We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and so so” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Bella

Mia Bella
12200 Mayfield Rd, Cleveland, OH 44106-1926
216-795-2355
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 1,651 restaurants in Cleveland
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pricey and so so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Some food was good, soup good, pasta served with veal was mushy and tasteless. Server thought it was clever to correct pronunciations, even though she was wrong.

Service slow for the number of people being served and getting the check and getting cashed out took ridiculously long.

2 people $96, 2 glasses of wine no dessert.

Lots of places on the street, check them out 1st.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    78
    22
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We thought it would be better....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food is great, and big big plates of food are served no matter what you order.... however,,,,
the rest. is small!!!!! the owner (lisa) was running around telling each cust. who came in without a reservation, that the table was only avail for 15 min or 30 min, it was RUDE!!! do not sit people in the rest. if you are worried it will interfere with your RESERVATION PROCESS!!!!

we ended up being able to sit at the window, which i would say to ask for!!!!, nice view of the street

a few of the bus boys were attentive and asked us if we wanted more bread etc which was nice! The waitress we ended up having , was the hostess also, and YES SHE WAS SWEET AND POLITE, her attentiveness was far from what we deserved for a 110$ meal for two people.
we ordered a bottle of wine , she brought it and sat it on the table, :( yes, she poured a tiny for me to try, and then never ever came back to refill my wine, or ask if we wanted more when the bottle was empty!!! I EVENTUALLY (when she brought the bill) asked for another wine by the glass and she promptly brought it ....

The mussels were great!! WOW!!! RED SAUCED AND GARLIC WITH ALSO VEGGIES, amazing!

the food is almost too much, i literally wanted to eat it all, and it just made myself and husband ill after bc they serve soooooooooo much in a plate! YES, i know, we can control ourselves and that is not the rest. issue, but it would look better on the plates also, if it was maybe smaller portions and adjust the price if needed......... would have rather ordered 4 small things to share then two huge plates of food!

BREAD IS AMAZING! WOW!~

the italy street is a joke tho, nothing worth really spending a eve walking around at, shops were a joke...... and every rest was basically looking the same with menu lists........ not to mention it was maybe a 2 mile length total!

there is not much to do when at the cleveland clinic , so yes this is a nice place to go walk around, but compared to the places we have had italian food and all, this is not SOMETHING WONDERFUL!

sorry, just how we felt.

blessings!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Authentic and plentiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

LOTS of food in the heart of Little Italy. Service good and ample wine list. The whole block smelled like garlic so it had to be good....and it was. Will go back if in the area again (and take a home a doggy bag).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Mia Bella was recommended to us and very happy that we listened. It was the best Italian meal we have had in a long time. The service was wonderful and the food was amazing. Would highly recommend the tortellini and the raspberry cheesecake gelato. Be sure to make a reservation! The place was packed all evening and they were forced to turn people away. Also, request an outside table, weather permitting. Great place to people watch but still enjoy a fabulous meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian meal that can rival NYC little Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a wonderful meal here on a Sunday night. There is outdoor seating and indoor bistro type seating.The atmosphere is casual. We started with the beet salad and arugula salad. We followed that with the fish special in a tomato puree sauce over fresh vegetables and a homemade pasta mushroom dish with wine. Service was cordial but sporadic. We were not asked if we'd like another glass of wine and bread was not brought to the table until we asked twice.
We did not have dessert. Nonetheless this is a must go to restaurant while in Cleveland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mia Bella also viewed

 

Been to Mia Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.