We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good bargain for a white tablecloth place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americano

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Americano
One Bratenahl Place, Cleveland, OH 44108
216-541-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Americano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,669 restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lakeshore Blvd.
Transit: Cleveland RTA line #39 picks up and drops off at the end of our driveway.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food, good bargain for a white tablecloth place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have eaten here twice and it has already become one of our favorite restaurants in the Cleveland area. It is a good bargain for a white tablecloth place. Some of their entrees are under $20. They seem to always have a long list of interesting specials. This time, I had one of the specials: blackened tilapia ($16), my wife had the Long Island duck ($23) and our friend had another special: scallops in a delicious sauce. I tasted a bit of everything and it was all very good to excellent. Their wine list is very good and reasonably priced. We had an excellent bottle of white Bordeaux for $25. The last time we had a bottle of wine this good in Cleveland it was $35. The service is also excellent. When the weather gets better they will put tables on the patio but I don't know if you can see the lake from there. However, the ambiance inside is very nice and it is not noisy. The place doesn't seem to have a sign. Just pass the guard house and turn left. Tell the person in guard house that you are going to the restaurant. It is on the first floor of the first building on the left. I recommend that you go to this place before too many people find out about it and it becomes too crowded.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    24
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My all-time favorite restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I am a little biased, as my SO lived in Bratenahl for a spell. We were lucky enough to live close enough to become regulars. I've eaten just about everywhere, and always want to come back home to Americano. The chef has endless talent and imagination, and the host, Cole, has a very keen eye for service and presentation. The food is always surprising and delicious and carefully thought-out, and the service is always flawless. We prefer eating in the bar, as talking to the locals provides more entertainment than you might expect from a little hidden gem. Two of my top five meals have been at this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Americano Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

One of our top 2 favorite area restaurants. Elegant but comfortable. Noise level is always good - we can carry on a normal conversation. Food is excellent - a good variety and unique. Service is outstanding, and we especially enjoy Brian Carter. A little pricey but worth it- we have never been disappointed! We try to get there every 4-6 weeks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Americano offers great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had a wonderful meal at Americano. The service was excellent. The menu is varied--from burgers to meatloaf to upscale offerings. The portions are generous. Americano is on our list of favorites.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For a night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a lovely time with two other couples. Good food, great atmosphere for conversations. If you have used the services of a sommelier, this is your kind of place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Americano also viewed

Cleveland, OH
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.