We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Strategic Locale for the Vacation Traveler!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Check out the Theater!
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Cleveland
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Strategic Locale for the Vacation Traveler!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you are arriving from the south via I-71/I-90, this hotel is conveniently located approximately 1 block north of the interstate off exit 172A. Parking at the hotel is $16.00 per night, which is reasonable considering parking rates at the other downtown hotels. Since parking was available in a gated lot immediately behind the hotel, we felt that our vehicle was relatively secure.

While we did not use the public transportation available in the city, the complimentary shuttle made this hotel accessible to many of the important downtown attractions. The shuttle can take you to any location within a one mile radius of the hotel, including but not limited to: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, The Hard Rock Café, Horseshoe Casino, First Energy Stadium (Home of the Cleveland Browns), downtown shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. Progressive Field (Home of the Cleveland Indians) is an easy and safe 1 block walk from the hotel. If you don’t mind stretching your legs, all of the above mentioned sites are within a reasonable walking distance. Be patient and plan accordingly if you plan to use the shuttle, as it runs continuously to various locations throughout downtown; it may take a few minutes to arrive at your location. Make sure to grab the hotels phone number before the driver drops you off, as you will need it when you call them to pick you up.

The nearby food options are great. Rascal House pizza is a local Cleveland favorite, and they will deliver directly to your hotel room (highly recommended). A small sushi bar is located directly across Carnegie Ave from the hotel. The 4th street and Prospect Ave area (a reasonable walk to the northwest of the hotel) provides many restaurant options as well as live music and entertainment. A BP station is located directly adjacent to the hotel if you have the late night munchies.

The hotel actually has a few different eating options on site though don’t expect a complimentary breakfast. If you do buy breakfast at the hotel, the fare is varied and good. Scrambled eggs, southwestern scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles made to order, cereals, toast, fruits, yogurts, and fruit and vegetable drinks are some of the choices available at the buffet. Room service is available, and snacks, drinks, and small toiletry items can be bought at the front desk.

The room was comfortable and clean. Amenities included: flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, free wi-fi, (all of the typical accommodations etc).

The Hotel Staff was extraordinary. Every time I spoke with a representative, I felt that they went above and beyond. The shuttle driver was exceptionally nice and informative. While leaving the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, I told the driver that an elderly couple had been sitting out in the hot sun for more than 45 minutes waiting on their hotel shuttle (they were staying at the Doubletree I believe), without question, the driver invited them into the van and took them to their hotel.

One more item of interest; the hotel provided 4 elevators for 12 floors. This small detail, while seemingly unimportant, made our stay even more comfortable. We never had to wait or deal with a crowded elevator. The elevators were programmed to always have one open and waiting on the 1st floor. I thought this was a nice touch to an already spectacular hotel.

We loved this hotel, and will definitely be staying again when we come back to Cleveland. Cleveland Rocks!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The north side of the hotel faces downtown Cleveland. Tip your shuttle d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
What an excellent and detailed review of your Cleveland experience. Very nice and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    198
    78
    18
    4
See reviews for
135
133
33
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for an Indians game. Close to the stadium as well as walking distance to many restaurants for a pre-game meal. Our rooms were clean, the tile in the bathroom gleamed! You get what you pay for and Hilton Garden Inn does not disappoint!!

Room Tip: Room 900 had great views of the skyline and stadium. In Room 918, you could hear the elevator, noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Glad you stayed with us for a MLB home game. And yes, closest hotel to the ballpark, right across the street. A home run away! And even though we're just across the street feel free to take our complimentary shuttle for the home games or further, like to the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame, Browns Stadium or Horseshoe Casino. Hope to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here after attending an Indians game. The location to the stadium was excellent. Our room was clean and far more than we expected for the price. The staff was great! I would recommend this hotel and will stay here whenever I'm in Cleveland.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We love this hotel. The staff is great and the location is perfect for going to Indians games. The rooms are nice and clean and the beds are very comfortable. This is where we've stayed for ball games for the last three years and have not been disappointed. If only the Indians could get this consistently good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

we stopped last minute in Cleveland and decided to catch a Cleveland Indians game and spend the night Hilton Garden Inn is so close to Progressive Field, the staff were extremely helpful, great stay. Very convenient to downtown area and Indians home games, great restaurants & bars nearby too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed at the HGI in downtown Cleveland twice now, and the front desk service has been top notch both times. The shuttle the hotel provides (with the exception of Sundays) will help you get around downtown more quickly. Rooms are updated, pool is nice, the fitness center equipment could use a little maintenance though. The bar is cozy and a nice getaway (lots of other places nearby will be busy during events)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This a great hotel to stay at if your planning on going to an event at the Q or Progressive Field because it within walking distance to both. Also we were told by the hotel staff that it also only a mile from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and the lake front as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind feedback. Please know it has been shared with our entire team. From us to you across the pond, take care and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio
Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.