We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dante

Dante
2247 Professor Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
2162741200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,669 restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Literary
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“almost ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Food was mediocre for the price. Very noisy. It is a shame as the ambiance has potential. I am being generous by saying the service was OK. I hate being negative, but what I want in a review is honesty. The restaurant is trendy and prices are accordingly. It was sort of what I expected, but was hopeful that someone would get it right. The space is in a old bank which is cool.
I

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    80
    14
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A real find with absolutely delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Very metro restaurant in an old bank in a gentrified area of suburban Cleveland. Relatively small, seasonal menu which offers vegan and gluten free options.

Hard to say which were the best entrees as the duck, Amish chicken and perfectly cooked salmon were all so outstanding. Also the creme brûlée desert was fabulous.

Only strange note was the absurdly expensive top heavy wine list totally out of whack with this friendly and welcoming restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is cool. The restaurant used to be a bank and you can actually sit in the old bank vault. The food is top notch at typical prices you would expect in Tremont. Definitely top 10 in Cleveland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, OH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

From the moment we walked into the restaurant and greeted with "Happy Anniversary" to the time the valet delivered our car in a heartbeat, we totally enjoyed in evening.
We arrived early for our reservation and had the happy hour snacks and wines. There are some excellent house wines to choose from as well as very nice wine list. i would recommend the House Red Zepher.
The restaurant was not overly busy on this Tuesday night so we had our dinner in the old bank vault. Very nice, private and unique. Salmon was excellent as was the risotto. My wife, who knows her way around Italian food, ordered Bolognese. It was fantastic and the portion was so large that i finished the leftovers just tonight.
Great friendly staff rounded out the perfect night. Honestly, one of the most memorable meals we have ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Vault!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have recently dined at Dante for the first time!! All I can say is WOW!!! Service was great, food outstanding, and the bar staff very professional and personable.. Thanks for a wonderful evening dining in the Vault.. Can't wait to come back to Cleveland

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante also viewed

 

Been to Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.