We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and nice patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar

L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar
11401 Bellflower Ct, Cleveland, OH 44106-3961
216-791-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,681 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ford Drive
Transit: The RTA Health Line bus stops in University Circle at E. 115th Street. L'Albatros is located approximately 3 blocks from the bus stop.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great spot for an outdoor dinner on a beautiful summer night (and the inside is pleasant, too). Our sauteed skate wing was done perfectly -- not too much butter or balsamic vinegar, but enough to add some subtle flavor. The wine list veers toward the high end, but we were able to find a nice white French burgundy (Louis Latour Montagny) for under $50. The frozen Blood Orange-Grand Marnier souffle for dessert was sublime! If you happen to be staying at Glidden House (wonderful!), you'll be able to walk to dinner in under 5 minutes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    78
    24
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Romantic setting-but don't plan on proposing there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The food, attention to detail and the service are wonderful at this restaurant. Interesting, very authentic "old school" French cuisine. You would swear Julia Child is in the kitchen whispering in the chef's ear. My only complaint is that on the weekends the noise level is so loud that it is impossible to have an intimate conversation. But try it mid-week or go on the weekends and join in the revelry. Everyone there is clearly enjoying their experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH & Wallace NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“flawless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited L'Albatros a week ago Saturday (8/23), with a large group of 12! From the moment we arrived we were given the utmost attn., as if we were their most important customers! The host made sure we got drinks, and kept us abreast of the status of our table. The wait staff was impeccable (where do they find these people?), the food was flawless: oysters, fois grai, trout, duck! Zac Bruell has the secret to running the best restaurants in town.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a superb restaurant for French food! The menu has outstanding selections of drinks and food. I had brought a special bottle of champagne for the business meeting we were having and the staff was so gracious in serving it at no extra charge. Our waiter was Bart and he was the epitome of "best waiter" just the right amount of attentiveness and helpful with any questions of the menu. This is a place to return to many times!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braidwood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gourmet food and a delightful experience at an affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I was looking for a nice restaurant to treat my parents to and L'Albatros exceeded all expectations I had - I can't wait till I go again and I can't speak highly enough of our experience, as the food and the service were just impeccable. I chose this place after reading other reviews, and it was better than I could have expected. We sat on the patio which was a charming little set-up. We started our evening with drinks and the French Toast appetizer - my parents went with white wine and I tried the Effen Herbs and Berries - a great drink which is a perfect mix of slightly sweet from the berries but balanced by the herbs. The French Toast is a must-try - it is delicious and savory yet delicate and fluffy and unlike anything I had ever tasted before and something I'll surely get next time I visit. We then tried 3 cheeses from the cheese board - I HIGHLY recommend this if you like cheese! A cheese expert will help you select cheeses based on ones you enjoy, and the price is very reasonable. I dipped my cheese and bread in the balsalmic syrup from the French Toast and it made for a wonderful cheese course. Next, I tried the French Onion soup (for only $3/cup, it is not only scores better than any soup I've ever tried but more affordable!) while my mom had the soup du jour, which was a sweet corn soup, and my dad had the salad of the day - an heirloom tomato salad which was absolutely amazing. We were all blown away. I could sip on the broth from the French Onion soup all day long. The use of fresh, seasonal ingredients in all the "of the day" dishes was wonderful, and every ingredient on the plate had a purpose and created a wonderful taste. We went with the veal short rib, a pork short rib (a special for the day), and the pasta du jour for the entrees. Everything was amazing. Althoguh I do not usually pass up wonderful meat dishes, I'd highly recommend the pasta dish. It seems like this place does no wrong, especially when it comes to their specials of the day. We went with the chocolate Napoleon for dessert, and it was amazing. Rich, delicate, chocolatey ... Everything we had over the course of our 2 1/2 hour experience was impressive and something I'd try again and recommend to others. Everything from the presentation, to the quality, the use of fresh and seasonal ingredients, and the combination of ingredients that all worked in harmony was just spot on - and the pricing is more than reasonable for what you get. You can go to some stupid chain restaurant like Olive Garden or Outback Steakhouse and pay near the same price for an entree, but you get so much more from L'Albatros. The taste, the presentation, the quality, the service - it is all monumentally better than most places that will charge the same price for entrees. I can't speak higly enough about the service we had and the quality of everything we tried. And the best thing is, is that this is the kind of place you can go to before a concert at Severance Hall or after an afternoon at the Cleveland Museum of Art, where you can sit out on the patio and enjoy a drink, a cup of soup, and some cheese and be on your way, or you can come for several courses and spend an entire evening here. The staff is amazing, the food is wonderful, the pricing for the quality of food they serve and the experience they provide is beyond reasonable. I highly, highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Albatros Brasserie + Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.