We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Check out the Theater!
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Coshocton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We try to stay here when we go watch the Tribe play on a weekend. You can park your car, go to the game and a 5 minute walk to your hotel. It is an older hotel, but no complaints on it from us. Give it a try, the location is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Always good to read we have a loyal return guest. Thank you very much for staying with us when in Cleveland and thank you for the review. Hey, the season is not over till fall so please come back for another game(s). Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    262
    93
    26
    8
See reviews for
191
188
39
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is awful. The service is okay.. but the rest is just terrible. The rooms are terribly outdated. The room was very dirty and the entire hotel wreaked of smoke. I have been sneezing since I left. The worst Hilton property I've stayed in. Aside from being close to the stadium, it's not a great location either. The walk from hotel to restaurants and bars is through some sketchy areas. Would not recommend for any length of stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Our sincere aplogizes that you did not have a satisfactory stay. We truly strive on providing excellent service and lodging and obviously we missed the mark with your stay with us. As you can see from the numerous other reviews that is not the norm for us. I see you stayed with us this month - May and we just completed our renovation of just under 1 million dollars on May 9 so I wish our accomodations had been more inviting for you. Also please know we offer a complimentary shuttle if you need to get to those restaurants, museums, etc.. you spoke of. Once again, our apologizes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just wanted to give a shout-out to the incredible front desk staff at this hotel. Justin & Greg were so personable and very friendly. And they certainly did not mind answering what I am sure seemed like a thousand questions that we asked them. Great job guys, you both deserve a pat on the back! The staff in the restaurant was also very friendly and we enjoyed our stay here.

The only complaint I have is the shower pressure is low and please get rid of those blow dryers and invest in some new ones. The blow dryers have no power to dry hair and it also kept catching my hair in the motor - ouch!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Can't argue with you, this staff is great. Sorry about the hairdryer but please know we are in fact changing them out with new ones little by little. Take care and please know we passed your kind comments on to Greg and Justin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We went to Cleavland to explore the city a little and specifically to see the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The Hilton Garden Inn is in the Gateway District, across the street from the ball park where the Cleavland Indians play. The Inn is an easy walk to several nice restaurants on 4th street, a mile from the R&R Hall of Fame, Science Museum, and other attractions on Lake Erie.
Although the hotel does not look 21st Century new, it is very clean and has all the amenities that you would expect. The thing that impressed us the most was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone from the concierge to the cleaning staff were helpful and pleasant. We will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side. The other side of the building faces the parking lot and express...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Glad you came in to visit and for choosing our hotel for your accomodations. Come back again soon. Plenty more to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday night to see a comedy show at the State Theater (away from the kids). The staff at this location were incredible!!! They were all so friendly and helpful. I really can't remember the last time I was so impressed with the personalities of the front desk staff. I imagine if you weren't in a good mood when you arrived to check in, you would be once you interacted with Tonya and LaTonya! :) They were genuinely happy, friendly people.

Check in was with Tonya and she was so nice, professional and helpful. She put us in a room overlooking the city/baseball field. She also provided walking directions to the theater, which was nice. Her coworker, Latonya, was also helpful in suggesting a nearby restaurant.

Our room was clean, comfortable and a typical hotel room. It was quiet, even though we were next to the elevator.

Parking was easy. No valet to park your car, therefore no hassle if you want to get in/out - you just need your room key. Also, it's a surface lot next to the hotel. I think it was around $15-16 to park (applied to your bill upon checkout).

We stopped at the hotel bar after the show for a few drinks. The bartender (Mike?) was fun to interact with and made a great margarita!

We did not eat at the hotel or use the gym/pool so I can't comment on those things.

If you are coming to Cleveland to go to a baseball game, the Hilton Garden Inn is a perfect place to stay as the stadium sits kitty-corner from the hotel. The hotel is also walking distance to Playhouse Square/State Theater and restaurants. We felt safe walking in the area.

We'd recommend this hotel and would stay here again with or without our kids.

Room Tip: Top floor (11th) had nice views of the city/baseball stadium and part of Lake Erie
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
La Tonya - Tonya and Mike. 3 of our shining stars here at the HGI Cleveland Downtown. Thank you for pointing them out in your awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and had a great experience! The friendly staff greeted us as we arrived very late in the evening. Check-in was easy and fast. Special thanks to LaTonya who made sure my sister had a room near my husband and I.

The hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a large size room on the street side with a view of Progressive Ball Park. (The only thing I would recommend would to be make sure that the housekeeping staff puts a mattress pad on the beds...our bed only had a fitted sheet)

Walking distance to downtown was minutes away with a good selection of restaurants. The buffet breakfast was really delicious. Mimi was an exceptional server...thank you Mimi.

I would definitely stay here again if we visit Cleveland. The night manager Todd Hagedorn should be commended for his professional staff! Cleveland Rocks!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for the kind comments in regard to La Tonya and Todd - much appreciated! And yes I agree, Cleveland does Rock! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Went with my daughters to see a band at HOB-Cleveland. Hotel was very clean and the staff were phenomenal!! I only have minor complaints. Getting out of the parking lot required the room key; this was not mentioned during checkout and required another swoop around the parking lot; walking back in and getting a replacement key. Otherwise parking is ideal and easily accessible from the hotel :) The walls (or could have just been our room location) but we could hear everything happening in the rooms beside us. So that was a bit disappointing as it was a nuisance to be woken up in the week hours of the morning. My last complaint has to do with the restaurant. Being a vegetarian, the breakfast buffet, although wonderfully stocked, does me no good lol. I had coffee, toast and oatmeal and was still charged for the full buffet price of $14! I did not realize it was one price and was not offered the price when we were seated. Only given the bill once we were finished. I feel that should be announced. Bit confusing.

The staff and hotel were very accommodating and friendly. Room, hallways and lobby were very clean. We would def stay again as it also it 50 feet from the Indians stadium! Huge plus! :))

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for the review. Our apologizes for the inconvenience but thank you for letting us know. I have passed your feedback on to the appropriate department heads. Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.