We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, just leave the hotel for meals.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10660 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save
Ranked #9 of 32 hotels in Cleveland
Oz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, just leave the hotel for meals.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent refurb of old classic hotel with well appointed guest rooms. Near hospital, so expect to hear sirens, especially in meeting rooms. Great coffee but mediocre food. Parking is more expensive than downtown hotels. Internet connection can be slow and cranky.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read about the different inconveniences you experienced with our restaurant. I will share all of your comments with the heads of the appropriate departments for discussion and review. Even though your overall stay was good, I regret to learn that we failed to make your visit more memorable. We will look forward to a second opportunity to properly serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    105
    49
    28
    15
See reviews for
142
64
21
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to stay at the Tudor Arms because we needed to be close to Case Western University. The hotel is 5 minutes walking from the university campus. We also got a great deal for the 4 nights we are spending here through Expedia. Our room was not ready when we arrived around 11:00 am but besides for that, we have been so impressed with this big hotel. The rooms have been beautifully renovated and we had a great view from our 9th floor room. We also enjoyed both the breakfasts by the historical ballroom and lunches in the Mediterranean restaurant in the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel should you need lodging in Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is different than most. It is in an older building. Most hotels have carpeting. Tudor Arms has wood floors. Although the bathroom is small, it is set up well. The rooms are nicely decorated, some have refrigerators. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance to Cleveland Clinic. They also have Cleveland Clinic rates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The building was gorgeous. The staff at breakfast was unfailingly charming, attentive, and friendly. The room wasn't entirely clean (we found an earring on the floor, as well as a dust cloth tucked away), but it was decorated nicely, and the bathroom was very lovely. The sink was a little annoyingly shaped, but really cool looking (tragically hip, I suppose). The gym was just right for an iPod-fueled treadmill run :-) .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSL, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel has an old world look and feel but has all the amenities you would want for your stay in Cleveland. It is close enough to downtown and the attractions there to make it convenient. It is also close to many of the hospitals and educational institutions in Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bloomfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

First off, the staff were excellent. They were nice and tried hard to help us but I don't feel management gave them the resources they needed to help travelers. We flew into Cleveland without any event. As we pulled up to the front of the hotel, there were signs for valet parking and no parking lot in site for the hotel. Check in was fine but the room was a bit smaller than we expected because I had called the hotel for our reservations months ago and paid in full at that time. Typically, when I do that, we have nicer rooms. The room was updated and clean but nothing much out of the ordinary. The hotel has a wonderful historic charm about it and that and the fact that it's a Hilton, is why I chose this hotel. We stay at higher end hotels for the extras that are typically inclusive. No pool or spa either. We asked for directions to close restaurants because we didn't want to live on their burgers and fries or pay $36 for a tiny steak and no one knew the location of anything besides Burger King and McDonalds. We trusted GPS and it ran us around in circles for restaurants that weren't even there. The whole experience made our trip difficult. What I would recommend to management, photocopy maps of the area to give directions to different restaurants, museums, gas stations, and to the airport and the car rental site. It would make things much more easy for your guests. Get rid of the dollar phone call charges. Offer free newspapers besides the Wall Street Journal. I would have a guess most of your guests are there for the Cleveland Clinic and not business people. Make the information about parking offered right up front with check-in. Save the small rooms for the discounted websites, not for customers who are Hilton Honors members. Directions posted next to the air conditioners would be nice also. We heard complaints in the elevator from others with questions about operating the air controls. They shouldn't have to ask other guests to obtain that information.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms off Carnegie Ave. Lots of ambulances, fire trucks and police cars go by with sirens on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We truly appreciate your candid feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. I can assure you that your comments have been reviewed by senior management. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and comments like yours help us identify areas that need improvements. We do apologize for falling short of your expectations during your stay and assure your concerns will be addressed. I do hope that you would reconsider staying with us in the future if your travels do bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was shopping for a wedding venue in Cleveland that showcased its history and grandeur, and I had heard about the recent renovations at the Tudor Arms. My fiance and I dropped in unannounced on a snowy Saturday afternoon, and we were instantly taken with the intracate entryway and woodpanelled (yet modern) lobby. The staff were incredibly accommodating, and invited us to take a look around the second floor, where the two ballrooms could be found.

I cannot describe how taken we became with the place. My then-fiance and I felt like we were transported to another time, another place. The Tudor Ballroom would have made for the perfect mead hall (we still joke that Beowulf could be found there), and the dark wood, stone, balconies, lead paned windows, and incredible stone fireplace were fantastic. The room outside of the Tudor Ballroom - a sitting area with a great fireplace - was gorgeous. Ultimately, the Crystal Ballroom (photographed) took our breath away.

We met with Michelle, the event planner, soon after, and have worked with her for the last 8 months to create the most perfect wedding we could have ever imagined. Michelle is professional, approachable, very knowledgeable, highly organized, and runs a very tight ship. She was able to answer any question, make valuable suggestions, and always followed up promptly. Her staff was cut from the same cloth. There was no stress, no tension, even as we headed down the final stretch and into our wedding day.

The Crystal Ballroom was gorgously laid out, the service was top notch, and our guests just raved about the place the entire night. And the food- it was absolutely fabulous. The appetizers, entrees, and desserts were of the highest quality.

We also had a complimentary wedding suite. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable (in the spirit of the Westin "Heavenly Bed."), and the bathroom was incredibly beautiful and modern. We had a refrigerator and a small kitchen area, a seating area, and a full bedroom. At the end of the night, we returned to our room to find two boxed dinners from the wedding (they were prepared for us for later that evening), drinks, our wedding cake topper (boxed, with instructions for how to freeze it), and votive candles/rose petals. I was truly touched.

The breakfast buffet was also excellent, and the service was good.

All in all, we were thrilled with the Tudor Arms, and can not say enough about how professional and efficient they are. We had the benefit of having our wedding in a newly restored place (in Cleveland's University Circle, no less) where few have been in the last 40 or 50 years, with all of the modern amentities that one would expect from a modern and high-end hotel. Five stars, for sure!

Room Tip: We loved our suite- it had plenty of amentities and space. My parents' non-suite room was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel

Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel Cleveland, Ohio
Address: 10660 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton - The Tudor Arms Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Cleveland's East Side Cultural District and offers close proximity to the Cleveland Clinic and University Hospital. Begin each day with our delicious DoubleTree buffet or enjoy lunch or an evening meal at The Canopy Grille Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.