We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic French cuisine in the heart of the University Circle District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar

L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar
11401 Bellflower Ct, Cleveland, OH 44106-3961
12167917880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,749 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ford Drive
Transit: The RTA Health Line bus stops in University Circle at E. 115th Street. L'Albatros is located approximately 3 blocks from the bus stop.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chic French cuisine in the heart of the University Circle District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Although recognized as the "house kitchen" of the Glidden House, The L'Albatros Barassie + Bar is primarily a proper French brasserie, and a breath of fresh air and chic French cuisine in the heart of the University Circle District. The ambience is cosy, homey, comfortable yet romantic. Families are welcome, including children, yet a romantic two-some will feel welcome and enchanted as well.

The food is quite good and servings are adequate, not over-bearing or too heavy. There's a daily special that can delightfully end up as a pleasant surprise. Staff are friendly, courteous and well-trained.

Merci beau coup!

Helpful?
Thank Wowo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“After Van Gogh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

After the exhibit we thought we'd find some place close. We hadn't been there since Zach B took it over and decided to eat outside at the bar...the courtyard is beautiful and sitting at the bar is always fun. The young man working there responded to all questions about the menu. We started with an appetizer then two salads and finally we split an entree one of the specials that night. The food was delicious and we will go back again next time we're up there. Please go you'll be happy you did!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Viva Zach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Zach Bruell is fantastic restaurateur in the city of Cleveland. He operates five fine dining restaurants and they are all wonderful. I highly recommend L'Albatros Brasserie, especially if you are in the University Circle area either at the many wonderful museums, at Case Western Reserve University, or at Severance Hall for an orchestra concert. The food is simply wonderful. One of the best steak and frites I've had outside of France. Fantastic cheese cart. Very European in that respect. But the "French" food is Zach's idea of French which is non-traditional in many senses (like his deconstructed cassoulet), but pays homage to the original French dish. Also, he an absolute wizard when it comes to seafood. The wine list is very French with many wonderful and affordable choices as well as a number of "special" bottles. In good weather, the outside seating in the courtyard is divine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezuzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Best food I had while in Cleveland the charcuterie platter was a great start and the cassoulet was simply outstanding I enjoyed every bite. Everything I ate rivaled the namesake across the ocean it was a great dinner experience. The wine menu is average but with the food and service being so good it was not a problem to enjoy a few wines by the glass. I enjoyed my meal at the bar and had incredibly friendly service. This is a must dine spot when in Cleveland.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PMM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bit or bite of Paris in Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just a consistent, excellent dining experience in the heart of University Circle. If you close your eyes, you can almost smell the Seine or feel like you are n the Left Bank. We went during the week and it was comfortable crowded. Food was wonderfully prepared and presented. Service was first class. Wine choices were ample and had a good range. It was an altogether enjoyable experience at a reasonable rate, especially since parking was free.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dottic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing