We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etna

Etna
11919 Mayfield Rd, Cleveland, OH 44106
+1 216791-7670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,562 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As a first-timer in Little Italy I was very impressed. Greeted by a charming hostess on a late Saturday night, the place was small and quite busy. The hostess tried her best to get us a table and made it very comfortable for us and quickly reset another table which made our waiting time bearable. Excellent service and phenomenal trout, we even received a dessert on the house! I'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food in a cramped setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Plenty of seafood choices, less traditional pasta like spaghetti and meat sauce or meatballs. Pomadora sauce is very good. Restaurant is small and crowded, but not uncomfortable. Service is good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

On a recent day trip to Cleveland, we chose this Italian restaurant over all others in Little Italy based on reviews we had read online and we were not disappointed. All four of us enjoyed our dinner. Luckily we got there early and were able to get a table without any wait at all. As some other reviewers have mentioned, it is small and the tables are very close together. The people at the table behind us talked and laughed very loudly, but they were finished before we were, so part of our meal was relatively quiet. We did not let that ruin our experience. The oriechette with sausage was tasty; very buttery and not overly garlicky. The chocolate gelato hazelnut truffle dessert was worth every calorie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“First class food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our niece graduated in Cleveland in June and after the ceremony her family took us to Little Italy to celebrate. We had teenagers through seniors in our party but no small children. They chose Etna's for the meal and it was a great choice. As others have mentioned the interior is very small and the tables are close together with not a lot of room to maneuver. As the place filled up the noise level rose, which can be disconcerting for those who like a intimate and quiet meal, but I am told that it was very typical of restaurants in Italy.
Our waiter was very hard to understand and did not really try to help those in our party who had questions about the different dishes. The house "salad" was very different with several different types of lettuces and a little bit of olive oil with fresh pepper - we asked for some balsamic vinegar which greatly improved the taste of the "salad".
I chose a seafood special that was outstanding with fish, calamari, shrimp, mussels and clams and like nothing you would ever get in a typical Italian restaurant - no thick red or white sauce or pasta but a tasty tomato broth with herbs and garlic. My husband had a tortellini dish that was also very tasty, but not run of the mill. My mother-in-law had the fish special that she said was very good (she ate it all without sharing so I have to take her word for it :). Everyone in our party agreed that it was a fabulous meal and a great place to celebrate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“THE BEST RESTAURANT IN CLEVELAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

carlo specially was friendly theee restaurantt is small but very well coming all is recomend specially helpful see carlo the food is delicious i love edna ristorante

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etna also viewed

 

Been to Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.