We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible ambiance but noisy and slow.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dante

Dante
2247 Professor Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
2162741200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,667 restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Literary
Denver, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible ambiance but noisy and slow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hard to believe a place so busy on Tuesday eve. Slow. Great food but desert was frozen solid. Patio might be good too

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    79
    13
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oakville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty in Tremont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After reading the what to do book, was intrigued by a neighborhood called Tremont...a city neighborhood undergoing a transformation . After a short walk around, purely by chance we decided on Dante.. If you love architecture, art, ambiance and food you have come to the right place...our experience was off to a great start with our waiter Keith. The calamari and shrimp appetizer was a new and delicious take on an old standard....their version of onion soup was outstanding ...many items on the menu were offered in two sizes which allows you to taste your way through the menu....unfortunately it was a drizzly evening so we were unable to dine al fresco.
A word of caution, street being resurfaced so park a block away and walk in...well worth it !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Were we by the sea?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Salty sauce and soup. Chef needs to lighten his hand with the salt shaker. Fish was good and the vidalia soup excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Better than good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were in Cleveland and it was recommended that we try Dante's new restaurant. Originally from Cleveland, he wanted to return to his roots from NewYork! This restaurant is one of the best experiences we have had. The food was excellent. We started with the Grilled Octopus appetizer. Grilled perfectly and not the least bit dry. One of us had the Grilled Tofu, which if you are vegan or vegetarian or even if you are not was superb. The duck breast was beautifully prepared as well. The wine list is fairly main stream; a few Italian wines mixed in with an otherwise list from the large producers at high prices. Our server, helped make our evening that much more special. Anyone who thinks that you can't get New York, Chicago or LA styled restaurants in Cleveland, need go no further! Our check for two, with two glasses of Champagne and two glasses of wine was around $150 with gratuity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Chef's Table is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Food was beyond fabulous. The wine was plentiful. The chefs were so friendly and our wait staff was amazing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante also viewed

 

Been to Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.