We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Museum of Art

Cleveland Museum of Art
11150 East Blvd, Cleveland, OH 44106
216 421 7340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 81 attractions in Cleveland
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Known for its excellent Asian, medieval European and pre-Columbian holdings, this museum's collection of over 40,000 works of art also includes masterpieces by Monet, Picasso and van Gough.
Jordan, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Being from Ontario, I have seen quite a few art galleries and paid their admission prices. I absolutely cannot get over the fact that this place is FREE!! The vast size of this place could easily take days to go through and view everything if you were stopping to read each and every info piece! I believe there are two areas that charge admission, but the amount of pieces that you can view for free is almost overwhelming there is so much to choose from. A must see if you are visiting Cleveland.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    110
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very good special Van Gogh exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It is so nice to find very good art museum with the high caliber of Cleveland Museum of Art - free admission for permanent collections and charging fees only for special exhibits. This is a must see attraction for both locals and visitors to Cleveland.

We came this time to see the special Repetitions exhibit of Van Gogh. This is the first time this theme and selected masterpieces of Van Gogh have been shown - great idea and very enjoyable. Worth the price of $20/pp. But the price also includes the Remaking Tradition: Modern Art of Japan from the Tokyo National Museum special exhibit which is also very enjoyable.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you come to Cleveland and miss the museum, you have made a big mistake. Recent renovation took this world class museum and made it amazing. Size is small enough to cover the room is a day but a couple of days could easily be spent here. Several good restaurants on site. Museum known for have top choices for each type of piece.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you only go to Cleveland for one reason - CMA is that reason.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

What a beautiful museum. The aesthetics of CMA are gorgeous. This museum has everything from early Egyptian art and Roman Greco pieces to striking works by Picasso and Pollack. Stunning works by Man Ray and Monet - all found at the Cleveland Museum of Art. Currently there is a African American Art exhibit on the first floor - so thorough. I spent the entire day there and want to go back soon.

There is a beautiful atrium where you can enjoy the most reasonable gourmet lunch. Amazing food and great drinks as well.

Everyone that I came across at this museum was friendly and KNOWLEDGEABLE about the museum - I've never seen anything like that. Clevelanders are very proud of their city and of the Cleveland Museum of Art...as they should be.

RUN to this museum you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cleveland's jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The place is gorgeous! Took my mom, who was visiting, and we had a wonderful mother-daughter time.
It's one of the best places in Cleveland to visit.
If there was a down side to our visit, was the fact that there was a lot of construction going on, so we couldn't see a lot of the exhibits...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cleveland Museum of Art to your Saves list