We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great zoo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Metroparks Zoo

Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
3900 Wildlife Way, Cleveland, OH 44109
216 661 6500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 81 attractions in Cleveland
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Don't miss this exciting metropolitan zoo best known for having the largest collection of primates in the United States and for its Rainforest exhibit, which features a thrilling simulated tropical rain storm.
United States
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Great zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited on a chilly fall day in November and the crowd was pretty light. The cost of admission goes down during their winter hours so it was only $8.25 for adults. Parking is free. Due to the colder temperatures some of the animals were not out and only a couple of places to eat were open. We ate at Pizza Hut and took our food inside a building right next to the stand so we didn't have to eat outside.

We particularly liked the aquatics and primates; we took the tram to see these exhibits. Everything was clean and well taken care of and the animals looked healthy. If you don't like crowds then the cooler months might be a better time to visit albeit not everything is open and running.

Don't miss the opportunity to visit the rainforest building which is included in the cost of your admission. They have more animals and exhibits in here along with a restaurant and restrooms. I'd definitely recommend a visit. There are lots of places to sit and rest if you get tired from walking and there is enough to see that you won't get bored.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    176
    42
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludington, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great city zoo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The zoo has many nice touches to complement viewing the animals. The location is accessible for city dwellers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've lived in the Cleveland area my entire life (I'm 48). I have watched the Cleveland Zoo go through changes over the years and it keeps getting better! I made another visit not long ago and just love the elephant crossing they added. The wolf exhibit is still my favorite. The only thing I miss is the Zoo Lights they used to have during the Holiday Season.
Zoo has improved so much since the Metropark System took it over. Clean, affordable and very, very nice exhibits. A must see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a small version of the san diego zoo.....My kids enjoyed here much more than in san diego...Great Tram service, good food inside the zoo...very well kept animals...dinosaurs park is an added attraction

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Fantastic way to spend a day with family and friends. Things for all ages. Some of the new ateas for the animals are great and you can feed some of them.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Metroparks Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Metroparks Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Metroparks Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cleveland Metroparks Zoo to your Saves list