We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for two days of our vacation in order to be close to the Rock Hall and other downtown sites. We chose this place to avoid renting a car for a couple days since you have to pay for parking everywhere downtown. They also provided a shuttle service that we took advantage of several times. From the moment we walked in from our cab ride from the airport mr. Campbell, Ronnie, I think was his first name...he was so helpful and asked about our needs and made our tired family feel welcome and at ease. He would check in with us when we walked through the lobby each day to see how our trip was going. I can't say enough about him. If you stay here spend the extra to have the executive club access. Seriously especially if you have kids. This entitles you to free breakfast and managers reception at night. Go get a free beer or glass of wine and munchies. You could almost skip dinner with what they serve. The women that work serving the food are so attentive and nice. Take a bottle of water, soda, or cookie back to your room for later. The rooms in this hotel are not large. But I would choose this hotel again for sure. One thing to avoid: the restaurant downstairs. We went there for lunch and dinner one day because things in Cleveland close early. The restaurant was awful. The service terrible and the food not so great. If you absolutely must go here the grilled chicken is very good. Overall I'm very happy with our stay here. It may seem overpriced at first but if you get the executive level room the food upstairs makes it worth it. The free shuttle service also makes it worth it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    360
    232
    103
    45
See reviews for
252
330
57
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few times and had no problems. Great location, decent, clean rooms, nice Executive Lounge and attentive staff. Today, I was given what I'm fairly certain used to be a broom closet. It's small, cramped and I can hear the conversations of people in the next room as if I were in the room with them. There is no closet .. wait, I take that back. They put in some giant monstrosity of a piece of furniture that is supposed to be the closet, but takes up a ton of space and makes the room that much smaller. I literally bump into pieces of furniture as I move around because the room is that small. The elevators take forever so today I decided to take the stairs down. I'm 6'2" tall and had no problems until I was between floors 2 and the lobby, when all of a sudden my head slammed into the concrete ceiling. It's definitely lower than all the other floors and let's just say it hurt a lot and the goose egg is pretty apparent. At least their ice machine works. Not sure if I'll be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel very clean, staff extremely helpful, great location within walking distance to attractions (ball fields and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame). The only problem we had was getting out of the parking garage; we were supposed to be able to use our room key and it was not opening the gate... the person behind us ended up using his parking pass to let us out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Picked this hotel because it was near Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other downtown attractions and choice was good. Went with the family on a two night vacation stop. Besides an easy walk to the Hall the free van service was great taking us anywhere downtown. The package they had for the Hall of Fame was a reasonable value.

Everyone was very nice. The only negative were the elevators. They were under repair so wait times were long. Hopefully this will be resolved quickly.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel has four elevators and only one was working. Very crowded on the fourth of July. I had small children with me and we had to take the stairs from the lobby to the eighth floor on numerous occasions. Small room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and overall we had a good stay. It is conveniently located close to the lake and downtown.
There was a restaurant and a Starbucks in the hotel and free shuttle bus service was available.
The room was decent size and clean. We had 2 queen size beds and the were pretty comfortable.
The one negative thing was that there really wasn't much counter space in the bathroom sink but not a big deal.
We had heard about the elevators being slow so we requested a lower floor room and was given one on the 4th floor. For the most part we were lucky and didn't have to wait much for an elevator except on the Sunday morning when people were checking out and the elevators arrived on our floor full.
The pool was nice enough although on occasion over run with young kids. i had 2 of my own so no problem.
Overall it was a good stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

i will alway come here and stay when i come to cleveland. everybody is so nice and friendy and they remember me by name.i alway feel like im home that means alot. thank you for being there for me while my husband was sick.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.