We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS Cod Submarine Memorial

USS Cod Submarine Memorial
1089 E 9th St, North Coast Harbor, Cleveland, OH 44114
216 566 8770
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 192 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour the submarine responsible for the sinking of nearly 30,000 tons of Japanese ships during WWII.
Athens, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great trip for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My 7 year old son loves military history and found this submarine amazing! We loved the guns on deck and being able to go below to imagine what life would be on board. Great trip - fun for the whole family and educational too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    59
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great stop for kids young and old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The submarine is the real thing. You get to go into the sub and see how it was like under water. The price is really reasonable and it is right downtown Cleveland. You can walk their from the Rock-n-Roll Hall or the Science museum. It is next to the Browns stadium and obviuosly on the waterfront. It is an interesting visit and not just a Disney reproduction -- it's the real thing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Life under the sea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The submarine is in dock at the confluence of the three rivers which meet in Cleveland. Down below decks,one can get an idea of what life i like on board a small submarine. A guide is available to tell you about 'hot bunks' and the galley gives an idea on the cooking facilities and food available on a long sea voyage. Looking through the periscope and seeing the torpedo tube loading bays was most interesting.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“USS COD's Spooky Halloween”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm anticipating another Halloween experience on USS Cod submarine permanently docked on downtown Cleveland's North Coast Harbor (Lake Erie). As I did last year, I'm taking some neighbors so they, too, can participate in this very unusual Halloween event while, at the same time, learning about Cod and other submarines that helped win WWII. Last year inside the sub, we had guided tours by former sub sailors, spooky red lighting, 1940s music and a Tokyo Rose raid recording. Time and dates for this year's event are on the Cleveland Plain Dealer's online website. Just in case, from 6:30 - 9:30, Friday, Saturday evenings, Oct. 25 & 26. Visitors are told to wear the kind of shoes for the vertical steel ladders.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Interesting, Inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

To go back in time into a WWII submarine is quite an experience. I brought with me an engineer who loves WWII history and he was absolutely in love. We could have been in there for the whole day if I didn't move him along. It was a special commemorative day when we were there and there were volunteers and veterans around to talk to us. One was even practicing his Morse Code. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Cod Submarine Memorial also viewed

 

Been to USS Cod Submarine Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS Cod Submarine Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.