We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar

L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar
11401 Bellflower Ct, Cleveland, OH 44106-3961
216-791-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,698 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ford Drive
Transit: The RTA Health Line bus stops in University Circle at E. 115th Street. L'Albatros is located approximately 3 blocks from the bus stop.
Pinckney, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great happy hour menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have only tried their happy hour, so I'll speak to that. I am a student at the nearby university, so I went after class with a friend to have dinner from the happy hour. The food quality is fantastic! We loved everything we ordered. You have to sit at the bar area if you're having the happy hour menu, but there are also tables in the bar area so it just felt like a fancy restaurant experience for a fraction of the price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    87
    25
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SappiNY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service and ambiance, extensive menu may be a flaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband took me here for the first time last week. I was definitely impressed by the service from the moment we walked in and throughout the meal, especially from the wait staff and the servers. I felt that some of the upper management people seemed a bit snooty, they were still friendly though. The food was good. The best part of our meal was this basil and tomato salad, some of the freshest tomatoes I have ever tasted! My husband's lemon tart for dessert was unimpressive. I tried a bit and the whipped topping was terrible! It tasted like raw egg whites and excess sugar. The tart itself was dry and lacking in flavor. He ordered the trout for his meal which was very light and not very flavorful. I got the braised beef in a mushroom reduction sauce with potatoes and turnips. It was very good! A bit heavy though. Overall I would go again for a nice occasion. The menu is really extensive, probably too extensive. If they focused on some key menu items and ensured they were out of this world, this place would be even better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Everything really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a really great meal. Salmon and lentils - tasty; done to perfection. Great selection of wines. Staff very attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This cozy bistro serves classic French dishes, many using locally sourced ingredients. Everything was delicious. The service was excellent; wine glasses were refilled, water glasses were refilled, and additional bread was provided all without asking.

The room is comfortable and attractive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“They try, but miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here a few weeks ago. It started out very well with a lovely, creamy soup....and lots of waitstaff....My entree was a kind of pork combo with 4 types of pork. All were tuff, with the exception of the roast pork. Flavor was just OK. Did I mention there was a lot of waitstaff? One waiter commented that I had ordered his favorite dish-every time I ordered a dish...The waitstaff really tries to please..
I am not sure how this restaurant received its #1 rating..Maybe the waitstaff? We felt it was fairly expensive for what we ordered. Nice waitstaff....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.