We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, and striking room decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Atlanta, GA
1 review
“Nice stay, and striking room decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is near Lake Erie, on the NE edge of Downtown Cleveland. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is less than a 10 minute walk from here! Surrounded by mostly office and civic buildings, the area around the hotel is pretty quiet in the evening and on weekends. As a result, the hotel bar was surprisingly busy each night of our stay. However, an easy 15 minute walk westbound leads to the Warehouse District, with lots of restaurants, bars, and nightclubs. And a 15 minute walk SW in the vicinity of Euclid Avenue & East 4th Street was also a center of activity with many restaurants--busy even on a weekday night. [All the restaurants we ate at were very good, and not crazy expensive either.] Cleveland's excellent theater district, Playhouse Square, was also about a 15 minute walk southbound from the hotel. There is a lot of historic architecture in Downtown Cleveland which made our walks interesting and fun. Although we didn't stay out really late at night, we never felt unsafe walking around Downtown Cleveland and my wife was impressed that the Downtown area was overall clean and well maintained.
Based upon the "fire escape map" on the back of the hotel room door, we had one of the smaller king rooms at the end of the hall...I think those are drawn to scale. Although it was smaller than the average hotel room, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. And the decor was really quite striking: my wife described it as "edgy and urbane." Really looked more like a room at a "W" hotel with dark stained furniture, a leather textured wall covering, black and platinum horizontal striped drapes, and burgundy and black carpeting in a wavy line pattern. A nice change of pace from the usual conservative hotel decor of 5 shades of beige.
The common areas of the hotel--lobby, restaurant, halls--appear to be recently redecorated in a similar contemporary style.
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and our two interactions with the housekeeping staff were also positive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    368
    237
    103
    45
See reviews for
252
338
59
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is the best place to stay if you're going to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame! Very nice hotel - spacious, remodeled room, comfy bedding, quiet, nice bar and restaurant. The package gets you two tickets to the Rock Hall, two coupons for breakfast (buffet was awesome with bagels, muffins, bread, made-to-order omelets, scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage and bacon, french toast, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee) and overnight parking. We were able to leave our car in the garage after checking out (at no extra cost) and walked to the Rock Hall, where we spent 6 hours. It was also a reasonable walk to the great restaurants and bars on East 4th Street, Progressive Field and Quicken Arena.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The Doubletree in downtown Cleveland offers a great value and perfect location for travelers visiting the sporting, entertainment, shopping, and business venues in Cleveland's City Centre. My family and I have stayed at this property twice during the summer (May and August) and found it to be clean, comfortable, and convenient.

I would certainly recommend this property for persons seeking close proximity to the downtown Cleveland area or even the Case Western Reserve University (University Circle-Little Italy) area.

