We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comedy of Errors” 1 of 5 stars
Review of L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar

L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar
11401 Bellflower Ct, Cleveland, OH 44106-3961
216-791-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,673 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ford Drive
Transit: The RTA Health Line bus stops in University Circle at E. 115th Street. L'Albatros is located approximately 3 blocks from the bus stop.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comedy of Errors”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I wanted to like this place and expected it to live up to its stellar reviews. Error of major proportions. Act 1: Chop salad was too busy and the dressing unbalanced. The risotto was grossly undercooked and the broth salty. This was returned to the kitchen. Act 2: Server disappeared with offensive dish and dismissed incident as "it happens." From a top-rated restaurant? That dish should never have left the kitchen. A marginal replacement came a few minutes later. Curtain Call (Act 3): Manager did not comp the dish, instead, tried to appease me with free dessert. A fine establishment would not have charged the customer. I would not return to this place and cannot recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    253
    67
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coastal Carolinas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the University area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant and brasserie while visiting Cleveland. We had read about it in some of the literature for places to dine in that city. That particular evening they had a special of their version of Cassoulette (sorry for spelling! bean soup), Duck Confit, and a fish special, We also added drinks and dessert for 3 the total came to $153.32. If one just looks at the numbers it seems as though the meal was rather expensive. However, the service, sides and salads made this a memorable evening for a rather fair tariff. The restaurant is located in an old historical home for the area that was renovated to include a bar, outdoor seating and additional small seating rooms for maximum ambiance and minimal noise and distraction. Kim Paradise, the manager that evening was visible, but non intrusive; congenial but not overbearing and a pleasure to meet. She managed several rooms of diners and staff with a firm, but knowledgeable hand. We experienced a nice unhurried pace while dining, but one that kept pace with the kitchen so that our food arrives at the correct temperature and timing. Well worth the short trip from our main location in the warehouse district!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“délicieux”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are looking for a menu that has unique choices, L'Albatros is the place to go. The food and its presentment is outstanding. The staff is well trained and well versed on the menu. When a colleague could not decide between a chicken or a pasta dish, the waiter offered to combine the 2 for her. The manager came by to ensure our experience and didn't just ask a question, she listened to our answers. Top notch.

If anything can improve, it is the chairs. I understand plastic chairs for outdoor dining, but indoor, I prefer a padded chair.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We.were delighted they were open late enough for us to enjoy an elegant French dinner. We will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A warm night with a cool breeze at the end of August and we dined here to celebrate a birthday outside. Everything was superb: service, food, ambiance. It was a most pleasant and memorable evening. Please glimpse my photos to see more details.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.