We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Check out the Theater!
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Cleveland
Norristown, United States
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

From the reservation process through departure absolutely top notch - even with snow and extreme cold. Friendly, courteous, helpful describes everyone from the van drivers to the desk folks to the servers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for the 'fantastic" review and the kind comments in regard to our team. Greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    198
    78
    18
    4
See reviews for
135
133
33
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We recently stayed here (2 couples) and went to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The rooms were very large, accommodating and clean. Justin, the clerk who checked us in and out (and who further assisted us, i.e. personally changing our room due to a faulty heater, suggested dining places, etc.) was a very friendly and professional young man. The food was delicious in the evening after arrival--approx. 8:30 p.m. (Margaret is a great waitress!) as well as the breakfast buffet. Both menus offered a variety of entrees, including choices for dieters (always a plus!). This was a wonderful place to stay with lovely accommodations, accompanied by friendly, helpful employes. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Make sure to have your breakfast buffet included in the room price. The buffet is not your typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We greatly appreciate the recommendation and do hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Greeted warmly. Staff was ready for us and we arrived late in evening. Keys to room were right there on the counter at check-in. Upgraded to suite as not enough beds for 3 men. Really appreciated that so one man could sleep on the sofa bed rather than the floor. . Great view from hotel room window. Outstanding staff. Staff recommended restaurant downtown as we wanted to see the city and the food was delicious. Were chosen customers of the day so we got free breakfasts. Would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for the great review and please know we have shared your kind comments with our team. Especially Margaret and Justin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

first off when we got to room it smelled like strange chemicals. the toilet was clogged. told front desk to clean it up. when i returned to the room hours later they must had a toilet overflow when fixing it, all they did was throw down 8 towels over the floor to soak up water and left them there for me to deal with.
when i woke in the morning and went to check out there was a bill at the door for $16, apparently for self parking in the hotel parking lot.
i checked out and asked them about this and with an attitude they told me thats their parking fee. what a scam!! they slip that charge in without saying a word about parking fee. i would expect valet parking for that fee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I am honestly in awe that this happened during your stay with us and we sincerely apologize. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service, but on occasion, when we have a maintenace issue such as yours we are quick to fix and we clean the area when completed. So again, we apologize that this was not completely done in your situation. Please know we will use this instance as a coaching tool with the team members involved. Also I apologize you were not aware of our parking charges but yes, it is $16 per night as many of these TripAdvisor reviews will mention. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booked the room via Hotwire so I didn't know ahead of time that I'd get this hotel. $77 plus tax was about $92. Upon arrival they told me that parking would be an additional $16/ night. Then they said it was the lowest in the city, which is untrue. I have stayed at numerous hotels in the area over the past year and this was the most expensive. (Marriott key centre was $7 and they have a covered underground garage). I was expecting to pay for parking but $16 is high for outdoor unsecured parking. It also occurred to me that maybe the hotel was trying to recoup some money from third party website customers like me using Hotwire. Although that is just a conspiracy theory.

The room was your average king hotel room and was ok but not updated. I have to say the bed was the hardest, most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. In addition the pillows were tiny (not even average sized) and ultra soft. I don't mean this in a good way. I mean there was zero firmness. My head sunk to the bed so it was basically like sleeping with no pillow on a rock hard bed. It made for a long sleepless night.

The in room heater was extremely loud and the refrigerator sounded like it was constantly defrosting and leaking water, although no water was present.

Didn't try the breakfast because I just wanted to get out of there. I wouldn't stay there again if I knew ahead if time. Although I use Hotwire all the time so I guess that's the risk you take.

All in all the hotel is in need of major updates and should revisit their parking fee policy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We truly strive to give the best experience possible to all our guests and we sincerely apologize that we did make that happen for your stay with us. First, we want you to know that there is not a seperate parking charge for guests that book through a third party website. We have one flat charge of $16 per night per vehicle. Also as you can see from our numerous reviews the issues you encountered in your room are certainly not the norm for us. We receive so many compliments on our king bedded Garden Sleep System beds and feel bad it was not satisfactory for you. But we appreciate you letting us know so we can correct where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higgins Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Two couples traveled to Cleveland for the RRHF and stayed at this very nice hotel. Starting with reservations (and my calls to confirm) speaking with Rebecca was always pleasant. We were greeted with an table of goodies in the lobby, with infused citrus water, tea, coffee, and some yummy oatmeal bars. We were checked in by Justin (great guy) and got into our adjoining rooms quickly. Unfortunately, one of our rooms did not have heat (below zero temps outside). We were quickly moved to another floor, with the same set up adjoining rooms. Justin personally came up to move our luggage cart, get us in our new rooms, make sure the heat was working. He promptly comped our parking, which was very generous. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. We had dinner at their restaurant, we each had something different. I had a steak salad that had very fresh ingredients and a yummy dressing. The others had the hamburgers, which were very good, and the veggie flatbread pizza, served on a wooden plank. Our server, Margaret, was very nice and made us all laugh. The hot buffet breakfast was good, lots of choices and fresh ingredients. Nothing tasted "tired" the way some hotel breakfast buffets can be. We had two great shuttle drivers, Ray and Jan, who were great ambassadors for the city of Cleveland. I will say all of the people that work at this hotel are friendly, and behave as they LOVE their jobs. This is so refreshing. A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Wow - what a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to type up a review and also for making it a point to remember the names of our team members who made your stay enjoyable. That means a lot to us and we greatly appreciate it. Please know it has been shared with them and the entire team. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My friends and I loved our stay here. We had a small issue with the toilet upon arrival that was fixed within 10 minutes. The staff was very friendly and helpful and went beyond the call of duty. Everything was clean and you couldn't even tell we were in a smoking room, no stale cigarette smell. Will definitely stay here again the next time I plan a weekend in Cleveland!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Always love to read we gained a repeat guest. We look forward to you visiting with us again. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio
Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.