We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished they had more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Museum of Art

Cleveland Museum of Art
11150 East Blvd, Cleveland, OH 44106
216 421 7340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Attractions in Cleveland
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its excellent Asian, medieval European and pre-Columbian holdings, this museum's collection of over 40,000 works of art also includes masterpieces by Monet, Picasso and van Gough.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wished they had more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Museum only had a piece or two of many of the prominent artists in any genre. Plus, they were having a special event so we had to wind our way around the bottom level just to find our way out:(

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    127
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Free & Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great museum with fine exhibits. Kids LOVED the balloon exhibit-something about displacing space or air or whatever. Either way it was pretty cool and a must do. You cannot beat the price--it is FREE. Everyone needs to visit this museum it is your cultural duty to mankind!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Renovation and New Construction, especially Atrium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It has taken long time to renovate and add new buildings, but their job is done very well so far. I believe the atrium is one of the most comfortable and sophisticated areas in Cleveland. We got lunch from Provenance Cafe and ate in the atrium.

Only one problem was that we needed to wait for "Work No. 965: Half the air in a given space" very long time. After 30 minutes, our line was not moved at all, so we gave up.

We will be back when all constructions are done.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wow! What a Great Museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We live 3 hours away and hadn't heard about the Museum, but saw that it was highly rated on Trip Advisor. We were in town for a couple days and thought we would visit the museum for a couple hours, especially since there was no cost for admission. Those two hours flew by and though there is a cafe on site, we decided to go to Presti's, having heard good things about it as well. After lunch, we just felt we needed to go back to the Museum. There was just so much to see, such a vast variety of art, so many paintings and sculptures and artifacts. My husband kept asking me... "Are these just replicas? They can't possibly all be originals."
The venue is superb; the rooms are incredibly spacious. There is something about being surrounded by so much beauty and history in that quiet atmosphere that generates a feeling of deep respect and awe. Go if you have the chance. And then go again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The renovation is so beautiful. We loved the exhibits. WE happened to be there on the first Fri. of the month when they have a happy hour party w/music and bar. Will go back for that.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.