We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Montgomery, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

From the moment we checked in, the staff at this Doubletree were extremely helpful. Having never stayed in Cleveland before, they helped us with directions and suggestions. The hotel room was nice. You can tell it's an older building but they have recently updated. It was clean and comfortable and a great location. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    399
    256
    110
    49
See reviews for
277
370
60
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel was under renovation. The room I stayed in was tired. Also, the elevators were horrible and stopped on every floor. Misspelled signs were hung giving an explanation about the elevators. I was attending a wedding and another guest told me there was no parking charge. When I asked about this at the front desk the staff asked me the name of the guest who was saying this! I will never stay here again- even after renovation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, OH, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Thank you for such a great place to stay for the night before and day of the Cleveland Triathlon. It was so convienent and close to everything we needed. The attached garage was also a plus. Food was great the night before as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel is outdated, elevator wait was ridiculously long (up to 10 minutes) at all times of day, desk staff was polite but untrained. I am a corporate traveler who is a rewards member and travels often, I was put in a horrible handicap suite that was outdated with an unusually loud AC unit that ran most of the night on and off.
No extra blankets, sheets didn't fit well, bed skirt was in poor condition and plugs didn't work in lamp at bedside. You will be required to pay 18.00 to park your own car; a rate that covers valet in other places. The closet good Resturant is 1/2 mile away and the lake views were disappointing.
Typically Doubletree is very nice, this hotel needs updates on multiple levels to impress.
There's a lot more to do and see on other streets in downtown with nicer hotels at a similar rate.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you plan to eat more than wings or shop at a dead galleria
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have stayed here on multiple trips to Cleveland and have some basic considerations to share:
1. the rooms are all double queen beds. Not much else. The beds are comfy but the rooms are not large, if you plan to entertain in your room, be prepared.
2. the onsite bar and restaurant are adequate. Don't expect 5 star dining. The Starbucks in the lobby is a nice alternative for something fast and simple.
3. The location is great, but you are a few blocks and a 10-15 walk to downtown and the Warehouse district. Wear the right shoes (am I right, ladies?).
4. Parking is next to the hotel in an open air parkade that is accessible by a slow elevator from the lobby. Allow for some time to get in and out with the car.
5. The pool and "gym" are small but functional. Remember this hotel is popular with families, so it will be busy. The gym is very basic, but has treadmills and basic weights to work out.
6. This property is being renovated, so be prepared. The elevators are slow -- even the staff have to wait long times to use them. If the staff is cranky, it's probably because their day is suffering too. A smile goes a long way around this property.
7. The rooms are comfortable, but this is not 5 Star Doubletree quality that I usually find in my travels. If you ask the front desk to move you to another room in better condition, they will understand and try to accomodate you.

While not my first choice in Cleveland for hotels, I would stay here again. This is one of those reliable places in the midwest -- you know exactly what you are getting when you check in. Happy travels.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room on the east side of the hotel on a higher floor, you can get a decent lake vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Elevator wait is 10 plus minutes during large parts of the day. Breakfast buffet is expensive ($15) but really good, with an omelet bar and pancakes by request. The serving staff seems untrained an inexperienced however, both morning and evening. Tried to get drinks and desserts in the restaurant around 8PM and two servers with 6 total tables were unable to even take our order in over 20 minutes of waiting but repeatedly stopped by to tell us they were too busy and would be right over, and then never came back. The bar is awesome though, bartenders are friendly and personable, quick service, well made drinks. Just go to the bar to get food.

Room Tip: lower floors where stairs are an option can save significant elevator wait times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Your feedback has been shared with our culinary team so improvements can be made where we've fallen short. We are pleased to read that the breakfast staff prepared cook to order omelets and other breakfast selections that were appetizing and to your liking. On your behalf, we have given many KUDOS to the staff of our bar and told them how much you appreciated the service they provide. We thank you for taking the time to share the good as well as the bad and for spending two weeks with us. Your feedback will definitely assist us with make improvements to me our guests satisfaction.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable. We were told there was a comp breakfast but they neglected to say it is tucked away in an upstairs (18th floor) conference room. We went to the dining area in the lobby and were charged $32.00 for two very light and very dry small plates of scrambled eggs. They refused to give that to us after we explained we were misled. Very disappointed in the lack of customer service!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. Our goal is to provide the best service and accommodations possible and we regret falling short when it came to properly communicating the location of the complimentary breakfast. We truly hope that you will consider being a guest with us in the future. We would really like for you to get the full experience of all amenities offered. Our Executive Lounge is a spacious lounge that not only provides a full breakfast but it is where we host our evening reception. We invite our Hilton Honor members (Diamond & Gold) and those who book accommodations on our Executive Level to enjoy fantastic views of Lake Erie while dining, having a beverage of choice, watching CNN or other programs on one of two large flat screens or even utilizing the complimentary WiFi to surf the net. So if you get the opportunity please visit with us again.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.