We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give them a chance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Rib Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Prime Rib Steakhouse
740 West Superior Avenue, Cleveland, OH
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #641 of 1,684 Restaurants in Cleveland
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Give them a chance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Service was well intentioned. I felt bad for the server since he served a street person who did a "dine and dash" on him, so I give him a break. The food was good. The meal comes with mashed potatoes, which saves money on ordering sides ala carte. However, other sides are available ala carte.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Ohio
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good. Unique - concept could be improved on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The flavouring on the food was very good however I noticed it to be a bit salty across the board, perhaps owing to the ajus. The waitress was very nice and good and the lady she was training was very nice as well although she was not quite getting the hang of it (she did several things our main waitress then fixed such as put the knives in the wrong spot on the table). The salad which is included with all meals is prepared table side which was very cool. This however is one area where the concept could be improved on. The waitress faces the table with the large salad bowl in front of her tray and the plates she serves it on behind the big bowl preventing you from seeing it very well. For all the work she does with the tomatoes she could do this in front of the bowl so the guests can see. As with the large cart the chef brings out to serve the main courses - this could be improved too. The chef greeted us but then his back was to us and he did not look back or explain what he was doing, the cuts of meat or anything. For all the trouble of brining out the huge cart the chef should at least face the guests and say some speech about the meat. The whole idea of ordering ahead of time seems odd to me since the various items to order are just various thickness of prime rib which could be decided on table side. I also did hear the waitress tell another table they had run out of filet. I ordered one and there were three separate occasions where it was too fatty to chew.... Mashed potatoes come with all the mains as well. I ordered a broccoli side ($6.99) and requested no potatoes and when the bill came I was not charged for the side so that was nice...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, oh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Definitely worth the trip downtown for this place. The prime rib was great. Good value as it comes with salad and whipped potatoes. Parking was a slight issue as there was no valet and we ended up paying $10 at a near by parking lot. We received a complimentary dessert for my husband's birthday which was a really nice touch. Tableside service was also a fun experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best horseradish cream sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

First off, I am in sales and have covered 10 states from the Dakotas to Pensalvania and have eaten at hundreds of restaurants across the nation. This place has the best prime rib that there is to offer. A little on the pricey side, but well worth it. The booths are semi circles where you can sit next to your special someone and be somewhat secluded. Great date night spot!! If you like horseradish cream sauce, this place has some of the best that I have tasted!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Succulent Prime Rib and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Took my wife and mother our for dinner the night before Mothers' Day (to avoid crowds). Valet parking was $7. The restaraunt played dinning and old-school jazzz overhead, but not too loud.

We didn't sit at the bar but I did notice Haubrau Marzen Heffeweisen on tap! Had two with dinner, and wife & mom each had a class of Riesling from the extensive wine menu. I recall seeing Great Lakes bottles being served to tohers guest(s).

The feature is prime rib, of course, but there are shrimp cocktails, lobser tails, and some vegetarion tree-hugger stuff, but here the Rib rules!
They start with a tableside-prepared house-dressde salad, but it's not Caesar. More like a vinegarette of some type. The fresh-ground pepper really puts it all together. Served with fresh warm crusty bread and butter.
The waiter described the sizes of each cut, and they bring around a very large stainless steel prep drum (kinda looks like a big BBQ grill) to serve the meals. I went with the Queen Elizabeth 16-oz, and they can serve without the bone to make it easier (bone doesn't count in the oz's). The ladies had smaller 6-12 oz sizes, and there's a king 24 oz avail too.
The mashed potatoes were excellent, with a dollop of brown gravy and the au jus for the meat. They also have 2 kinds of fresh horseradish too. Dinner comes with Yorkshire pudding too, which is like a puff pastry shell to soak up all the juices at the end. These are all included with the entree.
We did split a side order of asparagus w/hollendaise, and they also had things like wild mushrooms, creamed corn, peas, etc. Very British!

The pace of the service is relaxed and casual so as not rushed, but enjoyably slow-paced. It could be faster if you need. Was maybe 40% crowd for a Saturday night 8pm. Decore and was very elegent but not stuffy. Maitre'd showed us path to restrooms, but watch your step in some of the darker areas. The waiter offerd NY cheesecake for dessert, but we were all full!

I used a $25 restaraunt.com coupon, and the total with 4 drinks, 3 dinners & 1 extra side, tax, tip, and valet, was about $160 after the discount. Couldn't do this every weekend, but great for special occasions!

After dinner we took a short drive around the block thru Warehouse District, past the front of the new-but-bnot-yet-open casino, and down Euclid past E 4th St. Cleveand is really making a good nightlife comeback!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Rib Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Prime Rib Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Rib Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.