We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deluxe hot dogs! Awesome taters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Dog

Happy Dog
5801 Detroit Ave, Cleveland, OH 44102-3001
216-651-9474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 1,684 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great deluxe hot dogs! Awesome taters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Love the idea of this place and love their hot dogs. There is also usually live music and trivia during the week. Great atmosphere and awesome tater tots!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Who Doesn't Like A Hot Dog ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This Place is Awesome. A Bar with Hot Dogs & Tater Tots that you create your own or choose the house favorites. I created a get full stuffed hot dog and loaded tater tots. This was a perfect snack for a rainy day after visiting the rock and roll museum. I wish we had a bar like this in NYC, it would be my daily hangout. A must visit when in Cleveland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hot dogs and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A great variety of unusual fillings and a lively atmosphere. I believe members of the Cleveland Symphony Orchestra sometimes play there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horicon, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good dog, too many hipsters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent dog with lots of delicious toppings (and some not so delicious ones. Coco Puffs?) They also have Peanut Butter Cup Porter, which is worth a star all by itself. Probably the only business in Cleveland that could give Melt a run for their money in terms of overly-tattooed hipster waitstaff. I guess when you have a tattoo on your neck, your employment options are limited.

Pretty cool joint, otherwise.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Right mix of simple/complex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It's a hot dog and beer place. Simple enough. But wait, there are 50 topping options available for your palette, almost overwhelming to pick from. The vegan option is superior to most meat substitutes you'll find (it is intended to be sausage-like). And the beer selection is quite vast. When I went there was no live music, but I'm told it is a wonderful time when there is. Lighting was dim, bartenders very relaxed and friendly, customers all of a similar chill mindset. It really is a nice setting to hang out. This place seems like an understated gem of Cleveland. It was pretty packed, be aware of this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Dog also viewed

 

Been to Happy Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.