We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel, friendly staff, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel, friendly staff, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We recently spent 3 nights at the Doubletree Lakeside in downtown Cleveland. We were in town mainly to see baseball games, not the closest to the ballpark, but certainly walkable. Very close to the waterfront and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Staff was most friendly, room was clean and modern, and received a very good rate. Plenty of parking available on site at $16/day with in and out privleges which is not that bad for downtown parking. The only question mark would be how desolate the immediate area is later at night, would recommend cabbing back to this hotel if out on the town late. All in all a very nice stay, would stay here again if price is right.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    346
    218
    100
    43
See reviews for
248
310
56
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indigoscarlet
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I was a little leery about my stay after reading some of the negative reviews, but I found this hotel to be a terrific value for the $56 Hotwire price. My room was excellent, with an amazingly comfortable bed and heavy curtains that really block out the light - I haven't slept this well in a while. The only issue was brief noise from a person with a piercing voice in a neighboring room, and that was over quickly.
The room was a good size and very clean - it looked like it had been recently remodeled. They were in the process of painting all of the room doors on my floor, so it's clear that they're working on keeping the place looking good. The free wireless worked well and the shampoos, lotions etc that were supplied are the best selection I've seen at a hotel. Having a Starbuck's in the lobby area was also a very nice plus. And you can't beat the location of this hotel - right by the Great Lakes Science Center, Rock and Roll Hall of Frame and Cleveland Browns Stadium.
On the negative side, the elevators are indeed a bit cranky, but they come reasonably quickly and ultimately get you to your location. There is a charge for parking in the garage -$16, but it's easy to go in and out using your room key.
Overall, I really liked this place and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

After staying at the Intercontinetal Suites in Cleveland, and visiting the rock and roll hall of fame, we checked into the hotel. From the hall of fame you could actually see the hotel so it was probably the closest hotel to the hall of fame. At the check in we were welcomed nicely given 3 warm chocolate cookies(2 travellers) The halls weren't very nice and the elevator wasn't great but it was all fine, that wasn't important to us. We opened the door and found a very modern and nice room. The Sweet Dreams beds are great, and to our surprise a 32 inch HDTV in the room. It had 80 channels but no HD channels. There were 1 or 2 chairs in the room which was nice. The room itself was good if not better then Intercontinental Suites Cleveland Clinic. When I went into the bathroom it was also modern and decently nice, but I noticed that there were hairs everywhere, so it must not have been cleaned well. That was the only bad part of the rooms. At night we took the shuttle to the Indians game which worked out well. But on our way home the shuttle took 30 minutes to come get us, which was a bit much, we called 5-10 minutes in advance and the stadium is a 5 minute ride. We got back and enjoyed a pretty good sleep with almost no noise, until we were awoken at 2 am where a party was going on across the hall. At one point my dad swore he heard someone say "You can't have 20 people in a room" The noise stopped shortly after and we slept well.
We didn't get to use any of the filicities because it was only a one night stay. We checked out and my dad asked for more cookies and they gave us a bunch!
Overall good stay here, watch for hotwire.com they usually put their hotel on it and we got it for $54 or 68 with taxes and fees.

This is from the point of view of a 16 year old, my father finds any hotel good, just wants it to be clean so we usually stay at holiday or comfort inns. Another note, we got free parking in the meters in the hotel, no need to pay $16 parking since it's a good neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

My husband and I made plans for a nice weekend in Cleveland and stayed at the Doubletree Hotel. During our three night stay we were faced with different problems. The room had an unplugged phone, a broken iron, and an ice bucket with no lid. We called the main desk and asked for a lid but we never received one. We finally asked the maid to get us one the next morning. The elevators are absolutely disgusting; especially the ones used from the parking garage. The restaurant is just a joke when it comes to service. Good luck if you want an omelet made instead of the buffet eggs. We tried to have dinner and there was no one to seat you at a table or to even wait on you. So we walked out and looked for an outside restaurant. The next day we tried to eat at the restaurant again and this time it was even worse. All we wanted was some desert and coffee. After taking 15 min to get a menu, it took another 15 min for someone to take our order. The order never came; so we walked out again. We paid for parking each day and on Saturday evening we returned from being out all day to find no parking available. The front desk was nice enough to let us park in front of the hotel where the shuttle picks up people. We had to wait in the lobby for 2 hrs until a parking space was open. Not a great place to stay at all!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Pros: The room was very nice, modern decor. The bed was so comfortable, we wanted to take it home with us. An elevator from the parking garage takes you right to the lobby and the hotel had a shuttle service to take us to an Indians game. The hotel is insanely close to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We had oringally booked a room in another hotel but had such a bad experience we left and came here. For $10 more a night it was like going from fast food to a 5-star restaurant. Well worth it. There was a pool, a decent fitness room, though I couldn't get the volume to work on the tv attached to the tredmill, in-room dining, a bar/grille in the lobby and a starbucks. 2 warm cookies (delicious) greeted us on arrival.

Cons: There was no mini-fridge or microwave. When I called to ask if we could get them, they said nothing was available til morning. I asked the rate to get either one and the guy said no charge. When I called the next day, I was told there was a $22 charge for the fridge and a $10 charge for the microwave. The elevators were buggy stopping at floors you didn't select and missing the one your room was on. Two were out of order one night of our stay. In-room dining was expensive as well as parking ($16 a night). Staff had a huge communication prolblem. My husband went to the lobby the last night of our stay to extend a night and they typed a few things and said 'all set'. The next morning he called down and it wasn't in the system, they said we were due to check out. He had to relay this info a third time as well. The phone in the room was broke creating two lines at once- it rang and beeped as I talked. I feel the fridge and microwave would've made a big difference because we liek to buy our drinks, water, and bring back take-out/leftovers from dining out. It's a rough economy and you gotta make the dollar stretch.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

It was located near the RRHOF, and within walking distance to Progressive Field, and the warehouse district.

We got a package for $99/nite, which included parking and breakfast buffet. The breakfast was great, with a chef making omelettes if you wanted them. But some of the buffet dishes weren't exactly clean so I had to search for a clean one. Also took the shuttle one night to Tremont which was nice since we didn't want to be driving. We also had a mini fridge in the room, which was unexpected.

The negatives were the elevators (very slow or out of service), front desk were not exactly friendly, and the bathroom could have been cleaner. The toilet seat was not very clean - it looked like the base and floor behind the toilet hadn't been cleaned in weeks.. We were there 3 nights, and the daily maid service consisted mainly of making the bed - no vacuuming or wiping off surfaces, or cleaning the toilet.

Overall a great value, but the cleaning staff need to be retrained.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Let's face it: Cleveland is boring so you better have a nice comfy room to stay in. The Doubletree was great - good location, friendly staff (they gave us an early check-in) and renovated rooms. I wish every hotel room I stayed in was like that.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.