We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comedy of Errors” 1 of 5 stars
Review of L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar

L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar
11401 Bellflower Ct, Cleveland, OH 44106-3961
12167917880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,749 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ford Drive
Transit: The RTA Health Line bus stops in University Circle at E. 115th Street. L'Albatros is located approximately 3 blocks from the bus stop.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comedy of Errors”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I wanted to like this place and expected it to live up to its stellar reviews. Error of major proportions. Act 1: Chop salad was too busy and the dressing unbalanced. The risotto was grossly undercooked and the broth salty. This was returned to the kitchen. Act 2: Server disappeared with offensive dish and dismissed incident as "it happens." From a top-rated restaurant? That dish should never have left the kitchen. A marginal replacement came a few minutes later. Curtain Call (Act 3): Manager did not comp the dish, instead, tried to appease me with free dessert. A fine establishment would not have charged the customer. I would not return to this place and cannot recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jocelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Coastal Carolinas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the University area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant and brasserie while visiting Cleveland. We had read about it in some of the literature for places to dine in that city. That particular evening they had a special of their version of Cassoulette (sorry for spelling! bean soup), Duck Confit, and a fish special, We also added drinks and dessert for 3 the total came to $153.32. If one just looks at the numbers it seems as though the meal was rather expensive. However, the service, sides and salads made this a memorable evening for a rather fair tariff. The restaurant is located in an old historical home for the area that was renovated to include a bar, outdoor seating and additional small seating rooms for maximum ambiance and minimal noise and distraction. Kim Paradise, the manager that evening was visible, but non intrusive; congenial but not overbearing and a pleasure to meet. She managed several rooms of diners and staff with a firm, but knowledgeable hand. We experienced a nice unhurried pace while dining, but one that kept pace with the kitchen so that our food arrives at the correct temperature and timing. Well worth the short trip from our main location in the warehouse district!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BooCoastalCarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“délicieux”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are looking for a menu that has unique choices, L'Albatros is the place to go. The food and its presentment is outstanding. The staff is well trained and well versed on the menu. When a colleague could not decide between a chicken or a pasta dish, the waiter offered to combine the 2 for her. The manager came by to ensure our experience and didn't just ask a question, she listened to our answers. Top notch.

If anything can improve, it is the chairs. I understand plastic chairs for outdoor dining, but indoor, I prefer a padded chair.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kjg1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We.were delighted they were open late enough for us to enjoy an elegant French dinner. We will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SFZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A warm night with a cool breeze at the end of August and we dined here to celebrate a birthday outside. Everything was superb: service, food, ambiance. It was a most pleasant and memorable evening. Please glimpse my photos to see more details.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HurricaneFinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing