We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dante

Dante
2247 Professor Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
2162741200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,578 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Literary
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“almost ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Food was mediocre for the price. Very noisy. It is a shame as the ambiance has potential. I am being generous by saying the service was OK. I hate being negative, but what I want in a review is honesty. The restaurant is trendy and prices are accordingly. It was sort of what I expected, but was hopeful that someone would get it right. The space is in a old bank which is cool.
I

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    23
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A real find with absolutely delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Very metro restaurant in an old bank in a gentrified area of suburban Cleveland. Relatively small, seasonal menu which offers vegan and gluten free options.

Hard to say which were the best entrees as the duck, Amish chicken and perfectly cooked salmon were all so outstanding. Also the creme brûlée desert was fabulous.

Only strange note was the absurdly expensive top heavy wine list totally out of whack with this friendly and welcoming restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is cool. The restaurant used to be a bank and you can actually sit in the old bank vault. The food is top notch at typical prices you would expect in Tremont. Definitely top 10 in Cleveland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, OH
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

From the moment we walked into the restaurant and greeted with "Happy Anniversary" to the time the valet delivered our car in a heartbeat, we totally enjoyed in evening.
We arrived early for our reservation and had the happy hour snacks and wines. There are some excellent house wines to choose from as well as very nice wine list. i would recommend the House Red Zepher.
The restaurant was not overly busy on this Tuesday night so we had our dinner in the old bank vault. Very nice, private and unique. Salmon was excellent as was the risotto. My wife, who knows her way around Italian food, ordered Bolognese. It was fantastic and the portion was so large that i finished the leftovers just tonight.
Great friendly staff rounded out the perfect night. Honestly, one of the most memorable meals we have ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Vault!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have recently dined at Dante for the first time!! All I can say is WOW!!! Service was great, food outstanding, and the bar staff very professional and personable.. Thanks for a wonderful evening dining in the Vault.. Can't wait to come back to Cleveland

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante also viewed

 

Been to Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.