We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Museum of Art

Cleveland Museum of Art
11150 East Blvd, Cleveland, OH 44106
+1 216-421-7340
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 128 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cleveland Museum of Art was founded in 1913 "for the benefit of all the people forever." Renowned for the quality and breadth of its collection, the museum includes almost 45,000 objects and spans 6,000 years of achievement in the arts. The museum is a significant international forum for exhibitions, scholarship, performing arts and art education and recently completed an ambitious, multi-phase renovation and expansion project across its campus. One of the top comprehensive art museums in the nation and free of charge to all, the Cleveland Museum of Art is located in the dynamic University Circle neighborhood.
Jordan, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Being from Ontario, I have seen quite a few art galleries and paid their admission prices. I absolutely cannot get over the fact that this place is FREE!! The vast size of this place could easily take days to go through and view everything if you were stopping to read each and every info piece! I believe there are two areas that charge admission, but the amount of pieces that you can view for free is almost overwhelming there is so much to choose from. A must see if you are visiting Cleveland.

Visited March 2014
2 Thank lcessielc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very good special Van Gogh exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It is so nice to find very good art museum with the high caliber of Cleveland Museum of Art - free admission for permanent collections and charging fees only for special exhibits. This is a must see attraction for both locals and visitors to Cleveland.

We came this time to see the special Repetitions exhibit of Van Gogh. This is the first time this theme and selected masterpieces of Van Gogh have been shown - great idea and very enjoyable. Worth the price of $20/pp. But the price also includes the Remaking Tradition: Modern Art of Japan from the Tokyo National Museum special exhibit which is also very enjoyable.

Visited March 2014
2 Thank Ligaya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you come to Cleveland and miss the museum, you have made a big mistake. Recent renovation took this world class museum and made it amazing. Size is small enough to cover the room is a day but a couple of days could easily be spent here. Several good restaurants on site. Museum known for have top choices for each type of piece.

Visited March 2014
3 Thank GoIndians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you only go to Cleveland for one reason - CMA is that reason.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

What a beautiful museum. The aesthetics of CMA are gorgeous. This museum has everything from early Egyptian art and Roman Greco pieces to striking works by Picasso and Pollack. Stunning works by Man Ray and Monet - all found at the Cleveland Museum of Art. Currently there is a African American Art exhibit on the first floor - so thorough. I spent the entire day there and want to go back soon.

There is a beautiful atrium where you can enjoy the most reasonable gourmet lunch. Amazing food and great drinks as well.

Everyone that I came across at this museum was friendly and KNOWLEDGEABLE about the museum - I've never seen anything like that. Clevelanders are very proud of their city and of the Cleveland Museum of Art...as they should be.

RUN to this museum you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
2 Thank Tfun247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cleveland's jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The place is gorgeous! Took my mom, who was visiting, and we had a wonderful mother-daughter time.
It's one of the best places in Cleveland to visit.
If there was a down side to our visit, was the fact that there was a lot of construction going on, so we couldn't see a lot of the exhibits...

Visited November 2013
1 Thank Canela57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Museum of Art also viewed


Been to Cleveland Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing