We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, competent staff, nicely appointed rooms, decent buffet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, competent staff, nicely appointed rooms, decent buffet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed here mid-april 2012. The public areas and conference areas of the hotel are pretty nice, well taken care of, clean, and spacious. The hotel room I stayed in had two queen beds, was fairly big, and was nicely appointed. A decent size flat screen was there, as well as a desk, and a chair and ottoman in which to relax. Bathroom was fairly typical and expected for this type of hotel ---- not marble, but not bare minimums either.

Every interaction with the front desk, housekeeping staff, restaurant staff was friendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised and just based on service alone, I would stay again at the hotel.

They've expanded their parking for the hotel which is unlimited entry/exit for $8 day is based on the room key.

Check-in was smooth and one of the fastest I've ever experienced. The clerk introduced both herself and the other person on duty, so if I needed anything, I knew who could help.

The $11 breakfast buffet was sufficient and typical. Eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, muffins/breads/bagels, cereals, yogurts, milks, juices. It's convenient and did the trick. The price is about right, and I've paid more at other places and have received less.

This was a "Category 4" Hilton hotel --- I've stayed at Hilton's that were more upscale. But the price (conference rate) that I paid was very reasonable.

Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows that face Carnegie avenue are going to have the best view, of the stadiums/arena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for the very thorough review and the kind feedback on our staff and accomodations.
We do offer the all you can eat breakfast buffet 7 days a week in our hotel restaurant. Glad you enjoyed it! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    286
    101
    28
    8
See reviews for
213
203
40
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Travelled Easter Weekend Apr 6-8 for baseball game at Progressive Field. Won bid $80 each night off Priceline. Well worth the money. Parking $16 a night. Clean hotel, would rate 4 stars for cleanliness. Front desk was helpful but busy checking in and out. Excellent location for visiting Progressive Field and Quicken Loans Arena but slightly further from other attractions (<20 min walk).

Room Tip: Parking across the street is $5/day if there are no special events that day at Field or Arena. Parke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Please know we offer complimentary shuttle service in a 1 mile radius in the downtown area so those attractions you mentioned we can certainly get you there. The complimentary shuttle runs Monday through Friday 6:30 a.m. until 9 p.m. and on Saturday's it runs 2 p.m. until 9 p.m. No service on Sundays. Thank you for staying with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

we got the room through priceline!! good deal for opening day of the baseball season... parking is $16 with in/out priv..
Front Desk staff was ok..
Rooms were spacious and nice pillows... shower had great pressure.
Microwave and fridge...and coffee maker..
Breakfast was a Buffett, but did not eat it was $11... would have just enjoyed a free continental, like other hotels in area.
Did not use shuttle, but was told it did not run past 8pm..
Pool looked nice, did not go in.
overall.. good a good location for cavs/tribe games.. easy drive to west side market... straight down Carnegie...
note::: there is supposed to be some road closure at Carnegie and Ontario for a while.. not sure how long?

Room Tip: no rooms have balconys... one side faces south other north.. not much to see for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Came to Cleveland for the MAC championship game at Quicken Loans Arena. Hotel was busy, staff was ok. Front desk staff a bit short but as I said it was busy. We used pool with kids. Small but suits he purpose. Room was fine. Beds ok. WIFI worked well. Free shuttle in and around area, just doesn't operate late. No issue with parking. Bar off lobby was fun. Bartender was friendly. Had a few too many which was fun! Where else can ou go watch sports on one tv and The Hangover on another. Kitchen was closed but bartender got us a delivery menu. Overall nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on how your stay with us was. Glad you were able to enjoy our pool and lounge. Please know I have passed on your comments to our front desk team. I apologize if they were not more attentive. Even though we were busy that is still no excuse. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We paid a little more than we perhaps would've wanted to but the price was in line with other hotels in the area and with this place it felt worth the money. The room was clean, spacious and had a decent enough bathroom. The free wi-fi was very handy and worked fine. We didn't bother using the onsite parking. Why pay over the odds to have your car in a lot on one side of the hotel (no fenced in 24 hour security or anything) when free street parking (weekends) was available on the other side and seemed exactly the same?! Location was great just a few minutes walk from the main streets and right next to the stadium. There was some kind of outreach place across the road but we never saw or experienced anything negative. Hotel staff were friendly and there was a very well equipped business room.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for the review and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our free wireless internet. That is 1 of many amenities we offer here. Hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Let me start by saying this hotel was adequate. The desk staff was very friendly, the maid service was good, the room was clean and it was well appointed. They had very good, free Wi-Fi. But, if you are expecting Hilton posh, Hilton heel clicking service, you are in for an unpleasant surprise.

There is no garden. It is located in a pretty run down area of Cleveland.

I speculate that the reason that this particular Hilton is rough around the edges is that it is across the street from the Stadium, so it likely fills up with every game, regardless of its shortcomings. I speculate that another reason is that, since it has a conference center attached, it may well be that its conference center attendees are more important to it than its hotel guests. As a result, there is no market pressure on it to come up to Hilton standards.

For starters, the parking there is unbelievably bad. They charge their guests twelve dollars a day to park. We found a spot at night when we first arrived. But, when we took the car out in the morning and came back later that morning, the lot was completely full with the attendees of some conference. It stayed filled up all day, because none of the attendees were moving to open up spaces. I did see them all pour out in late afternoon with their name tags and start moving cars. When we got back from supper around nine that evening, we finally found a spot. I can’t imagine what the parking would be like there on a game day – there were signs all over that lot about “special events” and “game parking”. It looks like you’d have to park miles away and take a cab to get there on a game day.

Breakfast was not free or even inexpensive. The quality of the food was good. However, the wait staff seemed to be overwhelmed and thereby less than attentive and less than pleasant. The second morning we were there, the sun was shinning directly in my eyes from the large picture window where our assigned table was located. When I mentioned it to the waitress, she snarled at me that the blind could not be lowered. I hadn’t even seen the blind till she said that. I asked her if we would move to a table out of the sun. She reluctantly agreed to that. The new table was apparently the territory of another waitress, which meant that neither the new waitress nor the old one thereafter would have anything to do with us. Our waitress was always looking the other way. We couldn’t even get the check. I ended up going to the person who looked like he was the head of the breakfast room to pay him for the meal.

If you pay a Hilton price, it is not unreasonable to expect Hilton quality. This place is a smirch on the Hilton image. It is not terrible, but we will certainly never stay there again and I never again will rely on the Hilton name as an assurance of quality. I guess not every apple in the barrel can be a good one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
We apologize that you had to park further away from the hotel but please know we did not sell any parking spaces as Special Event for that weekend even though an estimated 400,000 to 500,00 people were in the downtown area that day for St. Patricks Day. All the cars were other hotel guests or banquet function attendees. The Special Event signs you are referring to are for other lots other than ours that are operated by another entity not the hotel. Also there was no charge to you or any other guest for parking that weekend since we were running a special promotion. Again, our apologize for the inconvenience and please know you did not incur a charge for parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I'd give it 4 1/2 stars, if possible.

Very conveniently located for Progressive Field and Quicken Arena events. Also within 10-15 minute walk to many restaurants.

Good location off of interstate.

Free Wi-FI in room.

Despite road construction (literally--a road being built) behind the hotel, no noise was evident in the room facing the construction.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIClevelandDntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Not only are we walking distance to Progressive Field and Quicken Loans Arena, we offer a complimentary downtown shuttle Monday through Saturday. So if don't feel like walking just ask at the desk and we'll set you up with our shuttle. Hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.