stay with us. Our apologizes in regard to the pool and spa, also the mattress. But we do thank you for letting us know so we can correct. Also thank you for the awesome shout out on our team. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The front desk team at this hotel really started our stay out right. They were very welcoming and gave great suggestions for local attractions. They also connected us with the hotel shuttle driver for a free ride to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Great team!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind comments in regard to our front desk and shuttle team. We like to think we have the best team in town - hotel team that is. Go Indians!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Best place to stay if wanting an overnight stay for an Indians game. It's directly across the street and easy to access from the Interstate. Stayed here for 1 night after a Friday night game at Progressive Field. Checked in at 4:30 pm. Waited behind 1 other person to check-in. Lots of staff at the counter to check people in. Room was ready and was an easy check-in. Parking is a little pricey, and can be the same or cheaper than parking in another lot for the ball game. On game days it seems most of the hotel patrons are people going to the baseball game. We had a room at the end of the hall, but the walk is short. The elevator is right in the middle. The room and bathroom were clean. The room was comfortable. It was unclear how to work the air conditioning in the room, but we were ok with the temperature. We didn't use any other amenities. Staff was very friendly. Coffee and water in the lobby all day for guests. Was also wine out for guests in the evening.

Room Tip: Keep in mind this is right across from Progressive Field. Rooms on the street side may have more noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
What a great detailed review - thank you! There is plenty of baseball season left so please come back soon. We're the closest hotel to the stadium. Right across the street! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great location, Great staff and clean room. Restaurant food was very tasty...especially the Salmon. If we are ever in the Cleveland area again, Hilton Garden Inn will be our choice. The hotel shuttle service was top notch. Close to many attractions. Walking distance to Cleveland Indians Ball Park. Also, the Cavaliers and next to ball park. Rock and Roll Music Hall of Fame and Museum just down the street on the water front and that's next to the Cleveland Browns Football Stadium.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for the "Excellent" review and glad to read you had a great stay. Also nice to know you enjoyed the food in our Garden Grille restaurant and used our complimentary shuttle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a nice clean hotel in an area where nothing is around close by without cab. $16 dollars a day to park is not fair. The closest Reatsaunt / bar is a 3 block walk through dark shady area. If you are in for a Cavs or Indians game its right across the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to type up a review on your stay with us. Please know we do offer a complimentary shuttle Monday through Saturday which goes to the downtown restaurants and attractions. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.