We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely AMAZING trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“absolutely AMAZING trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I just returned from a three night stay at the Doubletree hotel in downtown Cleveland. Let me say, it was absolutely amazing! Me and three friends decided to go to Cleveland to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and we we couldn't believe how nice the hotel and the staff were! The lobby is beautiful and it doesn't end there. The room was spotless, everything looked almost brand new! The bathroom is a little small, but wasn't even that big of a problem with four people sharing one room. The beds were very comfortable. We were able to use the pool and jacuzzi and also were very impressed. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We didn't have any problems checking in. There is also a free shuttle that will take you around downtown, which was very nice on the colder nights when we didn't want to walk. Almost everything is within walking distance. The rock and roll hall of fame and science center aren't more than a half mile away and the walk is easy. The location is good and we felt safe at all times. There isn't a lot of restaurants around the hotel, but if you walk a few streets up you will find some! And plus, when we walked in the front desk gave us a ton of menus from places that deliver to the hotel, so that was a plus! Overall, I'd say we had an absolutely awesome time at the Doubletree and in Cleveland. I would recommend this hotel to anybody, beings it is a great hotel at a great price!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    393
    254
    108
    49
See reviews for
271
366
60
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We had a very nice stay the weekend of Feb 28-Mar 1. Room were very clean. The beds were very comfortable. We liked the shuttle that took us anywhere we wanted to go! The only bad thing that I have to say is that the breakfast at the hotel was not worth the price that we paid, and there was not enough staff to accomadate the people.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

This hotel was horrible. Everywhere you turn there was dust. I welcome the renovations that will come. The pool is much too close to make shift front desk, with guests just prancing about in bathing suits, children just running thru the lobby dripping. After a not s pleasant check in I moved on to my room which was the most pleasant part. If a could have stayed in there maybe this would have been enjoyable. The bar almost made me a beleiver but then my food was served and it was cold, when I asked to have it returned I was talked to very rudely, and just decided to cancel my order all together.

I returned to my room with thoughts that I just should have stayed at home. This was supposed to be a fun weekend with my friends....that entailed self indulgence, and fun, fun fun.........I think the name change has brought about more than what a guest may bargain for.

Never again will I was my money at the DoubleTree!!!!!

Spend your money wisely and stay elsewhere, there are real hotels in downtown cleveland.

Parking dont even upset yourself $$$$$16, they are the biggest rip off.....and the garage is not safe.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Check in was efficient and courteous. The room was adequately clean but very drafty. We had to set the heat rather high to keep warm. The public areas, particularly the elevators, were not very clean or well maintained. The elevators couldn't handle the volume of use. We always had to wait at least 5 minutes and sometimes 10 or more for an elevator to come. The front desk was understaffed on Saturday. After waiting 10 minutes to try to buy a snack, I gave up. The internet was slow.

There are no restaurants within walking distance, although there is one in the hotel. The front desk wasn't helpful with restaurant suggestions. Unless you're going to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame or the Science Center, the location isn't convenient. The hotel was not up to the usual Doubletree quality. I would not return here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
186 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

The Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside is exactly what you would expect - a upper mid-range chain hotel and the delivers Hilton type quality.

As mentioned in the title, this is a bit off of downtown - not quite walkable to the main restaurant area and nightlife and shopping.

There is a restaurant and Starbucks in the hotel. We did not eat there but instead ate downtown at Cleveland Chophouse and Brewerey which is a great choice and fairly reasonably priced.

The rooms were nice - small bathroom but comfortable bed. Clean.

Overall, a decent choice if you are looking for some value and don't need to be in the heart of the downtown Cleveland city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.