A tip for travelers is to park in one of the adjacent public parking lots for $6-$10 instead of the overpriced $16 parking offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhioCowboy, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
As a caution to the traveler, our $16 parking gives free in and out access, many of the surrounding do not. The bait is the low price, however you pay $6-$10 each time you exit and re-enter. Be Cautious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My two friends and I spent one night in Cleveland on a mini-vacation to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and dine at Lola's. The trip was great EXCEPT for the time we spent at the hotel.
Strike one: We reserved a non-smoking hotel room and were told upon arrival "We know you reserved a non-smoking room, we don't have one." - no apology, no explanation, no offer to upgrade us or anything. We were on a tight schedule to make our dinner reservations so we agreed that we'd just stay at the hotel. One of my friends had a bad cold at the time and the heavy cigarette smoke smell in room exacerbated her cold to the point of where she couldn't sleep that night and spent most of the time in the room with a runny nose and red eyes. As soon as we left the room her cold symptoms immediately cleared up.
Stike two: After checking in we went to park in the garage attached to the hotel. We tried to use our hotel key to admit us into the garage but it didn't work. We didn't realize - and no one told us when we checked in - that if we planned to park at the hotel the key had to be programmed for parking. Nor did anyone ask if we planned to park at the hotel. Because of this we mistakenly took a parking ticket to get into the garage. Admittededly later we noticed a sign that said it cost $16 for overnight parking, but at the time we were parking it was late and we were rushed. After we got to our room we called the front desk to ask about the parking situation and explain how we'd taken a ticket to park instead of using our hotel key - the front desk told us "You shouldn't have paid for parking" (meaning we shouldn't have taken a ticket) and that the hotel key should have worked. At the time we took this to mean that parking was included with our stay. We were wrong, as it is $16 for overnight parking which was again not explained or mentioned when we spoke to the front desk. Very confusing.
Strike three: Upon check-out we AGAIN explained the parking situation and were treated very rudely and were told that "There is no situation, the parking is $16, we didn't know you were going to park with us." So heads-up, if you plan to park at the hotel, tell them when you check-in...they won't ask.
The hotel room itself (minus the smoke smell) was fine. Not great, just fine. The carpet was pretty dirty though (left the soles of our feet black...avoid walking around bare foot) and there was an open bag of chips in the nightstand drawer that wasn't ours.
Overall NOT worth the price. Pretty view though and good location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhioCowboy, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I can assure you we look at these daily and utilize them to change the way we do business. Service is what sets us apart from the competition and those details can make or break a stay. Parking can be confusing and we are constantly looking for ways to better the process. The human factor should be the fail proof fix but was not communicated. As a result of your feedback, we have added additional signage to the garage area in order to help. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

All staff was very friendly and very helpful. Our room was a little small, but the beds were very, very comfy and clean, and we slept well. The location was great for visiting the Rock Hall of Fame, which we did, and is close enough to walk to, if you choose. The shuttle service is a great asset to this hotel. It takes you where you want to go downtown, and picks you up when you call. It runs until 11pm, and the shuttle drivers were awesome! Restaurant, bar, and Starbucks on site was convenient. The Neutrogena soaps and shampoos were very nice. The warm chocolate chip cookies, at check-in, were so, so delicious.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, and is very clean and comfortable, but their service is terrible. The shuttle dropped us off at a restaurant outside of the city, and then when we called to get picked up they stated that they don't drive out that far and they LEFT US THERE! We had to call a cab. When we complained, they offered to comp my parking fees. Well, they ended up charging my credit card and I had to call TWICE to get the parking taken off. Overall, not worth the hassle!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhioCowboy, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Shuttle service is an amenity that we offer in the downtown area and market. While there are times we can make exceptions and travel outside the immediate downtown, most times we can not in order to service other requests. Relaying this information to you is something we can do better and making good on the offer to comp your parking. Your time is valuable and dealing with calling to correct our mistake is not time well spent. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed at the Doubletree 2 nights while visiting the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The location is great, less than 1/2 mile easy walk to Hall of Fame. The room was relatively clean with the exception of a candy wrapper we found on the floor that we didn't put there. The bed was comfortable.

The service was terrible. I called the front desk about 4-5 times before/during my stay. Twice I had to hang up before I got anyone to answer. Every other time it was a good 10-20 rings before I got a live person. The air conditioning/heating unit in the room was very loud. We booked through priceline (named our own price - $70 per night) and I felt they were rude to us once they figured that out. Maid didn't clean our room until after 6pm. There was a steak knife lying on the table near the elevator the entire time we were there.
We tried to order a pay-per-view movie our 2nd night there, it wouldn't work. We called the desk. Apparently they had checked us out of our room & wanted us to come down to the desk to sign something before they'd let us order a movie. We were in our pajamas. We skipped the movie.
Bottom line- It was a good deal for the $70 I paid through priceline. If I'd paid the $119-169 regular prices, I'd have been upset.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhioCowboy, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. There are many choices while traveling and we want to be your hotel of choice while in Cleveland. Although agents do not have access to the rates paid on Priceline, it would still not be acceptable to treat the reservation any different than if you had paid $150. Service and cleanliness is what sets us apart in todays world, amenities are most times secondary. We do run Housekeeping services throughout the day but should be finished before 6pm. It is the attention to these comments that will allow us to improve your stay the next time in Cleveland. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.