We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location. Would stay here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
WDC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good value, good location. Would stay here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Good hotel located near the Rock-and-Roll Hall of Fame. Friendly staff. Comfortable stay. No major complaints. Only minor issue was the heater was a bit loud but would still stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    313
    177
    81
    33
See reviews for
214
283
49
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I stay at Hilton and specifically Doubletree for work travelling aroud the US - Being a Cleveland native I know where to stay when I stay downtown and the Doubletree is in a great location (walking distance to most businesses and attractions downtown) The Rock Hall, Cleveland Browns Stadium and Science Museum are a with a stones throw of the fromt door and West 6th and East 4th dining and nightlife are an easy stroll about a half mile in both directions. The hotel itself seemed to be one of the newer renovated Doubletree's with the dark wood ammenties and modern appliances. I would stay here again, especially considering the moderate price, great view of t he lake, and ease of travel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

I loved staying here. It was a short train and trolley ride to the hotel from CLE airport. Loved the shuttle service provided by the hotel to the Rock n Roll hall of fame. Also, the RNR hall of fame package the hotel offered was a great value. The breakfast was pretty good, and the front desk employees were very helpful. Great view of Lake Erie!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Great customer service. All the staff very professional and very friendly. The beds are great very comfortable. The location was wonderful. Right next to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame which we did visit. A must see if your a true Rock and Roller. The stadium and Science/Omnimax theatre all right there....The room clean had everything you needed. Had 1 problem but was taken care off right away was very pleased with the outcome. We plan on staying again in couple off weeks for another trip back to Cleveland Clinic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

A great hotel that offers good value. Rooms were a bit small but furnishings seem to be recently updated. Comfortable and quiet. Close to the shores of lake Erie with a great view. Only a few minutes walk to downtown attractions/sights/stadiums. E 4th streets is a great spot for dinner and a drink.

Hotel restaraunt has very good food with extreamly large portions -- you do get what you pay for. Hotel staff were very friendly.

A Starbucks is located in the lobby.

I would stay again if I ever pass through Cleveland again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

My wife and I were planning a trip to Cleveland for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, when we came across the Double Tree. They have a "Rock and roll Package" that got you two tickets to the hall, a room, breakfast and parking in their garage for a real good price. The rooms were nice the beds were so comfortable and nice fluffy pillows, but the windows and bathroom floor could use a washing. The staff was friendly and very helpful, the breakfast buffet was so so, but the omelet bar was awesome, Kevin(omelet cook) and the lady at the podium(sorry forgot her name) were great and have great customer service skills. They also had a shuttle that would drop you off and pick you up pretty much anywhere you want. It was literally located down the street from the harbor and a short walk to the "Warehouse District" (bars and clubs) and to a shopping mall. Would defiantly recommend this to anyone travelling to Cleveland.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

it's kinda noisy in the room. There are train tracks just east of the property and the freight trains tend to blow their whistles throughout the night. In addition, in my opinion, the heating system isn't that efficient and it's noisy. I set the thermostat to 71 and it got got quite warm quickly, but then it would shut down and the room would get cold within a short period of time. I then had to increase the temperature by a degree in order for the heat to engage again.

Apparently the hotel was renovated within the past year or two, but there's definitely some noticeable wear and tear. The cleanliness of the room wasn't the greatest and there was a bit of an unpleasant odor in my colleague's room, similar to a moisture infiltration smell. I also found a couple of bugs (looked like lady bugs) flying around my room. I could have mentioned a couple of my gripes to the staff, but I was honestly too tired to deal with it.

On the bright side, the staff was very friendly and helpful, there's a complimentary shuttle to area restaurants, the bed was comfy, there's complimentary wifi, it's reasonably priced and the Hilton Honor's breakfast was tasty.

Unfortunately the noises kept waking me up. If you don't mind some of the issues I mentioned, I guess it's worth a stay, but I won't be returning.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.