We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in early April 2013. Even thought it was our first time in Cleveland, we found the place easily, as it is right across the street from the Cleveland Indians baseball stadium, and right near the highway. The location isn't bad. 9th Street is right on the corner and all you have to do is walk 3-4 blocks to reach the "downtown" area.

Our room was standard, yet comfortable, with a big king bed and 4 pillows in 2 different firmnesses. We had a small coffee/tea station with microwave and a fridge, which came in handy when we went to the West Side Market (just a 5 minute drive across the bridge). The room came with free wifi, plus if we needed boarding passes printed, we could do so in the business center in the lobby at no charge.

There is a nice small gym and a restaurant in the lobby, but we didn't try either of them. There is also a 'pantry' on the first floor where you can stock up on snacks. Convenient for midnight cravings!

Parking is a little steep @$16/night, but there are unlimited in/out privileges. All you need to do is use your room key to enter the lot. There is a parking lot across the street that seems cheaper, but there are no in/out privileges. Every time you go in, they charge you - $3 before 3pm and $5 after. Directly across the street from the front of the hotel, there are 1 hour parking meters, but you don't have to pay between 6pm - 7am M-F and it's also completely free on the weekends, both Saturday and Sunday.

We found the hotel clean, comfortable, and well located. The staff is also very nice, and it is a family friendly place. It was packed the weekend we were there, so it must be pretty popular. If we are ever in Downtown Cleveland again we would definitely return to the Hilton Garden Inn. It's a great value all around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to type up a review on your stay with us. So glad to hear you had an excellent stay and even more so that we now have you as a repeat guest. Hope to have you back again soon - take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    277
    96
    27
    8
See reviews for
203
197
39
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

La Tonya went the extra mile in helping me today. Very friendly and thoughtful of others. I left my luggage at the front desk by accident and La Tonya secured it and called me and sent it up to my room. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I got a great deal on this hotel, which was much cheaper than other hotels. However, this hotel isn't really "downtown"--it's about 6 blocks from the actual "downtown" area in Cleveland. If you don't mind a walk, it's a great place to stay. They let me check in early (swapping out my King bed for 2 Queens) and offer a complementary shuttle within 1 mile every half hour on the hour, so that can be a way to avoid walking. There isn't much in terms of food nearby the hotel. And the pool in the pictures? It is NOT the one at the actual hotel! Great deal for my trip and my budget.

Room Tip: All rooms have a noisy fan, but the temperature wasn't bad inside considering it was freezing ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The people here at Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown Cleveland Ohio are great. I was here a full week on business. An example of this: The Hotel shuttle took me to my downtown meeting site everyday. I missed the shuttle by maybe 15 seconds on one occasion, but "Lynette" went way above and beyond - she called me a cab and had the Hotel handle the fee, because the driver was unreachable to turn about and grab me. This was just super classy. The people have been very accommodating, cheerful, and helpful. Accommodations are great here as well. I had dinner in the hotel, which was ok. Beds have the adjustable air bladder. I felt the service and accommodations were worth the value. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The people sharing a common wall next door were a bit loud...seemed like Party Time every night...th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

For into our room after traveling all day to find pee on door to bathroom vomit stained pee on toilet to around the other parts pee on floor. They offered new room but sheets were stained with nose goop to blood and gross lampshades gross. Not Hilton quality but the staff is amazing at the front desk I will probably NOT stay here again plus parking 16 a day!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Certainly not the norm for our hotel as you can see from our other reviews. Our sincere apologizes for these unacceptable issues you encountered. Please know I have personally gone over these issues with our general manager and housekeeping department. I sincerely thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can correct! Also thank you for pointing out that our front desk team was on their game. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location near the stadiums and a 15 minute walk to the bar areas near Prospect and E 4th Street. If you don't like to walk then don't stay here, you might want to pick a hotel more central in the downtown area or just take the hotel's complimentary shuttle. It will take you anywhere you want to go in the area within 1 mile and pick you up when you call the front desk anytime until 9pm. The Bar & Grill connected to the hotel is very convenient without being overly pricey. Our bartender was Mike and he made the experience a lot better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing north towards the stadium/city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was here to attend a music festival for a weekend. Very nice hotel with a friendly staff. Nice neat and comfortable rooms.
Likes-
1. Location
2. Price
3. Comfort

Dislikes -

1. Atrocious parking charges at $16 a day, when you can get plenty just opposite the hotel and much much cheaper too ($3.50 to $ 5.00)

Room Tip: Just remember that there is plenty of parking just opposite the hotel. One of the hotel receptionist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.