We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another glowing report...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante

Dante
2247 Professor Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
2162741200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,674 restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Literary
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Just another glowing report...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This place has been on everyone's "Must Dine" list from the time they opened their doors. Overall, Dante rates a Plus Plus. Located in Tremont, it sets in a neighborhood of upscale new-menu eateries and old world casual establishments. perfectly suited to a pub crawl or an evening of serial fine dining. The building, itself,was once a bank, and customers can arrange for a private table right in the middle of the vault. The decor is a pleasing blend of old wood, plaster sculpted ceilings and modern accents, both bright and mellow. The only negative is the absence of a true lounge area. A modern bar with a coupe tables is pleasantly functional, but not what would be considered inviting of an evening of a cocktails and quiet conversation. My guest and I arrived early enough to take advantage of the interesting, well prepared and reasonably priced Happy Hour appetizer and beverage offerings. Moving to the main dining room we found a menu structured a l'Italiano, with appetizers, soup/first and second/pasta plates as well as veggie/meat/fish entrees and desserts. Pasta may also be ordered in entree portions. We chose salmon and scallops as our main courses, each accompanied by a tasty vegetable side,preceded by split pea and green pea soup a quinoa mushroom appetizer and a tasting portion of pasta carbonara served with a poached egg. Neither of us was up for dessert, but definitely looking forward to trying same on another occasion. I did, however, avail myself of the opportunity of enjoying an icy-cold limoncello, and a cup of very good coffee.
Service was friendly without being silly, and professional without giving the impression that we should be grateful they allowed us to come in and spend our money.Needless to say, Dante's outstanding rep remains intact. Cost was, as expected pricey, but not exorbitant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    86
    15
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Cleveland gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Want to treat yourself and your honey? There may be no better place than Dante in Tremont. We've been to Boston, New Orleans, San Francisco and honestly Dante treated us and fed us better than we can ever remember. They did forget the promised glass of Proseco for our anniversary celebration, but no problem. The 5-course menu was plenty (can't imagine the 7,9 or 11) and you really need to pair the wines with each one as they recommend! Keith, our server, was knowledgeable but not smug or snooty in the least. Yes, it was a bunch of $'s, but for our 30th anniversary, it was surely worth it. The venison steaks were fantastic, the scallop dish was creative and delicious, and each wine was just right. We'll go back for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply Great Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you are a foodie and want to to eat at one the best places in Northeast Ohio, you ought to treat yourself to a special night at Dante's. The setting is intimate and an old bank. You can request the 'safe' room, but that can be booked way in advance. Expect the place to be full of people. Don't let that scare you. People are there because the food and service is top notch. You really cannot go wrong at Dante's. There is a range of food from omnivore thru vegan. I have been there a number of times and all the selections are excellent and very tasty. If you are looking for a special night out in Cleveland. Make sure you put this restaurant on your list!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had dinner last night here and tried the five course suprize me option. started with octopus salad, lamb ravioli, smoked trout, steak and braised rib and some unbelievable pie for desert.
This place is as great as I was told

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Meal To Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our second visit to Dante. Our first meal was about 18 months ago and was memorable. We arrived at our reservation time and was seated in the back room, which is quieter than the front. There is also a table in the kitchen, which we will try to get next time. The entire menu looked wonderful but we decided to order the chef sampler meal --- you can specify your food choices and the chef picks the items for the five course meal. I had also the wine pairing; which was a nice way to complement the meal. There are a million ways Dante could put together a meal and the 5 course sampler allows the chef to pick what is working best that night. The portions were not small -- and I advise to arrive hungry if you are going to go this route. We saw Dante himself in the kitchen -- he was there when we walked in and when we left over two hours later...... We requested a meat and poultry free-gluten free meal. Our first course was an arugula salad with slivered white asparagus over smoked salmon, in a raspberry dressing --- this was a perfect starter and the salmon was delicious. Our second course was pan seared trout over a horseradish mash -- I usually take the fish skin off but it was so crispy and perfectly seasoned -- I took a taste and kept on eating (as did my wife, who never would eat fish skin). Our third course was a bowl of risotto with crab legs (no shells).... this was a large portion of food and we could have called it quits. The "large plate" was 2 large seared scallops over 3 cheese poolenta --- again full of flavor and perfectly seasoned. After a rest our dessert arrived --- my wife had a blueberry parfait and I had a white moose in an inverted cone of chocolate, accompanied by several other sweet items.

Dante's is probably the best high-end restaurant for those with gluten allergies and sensitivities as well as other sensitivities or requests. Our waitress was very helpful with my wife's wine selection and the overall meal.

We had a wonderful time and a wonderful meal. We were not rushed and the timing of each course was perfect. The food was delicious and full of flavor. Being able to partially design the chef's selection with your likes and dislikes allowed us to try the best of what Dante had to offer. We will come back to Dante's. It is terrific.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante also viewed

 

Been to Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.