We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Decent price, Safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great Location, Decent price, Safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Pros: Clean and nice sized room with sitting area, , warm/inviting, decorated well with computer desk, microwave, refrigerator, good lighting, and good view of Progressive Stadium: decent rate ($132), fun bar, good food, walking distance to food/entertainment, indoor pool/spa, clean business center with printer
Cons: Loud front desk reps (they should turn their voices down an octave), parking at $16/day, smoke bellows into the entrance(they should move the cigarette disposal further from the entrance door)

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank slowee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Baltimore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Have stayed in many downtown Cleveland hotels and just can't believe it should take 30 minutes to get a cab from this location! The hotel called for a cab because obviously no cabs seem to just come by, and it took 30+ minutes! Walls are very thin, location facing street is very noisy. Bed was comfy at least. Had to stay here as part of a group but would choose another hotel in future. PS look at your bill, I was charged for self parking ($16) but specifically told them upon check in, when I was asked, that I did not have a vehicle. When I noticed this on my bill back home, they removed it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed 3 nights here and found the room a good size, with aircon which was noisy but essential (40c outside), comfortable bed and clean.
The staff on Reception especially Tonya who had a smile as wide as any I've evr seen and could not do enough to help.
Similarly the Breakfast staff were very attentive.
Just away from the center of Cleveland so you will probably need a cab ride to get to most things except the Baseball Stadium.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here when the Indians were away. Our experience may have been very different otherwise. It's right down the street from the ballpark, terrific if you're going to baseball or basketball games. It's convenient to I-90, and all city points. Other than a Subway across the street, however, there's not a coffee shop in sight, so if you like having small businesses close by it's not the place for you. That said, their on-site breakfast is fabulous, the staff is gracious and helpful, the evening cookies are delicious, and the rooms are cozy and quiet. The security seemed good for a downtown location. The business center was well-stocked. Only complaints: barely noticeable pink mildew in the shower tiles, and slightly odorous water in the whirlpool/hottub.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our family stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown on July 5th for an Indians vs. Yankees game. It was a great location as it was right across the street from Progressive Field. Neighborhood was so-so and we saw some panhandlers but once the game started, there were people everywhere and the neighborhood became lively. The hotel was fine and the staff was very nice. The kids loved the pool. Overall, you can't beat the location if you are going for the game.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillytravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Booked this hotel at the very last minute as a friend and I decided to drive 5 hrs to catch a Blue Jays game in Cleveland. Reviews said it was across the street from Progressive Field and they were really not lying. This was the PERFECT hotel for anyone going to a baseball game. Once you walk out the front door you basically cross the street and are instantly at the gates to the stadium.

The hotel itself is incredibly easy to get to from the highway. **Also to note, I found driving in Cleveland in general to be very straightforward compared to other large cities I've been in!

The Hilton Garden Inn is not extremely upscale but it is certainly better than alot of hotels you'll find. Amenities were basic. The room was clean and spacious. Couldn't have asked for much more. Its not going to blow you away with luxuries but the service was very friendly and the hotel, despite being sold out was quiet. Because it was sold out we were not able to get a non-smoking room as requested but they quickly arranged to have an air cleaner brought to the room while we were at the game.

Parking at the hotel was an extra $16 but considering parking downtown for the game anywhere was $20, we weren't too bothered.

Breakfast buffet in the morning is not included in the hotel but for $10.95 they offer a nice spread with a-la-carte pancakes, french toast, waffles or omelettes as well.

Great stay in Cleveland and I would stay at this hotel again!

Oh... and they have a business center with free internet and free printing services. Turned out to be very handy when purchasing tickets for the game off of stubhub.com!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed 1 night on July 1. 1 room w/2 queen sized beds.

Pros
- 1 block from Progressive (Jacob's) Field
- friendly staff
- complimentary shuttle every half hour (to and from) within 1 mile of downtown Cleveland
- microwave & fridge in room
- free wi-fi and great business centre (with a colour printer)
- coffee maker
- secure - access after hours requires hotel key
- reasonably clean
- spacious room (approx. 275-300 square meters)
- fabulous buffet breakfast for $11 (adults) and half for kids
- can store your luggage for a few hours after checkout
- walking distance to great restaurants on 4th street, the Arcade and possibly Tower city Centre

Neutral
- unusual odour in room and a little bit in the hallway
- $16 parking per day at the back but at least it is safer than on or across the street

Cons
- toilet flush was poor
- questionable area (across the street from a rehabilitation centre)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Esplanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 37 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing