We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Metroparks Zoo

Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
3900 Wildlife Way, Cleveland, OH 44109
216 661 6500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 83 Attractions in Cleveland
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Don't miss this exciting metropolitan zoo best known for having the largest collection of primates in the United States and for its Rainforest exhibit, which features a thrilling simulated tropical rain storm.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've lived in the Cleveland area my entire life (I'm 48). I have watched the Cleveland Zoo go through changes over the years and it keeps getting better! I made another visit not long ago and just love the elephant crossing they added. The wolf exhibit is still my favorite. The only thing I miss is the Zoo Lights they used to have during the Holiday Season.
Zoo has improved so much since the Metropark System took it over. Clean, affordable and very, very nice exhibits. A must see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    187
    45
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a small version of the san diego zoo.....My kids enjoyed here much more than in san diego...Great Tram service, good food inside the zoo...very well kept animals...dinosaurs park is an added attraction

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Fantastic way to spend a day with family and friends. Things for all ages. Some of the new ateas for the animals are great and you can feed some of them.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great zoo - don't go on free day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This year we decided to take our 4 year old grandson to the zoo. Problem was we happened to go on the FREE day by coincidence. Horrible! Crowded! Hot! We had to park in an overflow lot, battle crowds of people with coolers and take forever to gain entrance. Another major problem is that it is impossible to find any zoo staff to ask where anything in the park is located. It's a shame because we have a highly rated zoo, and it is understaffed. The only place we could enjoy was the dinosaur exhibit which was slightly shady and not crowded - probably because you had to pay for entrance to this! It is a little elementary, however. My 4 year old grandson asked if the dinosaurs were toys. What does that say? Not very realistic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“wonderful way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

great way to spend a day with family, lots of animals, lots of walking and fresh air, the exhibits are thought out and informative, lots of fun, lots of picnic spaces

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Metroparks Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Metroparks Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Metroparks Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.