We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing evening but very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dante

Dante
2247 Professor Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
2162741200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,565 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Literary
Chardon, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Relaxing evening but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner on a Friday night. The service was very good. For entrée
I enjoyed the slow cooked short rib with an unusual coleslaw on the side. It was fall apart tender and very flavorful. My wife enjoyed her flounder and the sauce on the side was also very flavorful and not overpowering. We shared a fruit cobbler for dessert which was generous and very tasty. Also, our appetizer of raw oysters was perfectly shucked, not a piece of shell in sight and all of the nectar was still in the shell. Overall a delightful evening but the noise was at times overpowering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    22
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“An experience worth a detailed review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

On our first visit to Dante restaurant, we tried the 5-course tasting menu.  It was fun to relinquish control for an evening and let the chef serve whatever he felt like making. But the servings were a bit larger than we had anticipated, and at the price, it was more expensive than we felt comfortable paying for food we couldn't finish or take home.  So, on this visit, we opted to order off the menu. 

Again, the service, food and atmosphere were all excellent. One adjustment we hope they make is to bring up the lighting a little more, if only to accommodate aging eyes like ours. People "first eat with their eyes," so to speak, so it would be nice to be able to see the food clearly (not to mention the menu). 

Since we had notified them that this would be a celebratory occasion, they served us with flutes of complimentary bubbly as we were seated. That was a nice surprise. We were seated at a two-top in a quiet cubbyhole, located beyond the kitchen at the back of the restaurant. At first it felt isolated, but after seeing how crowded and noisy the front of the restaurant was on this Friday night, we were glad to be there. Perhaps seating us in the back was intentional for romantic purposes. Had it been a warmer night, we would have liked to have been on the outdoor patio we could see through the windows near our table.

We were lucky to have Sarah as our server, who was also our server during our first visit months ago. As before, she was friendly, attentive, and very knowledgable about the food and wine. She made sure we had a very fine dining experience.

Overall, the food was well prepared and flavorful. The fresh bread brought to the table was replenished unnecessarily before we had time to finish the first batch. Their hummus that accompanied the bread was so wonderful, it's worthy of a place on the menu.  I would suggest that starter portions be reduced a bit in size (and, commensurately, in price). Currently, they are almost large enough to be entrees. At their prices, we couldn't help but try to finish them. After munching on the hummus and bread and eating the starters, we were already pretty full. If the starter portions had been smaller,  our enjoyment of the entrees probably would have been greater. 

The Salad of 7-Vegetables was a huge mound of fresh greens atop other crisp veggies, and it was properly dressed. One of two standouts of our meal was the Maine Lobster Spring Roll starter. The fried roll, cut into four pieces, had a thin, crispy shell, and each piece contained a large, succulent chunk of lobster. This outstanding dish is one we would order two of as an entree. 

The restaurant has a reputation for their amazing pasta. Their Ricotta Cavatelli alla Norma is a large and satisfying bowl of perfectly cooked pasta in a light red sauce with chunks of tomatoes and eggplant. The pan roasted Skate Wing tasted strongly of butter. Who doesn't like butter? Yet, I thought the butter was a bit excessive, overpowering the delicate flavor of the fish. The filet itself was nicely crisped on the outside, but I found it to be slightly overcooked. The salting was a little heavy-handed, too.  Although both entrees were delicious, the spring roll starter out-shined them both.

The new Chocolate Box dessert we shared was so exceptional, we were still talking about it the next day. As the name suggests, there is a hollow, topless box with walls constructed of dark chocolate resting on a square of dense, flourless chocolate cake. The box is filled with the most scrumptious and memorable banana mousse. The berry sauce smeared on the plate and the spoonful of diced strawberry beside the box complemented the chocolate and mousse perfectly. The dollop of frozen banana yogurt on the side, sitting on a little mound of coffee-flavored chocolate "dirt" granules, was also wonderful. Leave room for this dessert!

The chef-owner has received national recognition for his talents, so appreciate and experience his complex of three restaurants in Tremont, but make reservations for dinner. With so many great restaurants and clubs in the area, it may be hard to find street parking on a busy night, so be prepared with cash for a fee plus tip for valet parking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“almost ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Food was mediocre for the price. Very noisy. It is a shame as the ambiance has potential. I am being generous by saying the service was OK. I hate being negative, but what I want in a review is honesty. The restaurant is trendy and prices are accordingly. It was sort of what I expected, but was hopeful that someone would get it right. The space is in a old bank which is cool.
I

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A real find with absolutely delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Very metro restaurant in an old bank in a gentrified area of suburban Cleveland. Relatively small, seasonal menu which offers vegan and gluten free options.

Hard to say which were the best entrees as the duck, Amish chicken and perfectly cooked salmon were all so outstanding. Also the creme brûlée desert was fabulous.

Only strange note was the absurdly expensive top heavy wine list totally out of whack with this friendly and welcoming restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is cool. The restaurant used to be a bank and you can actually sit in the old bank vault. The food is top notch at typical prices you would expect in Tremont. Definitely top 10 in Cleveland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante also viewed

 

Been to Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.