We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning new building marries to original” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Museum of Art

Cleveland Museum of Art
11150 East Blvd, Cleveland, OH 44106
+1 216-421-7340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 193 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cleveland Museum of Art was founded in 1913 "for the benefit of all the people forever." Renowned for the quality and breadth of its collection, the museum includes almost 45,000 objects and spans 6,000 years of achievement in the arts. The museum is a significant international forum for exhibitions, scholarship, performing arts and art education and recently completed an ambitious, multi-phase renovation and expansion project across its campus. One of the top comprehensive art museums in the nation and free of charge to all, the Cleveland Museum of Art is located in the dynamic University Circle neighborhood.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
909 reviews 909 reviews
454 attraction reviews
Reviews in 310 cities Reviews in 310 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Stunning new building marries to original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a visually stunning museum. The buildings are as much a star as the exhibits.

A good varied collection. I could have spent all day.

It's located with lots of other museums making it easy to visit them all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    147
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You MUST go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were staying at Columbus and decided to go to Cleveland without expectations but the city surprised us. The museum is beatiful and is free, you must go with time, they have amazing things

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“World Class Art and Architects -FREE ADMISSION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Not only does this museum house great collections of Asian and Egyptian art and Medieval Armour and Weapons, its located in the beautiful University Circle area close to the phenomenal Severance Hall (Home of the Cleveland Orchestra) Additions to the original Beaux-Arts building include wings by world-class architects Marcel Breuer and Rafael Viñoly. Be sure to check their website because they always have tons of activities, including musical performances by groups like Apollo's Fire, and many events for children. Nice cafe and lovely gift shop with interesting and unique merchandise.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great art museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Love this museum- has Monet's Water Colors which is huge. Nice exibits and beautiful building. And its free! Bring some spending money for the gift shop- lots of unique things

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“1st time visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Wow! I spent 5 hours with my daughter and husband exploring this wonderful museum. We could've stayed longer but we went on a Thursday and the museum closes at 5pm. It has a wide variety of art and history. I was very impressed with the impressionist collection especially seeing Monet's "Water lilies" up close and personal. We had a fantastic lunch in their gourmet cafeteria under the atrium. It felt like a beautiful spring day in the middle of winter. We plan to go again when my in-laws come to visit. BTW...admission is FREE!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.