We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are pros and cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tiffin, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“There are pros and cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The location can't be beat. You are a stone's throw from Progressive Field and many good eateries and pubs. We had a great view of the stadium fireworks from the elevator area on our floor.

We used an online discount provider so can't complain that we somehow ended up with a smoking room. They did send up air freshener at our request, but the scent of cigs hung in the wall paper and curtains all night. I was most disappointed in housekeeping. There was a peanut from the previous tenant under the footstool. Ladies, you must pick up the footstool and vacuum under it! This made me question what else may be dirty. Overall it is probably time for an update on decor. The wall paper is dirty and the tiles in the bathroom are dingy. The footstool (with a peanut under it) had crayon markings from an uncontrolled toddler all over the fabric.

But the biggest pro to this hotel is the bedding. The bed is oh- so- comfortable and the bedding is clean and fresh. Why don't more hotels figure out how important this is?!? The kids enjoyed the pool and Harvey's bar was a great way to relax before bed.

The cons won't deter me. I certainly will keep this hotel on the list when heading to a Tribe game.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    304
    111
    30
    10
See reviews for
227
219
42
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel. It is an ideal location if you are going to an Indian's game. The hotel is located just a short walk across the street from Progressive Field. The hotel has very clean and comfortable rooms. If you are lucky enough to have a room on the stadium side, the view of the city is great. If you pay extra for breakfast when you make your reservation, be sure to tell them that when you check in. We had a little confusion with the staff about that, but they were very helpful and it worked out fine. Be sure they give you your breakfast tickets at check-in. The breakfast buffet is very good with a lot of selections. It is quite a busy place so you may have to wait to be seated. Just a few minor negatives: the HVAC unit in the room is quite loud, but it didn't keep us awake. Be careful on the elevators because people that just left the pool may be using the elevator, so the floor may be very wet and a possible slip hazard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing Carnegie Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Earlier this week, we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Cleveland. The location was perfect considering we were only there 2 nights and that we planned to attend at least one baseball game. The baseball stadium is merely one block away from the hotel!

The hotel offers a free shuttle that will take you (and pick you up from) a number of places including the local casinos, the Museum of Rock n Roll and to various downtown locations. Unfortunately, the shuttle will not take you over the bridge to the West Side Market.

Next door to the hotel there is a gas station with a mini mart in case you need water or snacks. Additionally, across the street there are a few restaurants, including a sushi restaurant, a Subway fast food location and down the block there are a few more places to eat.

This hotel is by no means fancy, but it is a clean place to stay with a very friendly staff and definitely convenient if you're going to an Indians game.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a great hotel for anyone in town for an Indians game. It could not be any closer, the rooms are nice and well-appointed and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing an older traveler could wish for was more light in the room. In particular, near the much appreciated microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot.

Room Tip: The corner rooms facing the ballpark give a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on how your stay with us was. And yes, we are the closest hotel to the Cleveland Indians Progressive field. Literally, across the street! Glad you were able to use the microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator that was in your room. These amenities are in all our 240 rooms. I also passed on your lighting suggestion to our General Manager. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I go to Cleveland 3-5 nights a year, and every time, I stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown. The location accommodates my purpose for making the trip. Adjacent from The Jake (Progressive Field), it's also an easy 5 minute walk to Quicken Loans Arena. The Cab ride (nice town car set up by front desk) to The Warehouse District was 7 Dollars. Good night scene there. Dee Dee who works at the Hilton is phenomenal at her job and Made sure we had a great stay. I've stayed in King bed rooms as well as the suites and both are perfect. I can't stress enough how great the staff is. The bar downstairs offers a great scene, not too expensive but still Cleveland prices! Dee Dee is awesome! Lissie and Christopher are great as well. I will stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown everytime Im in Cleveland. It's clean, good location, SOLID staff, Best parking set-up in the Gateway district for Hotels, great service, comfortable beds, nice tv's, plenty of towels.... I can only hope Dee Dee is there when I'm checking in next time! Shes professional but still has a great personality and knows what she is doing. She is hilarious too.
Steve

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us each time you are in town. We also appreciate the kind words towards our team members. Please know your comments have been shared to not only those you specifically mentioned but to the entire team. Take care and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've stayed at this particular Garden Inn 4 times this year for meetings at Case Western Reserve University. There is a Doubletree (Tudor Arms) right on Case's campus but it doesn't compare; I'd rather drive a few extra miles to stay at this hotel then stay at the Tudor Arms again.

My most recent stay this week was much like my past visits. Predictable - which I like. The staff was friendly/helpful and the room is exactly what I'm looking for as a business traveler.

Positives:
- Convenient to downtown restaurants, Interstate, and Progressive Field
- Friendly staff; welcoming lobby/dining/sitting area
- Rooms are up to date, despite carpet showing some signs of age; comfortable beds
- Refrigerator/microwave in room

Negatives:
- One of the elevator's acted up 3 times (would close/open repeatedly; had to get off and wait for another). Assume maintenance will be addressing this so it shouldn't be a long-term issue.
- Carpet showing its age (some stains and generally faded)
- Some road noise on side closest to highway; recommend getting city view if you are a light sleeper

Room Tip: There is some road noise on side closest to highway; recommend getting city view if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

First visit to Cleveland and we chose the correct hotel. I rarely have a good nights sleep when traveling from home but these beds were so comfortable that I had no trouble falling alseep. 1. Staff at the front desk were outstanding, always a smile and helpful. 2. Restaurant offered a Gluten Free Menu (could hv added a few more items) the waitresses for both breakfast and dinner were very friendly and the food was good. 3. Shuttle service was outstanding, we had 4 drivers and each one was curtious and went beyond making our stay enjoyable. (even the manager step in to drive us to Tower City on Sat morning when the shuttle service was not in operation til later that day !! (Thank you). 5. Small but nice Pool & Hot Tub, used the free computer and watch free movies on HBO. 6. Very close to Progressive Field and the tickets to the game were very reasonable (unlike Fenway Park) so we enjoyed a game. I would stay there again. One request, we enjoyed the free cookies and Lemon Ice Water in the Lobby but it was not always available, especially after a long day in the 90 degrees, it would hv been nice to come back to a cold drink. However, I should note that one desk clerk did remind the staff to put out the water so it was there the next day. (visited Rock N Roll Hall of Fame, Zoo, GoodTimes Cruise, Cleveland Indians Game, Tower City and The Arcade - nice visit in 3 days).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.