We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all about the patio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar

L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar
11401 Bellflower Ct, Cleveland, OH 44106-3961
216-791-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,681 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ford Drive
Transit: The RTA Health Line bus stops in University Circle at E. 115th Street. L'Albatros is located approximately 3 blocks from the bus stop.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“all about the patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If at all possible visit this place on a clear night when you can enjoy the patio.....atmosphere and food is something wonderful

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    78
    21
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Smack dab in the middle of Case Western Reserve University’s campus is a little gem of a restaurant called L’Albatros. It’s one of those places that college students ask visiting parents to take them because it’s a tad pricy for the average student. It’s also worth every penny. The decor is fresh and elegant, without being stuffy. We wore jeans to lunch, but clearly could have dressed up. Even though we arrived twenty minutes before opening, we were seated right away and served warm bread. The olive oil had a fresh, crisp flavor, which was perfect for dipping the crusty rustic bread. There was a real danger of filling up on the stuff before our lunch arrived.

My husband ordered the Mussles with Pommes Frites and Spicy Aioli. A generous portion of tender muscles came in a bowl of butter broth topped with fries and a drizzle of aioli. Yum. The fries were crisp and delicious.

I had the Watercress “Caesar” salad. Served with both black and green olives, it was topped with a liberal portion of shaved parmesan. The anchovies weren’t those shriveled bone filled things you get in most places. These were fresh, fileted, with a slightly pickled flavor reminiscent of herring, but much milder.

The Braised Shoulder of Lamb my daughter ordered had a rich and comforting flavor, good for a cold day in Cleveland. It was served with pasta risotto and rosemary jus.

Fresh made pasta, tender, and cut in wide cut strips filled the Pasta Du Jour my other daughter ordered. It came with a healthy helping of roast root vegetables, eggplant, and kale. Shaved parmesan completed the dish.

This fantastic lunch for four was reasonably priced. If you ever find yourself in Cleveland, Ohio, Don’t forget to stop by L’Albatros.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Review of the Bar Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

After a visit at the Cleveland Museum of Art, a group of friends and I stopped by L'Albatros for an early aperitif - around 4:15 pm. We sat at the bar where we were the only customers. The bartender could not hear our orders even when we repeated them a couple of times. I think he was having trouble understanding us (or just hearing) even though we all spoke perfect American English.

Anyway, one of us ordered the manzanilla sherry off the regular drink list. The bartender didn't know if they had it, spend 10 minutes looking for it, then he offered us the sherry (which is what the manzanilla was but he didn't know that obviously) and he proceeded to also overcharge us for it - $12 instead of $8.

I ordered a Lillet, chilled, with two ice cubes. I received a large red wine glass full of ice cubes as if it were iced water. I could barely taste the Lillet. For those of you who like Lillet and drink it regularly like me, you will know that this is not how it should be served. Still, at least they had it!

The rest of us ordered the Gemini Cocktail -- which was actually very good (with Grapefruit vodka, St. Germaine, and grapefruit juice) and the happy hour beer.

We ordered the french fries as well. They arrived literally five minutes later and they were not very good -- thick, tasteless, and a bit burned on the edges as if they had been over-fried in order to conceal their frozen bag origin.

Overall, I am not impressed with the bar drinks and service. But again, this is my impression ONLY of the bar, not the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Comedy of Errors”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I wanted to like this place and expected it to live up to its stellar reviews. Error of major proportions. Act 1: Chop salad was too busy and the dressing unbalanced. The risotto was grossly undercooked and the broth salty. This was returned to the kitchen. Act 2: Server disappeared with offensive dish and dismissed incident as "it happens." From a top-rated restaurant? That dish should never have left the kitchen. A marginal replacement came a few minutes later. Curtain Call (Act 3): Manager did not comp the dish, instead, tried to appease me with free dessert. A fine establishment would not have charged the customer. I would not return to this place and cannot recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal Carolinas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the University area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant and brasserie while visiting Cleveland. We had read about it in some of the literature for places to dine in that city. That particular evening they had a special of their version of Cassoulette (sorry for spelling! bean soup), Duck Confit, and a fish special, We also added drinks and dessert for 3 the total came to $153.32. If one just looks at the numbers it seems as though the meal was rather expensive. However, the service, sides and salads made this a memorable evening for a rather fair tariff. The restaurant is located in an old historical home for the area that was renovated to include a bar, outdoor seating and additional small seating rooms for maximum ambiance and minimal noise and distraction. Kim Paradise, the manager that evening was visible, but non intrusive; congenial but not overbearing and a pleasure to meet. She managed several rooms of diners and staff with a firm, but knowledgeable hand. We experienced a nice unhurried pace while dining, but one that kept pace with the kitchen so that our food arrives at the correct temperature and timing. Well worth the short trip from our main location in the warehouse district!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.