We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting menu is very enjoyable, but too filling to finish each” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dante

Dante
2247 Professor Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113
2162741200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,667 restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Literary
Cleveland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tasting menu is very enjoyable, but too filling to finish each”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We enjoyed our 5-course Whim Tasting Menu experience, but at more than $60/person, we won't do this often. Even though portions were smaller than normal servings, and we felt obligated to finish each, we were stuffed before we got to the entree. This may have diminished our appreciation and completion of the third and fourth courses. I don't see how anyone can finish a 14- or 21-course in one night (there's also a 7)! To leave enough room in our stomachs, we could have skipped the complementary and delicious bread and fantastic hummus, but why pass up such a good thing?

The first course of tuna tartar was maybe too much of a good thing. I love sushi and sashimi, but I can't eat that much of it without rice. At a certain point, that much raw fish by itself stops being pleasant. The dish we got wasn't the same as the one on the regular menu, and I wouldn't order that again, though I might try the regular version in the future. One memorable dish that I liked was the buffalo mozzarella baked in phyllo dough. Delicious. The cavatelli was flavorful, though a tad over-salted. We were so uncomfortably full by then that we couldn't have more than a taste of the veal dish, but the leftovers the next day tasted even better. We did push ourselves to eat the desserts, and we enjoyed them very much.

Since this was the "Whim" menu (as in chef's whim), the dishes we got are not on the regular menu, so my opinions about them may not help you decide what to order. I do recommend you allow at least two hours for the 5-course. The space is beautiful and service was perfect. Our server did a wonderful job pairing each of the dishes with wine. The tunes playing on the speakers -- classic Talking Heads, Stones, and a few others -- showed good musical taste, though I prefer music played at a slightly less distracting, lower volume while I'm dining. We look forward to going back to try all of the dishes on the regular menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    79
    13
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay Village, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Impressive pasta, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful handmade pasta. Some of the best bolognese I've ever had. The blood orange and goat cheese salad was truly memorable. The staff was cordial. I was with friends who are regulars. How we were treated makes me want to be a regular. The high ceilings of the old bank ate beautiful , but make the acustics challenging.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Our new favorite Cleveland restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a fantastic meal at Dante's and can't wait until we can go back again. I agree that it's expensive, but I felt it was well worth it. I can't mention just a few things, because we ordered many different tastings and appetizers and loved them all. I especially liked my entree of Pappardelle Bolognese and the Coconut dessert. The service was paced perfectly and our waiter was great. I really like the atmosphere and I would like to try the vault room. I've also heard that his restaurant in Akron is excellent, so I'm sure we'll be going there shortly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fancy with a meat vault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I got the 5 course meal with wine and damn that is a lot of food. Everything was fantastic. Great wine pairings with the dishes. I would recommend just hitting this place for a dish or two to share with drinks at the bar...2 or 12 times a year

The five course meal for $60 is to much food for me...shared would be perfect

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“one of my Cleveland's most favorite restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having dined here 5 times already in the last 2 years (my go-to restaurant for special occasions), i can recommend it with confidence. Food has always been delicious, and the service has always been excellent. Recently, we tried the "late night noodle" menu just for fun. If you are motivated enough, I would recommend it. They serve it around 10:30pm after the kitchen closes (from the adjoining Japanese place-Ginko, which is quite good as well). We sat down around 9:30 and ordered some wine and appetizer. Then, waited until noodle time. Our waiter was very nice and accomodating. The restaurant is not very big and the tables can be cozy. But the food is excellent. Next time, I will try for the chef's tasting table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante also viewed

 

Been to Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.