We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, wonderful rooms in beautiful Cleveland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Check out the Theater!
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, wonderful rooms in beautiful Cleveland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011 via mobile

Stayed with a group of two other families. Cannot say enough good things about the staff. From Tina at the front desk to Jan and Ray who drive the shuttle, we were treated to the most professional, helpful and gracious service! The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great location for most attractions. Definately check out the city architecture, rock n roll hall, xmas story house and corner alley. Loved our visit to this beautiful and clean city!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    249
    91
    26
    6
See reviews for
182
177
39
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
syracuse
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I do a lot of research on line before booking a hotel room. The HGI is a great value and has many pros beyond the price. The room was clean, beds comfortable, even the shower curtain was impeccable. Another reviewer complained about the pillows, and they are very soft, but they give you three per bed. The staff was SO nice! And the location is very good for baseball, basketball and Hall of Fame. I don't know about public transport as we had a car. It is about 4 miles from the Museum and Case Western.

Downside is you have to pay for parking and breakfast. I was disappointed about the breakfast not being included but the parking I expected - it's a city after all. And the room price made up for the parking add-on. If I return to Cleveland I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Went to Cleveland for an overnight stay during memorial day. Our main goal was to hit up the Rock Hall of Fame. The hotel is in a perfect location and they provided a shuttle to the museum. Very clean & cozy. The staff was helpful and friendly. They helped us find local places to eat and gave us great feedback on the sites to see. Will definately recommend to all friends!!

Room Tip: Perfect hotel if you are going to an Indians game!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night this past weekend. It is right across the street from Progressive Field so not right downtown which was perfect for me. Check in was fast and the woman was so pleasant and friendly! Yes you have to pay to park in the lot right across from the lobby door but I'm not sure what all the fuss about that is. There are enough people coming and going and it's lit so I felt it was safe enough. The room was a nice size with a small refrigerator, coffee maker and small microwave. Beds were super comfy as were the pillows (again not sure what the last person was complaining about). There were lots of pillows on each double bed. Bathroom has a separate door and everything was clean. Towels were even soft which doesn't happen at these hotels too often. Yes, the pool is small but just fine for most people. Free wireless was useful. I used the treadmill and weights in the fitness room and that was fine too. I would highly recommend this hotel if your travels take you to Cleveland. The location is convienent to downtown and Cleveland State University and there is McDonalds, Burger KIng and Subway right down the road.

Room Tip: Got the AAA rate and it was the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A friend and I stayed here the weekend of 6/10/11 for a concert at Progressive Field. The neighborhood just beyond the hotel (not even a block away) was quite sketchy, but once the event got going, there were lots of people around and all was well. Oh, you do have to pay for parking, so be sure to include that estimate in the cost of the room - I think it was $8/day, which was much less than event parking at the nearby parking lots.

The room was nice - refridgerator and microwave right in the room! That was a nice plus. The bed was not that comfortable though. We did go to the pool/hot tub. Well maintained, nice, clean area. Took a peek in the fitness room. It was small - couple treadmills and some weights, but there was never more than one person at a time in there.

All in all, despite the neighborhood, it was a great stay, nice rooms. Oh, and the staff was extremely nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Everything about my stay here felt cheap, from the second I pulled into the parking lot.
First, I noticed the giant sign that said 'Not responsbile for vehicles in this lot.' That's cool ... until they told me they were charging me $16 per day to park there. Hire a security guard if you're charging me that much!
The room wasn't bad, but it was small and pretty standard. I've stayed at Super 8's that were just as nice. The showerhead had barely any water pressure. The pillows had no support -- I needed 3 of them. I had to call the front desk at 4 p.m. to asked for maid service. The food at the restaurant was bland and way overpriced. The pool was the tiniest I've ever seen.
The location is good. The sevice was friendly. And the free Wi-Fi is a nice touch. But seriously this is a two-star hotel at a four-star hotel's price. Stay somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I haven't been to Cleveland for a long time and found this hotel to be really nice! Clean, large rooms, folks at the reception desk were friendly and efficient. Hotel was just outside downtown, but easy access to that area and they had a shuttle as well. Close to the freeway, but no noise factor. Breakfast buffet was fairly good (as buffets go). Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1100 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland next to Progressive Field. Our hotel has 240 guestrooms, suites and accessible rooms as well as a fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Hold your next business meeting in the Gateway Conference Center, boasting 20,000 sq. ft. of space, full-service catering and AV equipment. After a busy day enjoy convenient parking, a martini at Harvey’s Bar and dinner at the Great American Grill or in your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Cleveland
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.