We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Shower for daddy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10660 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Shower for daddy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently had a grandaughter born in MacDonald Women's Hospital. This was a VERY convenient hotel for a family to stay in and close enough for daddy to come over and get a quick shower!
One man on the staff who will be married in a ballroom there was especially gracious! The hardwood floors were awesome! The only downer was the old, dirty towel found when we opened the sofa bed and old, faded blanket left to use on that sofa bed!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Our Tudor Arms team appreciates your glowing review on our hotel and staff. But more importantly congratulations on the birth of you granddaughter, we are glad you and your family enjoyed your experience with us. Our goal is to build lifelong relationships with are guest. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    169
    73
    36
    17
See reviews for
211
102
35
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belpre, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a couple months ago while my husband was a patient at the Cleveland Clinic. Loved this hotel. The staff was very helpful, especially Jasmine (front desk) and the manager (sorry I forgot his name)..........Restaurant was excellent. Our room was very nice.
We stayed in a corner room and the view was spectacular. Wooden floors, nice furnishings, and comfortable bed. I would certainly recommend (and I have) to anyone needing a hotel close to the Clinic. The shuttle drivers were so nice and I missed the shuttle one night and called and they immediately came to get me......JBradshaw

Room Tip: Corner suites are large, sunny, and a lovely view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Tudor Arms. We’re glad you enjoyed our hotel and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I appreciate you letting other viewers know of your nice stay with us and recommending our hotel to future travelers. We hope you will have an opportunity to return to Cleveland and stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Tudor Arms a few months ago. We had parking problems like many others mentioned - yes self-parking, no self-parking. After we finally got parked and went to check-in the manager apologized, upgraded our room, and there was no charge for parking. We had to go back to Cleveland this past weekend and decided to give the hotel another try. Never again. After a long day of travel, we went to check in just past midnight. Even though we had provided a credit card number to guarantee late arrival, there was no room for us. We didn't even find this out until after the desk clerk had already swiped our credit card. She gave the excuse that she started her shift at 11pm so had no way of knowing why our room was given away. Their solution was to "walk" us to a nearby comparable hotel at no additional cost. The "walk" meant we had to get back in our car and drive to the Intercontinental Hotel which would have been a good place to stay. That was the address we were given. However, that was not the hotel we were supposed to go to. I then called Tudor Arms and told them they gave us the wrong address and we were told once again to go to the wrong address. Her excuse was she was trying. We were supposed to be going to the Cleveland Guest House. No way is this a comparable hotel and no way were we willing to pay the amount currently being charged to our credit card. The front desk at the Guest House was very helpful. We were eventually able to cancel our Tudor Arms reservation and stayed at the Guest House for 1/2 the price. Finally getting to bed at 2:00 in the morning was not our idea of a good visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We couldn’t be sorrier for how you were treated when you arrived at the hotel. The room type you had booked had mistakenly been overbook. Again I apologize for how this was handled and we have spoken to our front desk agents and informed them that when situations like this arise we need to do everything possible to accommodate our guests quickly. I have spoken to the agent that assisted you and she feels horrible as to how this was handled and wanted to apologize to you and your family as well. We hope that you accept our apologies and if you are ever in the Cleveland area you will give us another chance to prove that this type of service is not normal for our hotel or staff. Please contact me, steven.pittman@hilton.com if you have any questions or would like to discuss this situation further. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lower priced alternative for visitors to the Cleveland Clinic or University Circle, this hotel has extraordinarily friendly and helpful staff, but the historic building shows its age. Despite newly refurbished rooms with trendy decor, the bathrooms had leaks, the two elevators were rarely in working order simultaneously, and the breakfast room was grim. A convivial bar helped, and lobby coffee and computers were excellent. Note that the beautifully polished hardwood floors in the rooms are cold: bring slippers! And the platform beds were hard on our shins.

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 queens were MUCH bigger and the bathrooms more lavish than rooms with one king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Doubletree during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room. the elevator repair have been completed. We are work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I tried to figure out exactly what this used to be. Apparently is was some type of local company hotel. Whatever it was this building was recently fixed up and turned into a doubletree. The rooms and hotel look like something right out of the 30's and that is not a bad thing in this case. My room in a corner had many big windows providing an amazing amount of sunlight- it honestly felt like a really cool old apartment. The lobby wasn't too big and the parking was kind of a pain- the hotel only offered valet though I simply parked on the street nearby without a problem. The location also is kind of odd. Its not really walking distance to anywhere (though i did walk to the art museum) including public rail transportation. There was a pretty cool looking ballroom area which was being rented out for some sort of concert/formal type event. The price was also pretty good. There was an expensive buffet breakfast you could get in the morning. Overall if you want a unique hotel experience this is the place to go in Cleveland. If location is important to you, however, you might want to stay at one of the more conventional places downtownish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for allowing Doubletree by Hilton the Tudor Arms Hotel the privilege to serve your hotel needs.

I would also like to thank you for filling out our survey.

We realize how important your feedback is to our continued improvement and success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a beautiful historic building. The hotel was clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was great -- not to mention the warm chocolate cookies we were greeted with upon arrival. The location was great for our purpose. We had a junior queen suite. It was very spacioius and comfortable. Love those hardwood floors! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would, indeed, stay there again. The price was good also. The only drawback for some may be that there is no pool.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the 10th floor. Love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the cookie. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a welcome addition to a neglected part of the CWRU campus and through it's mere presence will likely regenerate the area. From the outside it looks like something the Ghostbusters would have fun working in, but the welcome we had was impeccable and ultra-friendly and the warm chocolate cookie was lovely. The rooms are modern with some quirky touches but show the speed in which this place was renovated, as there obvious problems with the plastering and the paint job both inside and outside the rooms. There was no double glazing in our room, which from an environmental view is just plain scary. Biggest problem though is the sound insulation, as we could here every cough, snore and TV programme of our neighbours. Fortunately our neighbours were early sleepers just like us and apart from being awoken by the noise of the surrounding rooms getting up in the morning, the night was fine.

In summary, this hotel has great staff, great location, but there are issues with build-quality and sound insulation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel

Address: 10660 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton - The Tudor Arms Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Cleveland's East Side Cultural District and offers close proximity to the Cleveland Clinic and University Hospital. Begin each day with our delicious DoubleTree buffet or enjoy lunch or an evening meal at The Canopy Grille Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton The Tudor Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.