We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and staff -- not reliable dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location and staff -- not reliable dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Quiet, clean rooms that are up to DoubleTree standards. Pool and hot tub area clean and well stocked. Staff is super-nice, shuttle was handy to all major sights. Problem: restaurant does not open when hotel under-booked but will serve menu in the bar (not most comfortable dining experience). We ended up paying for room service since I was traveling with a child.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Our goal is to provide the best service and accommodations possible and to ensure guest satisfaction and we are very pleased to see that our goal was achieved. We thank you for taking the time to review your stay. There are times based on business levels (very slow or busy days) that we may adjust hours of operations (cut or extend hours) in some of our food and beverage outlets but by all means we definitely want to make our guest as comfortable as possible when dining. Therefore, your comments have been shared with our Food and Beverage Management team to make sure we are taking under consideration the needs of our guest under these circumstances (lower hotel occupancy) when the restaurant may be closed. We can and should always be willing to make adjustments, for we do take pride in being a family friendly hotel. Again, we thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to rethink how we can better service our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    401
    258
    111
    49
See reviews for
280
373
60
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an older property which shows in some areas but overall a very comfortable stay. I agree with mysterie 91 in that parking is a bit expensive and the stairs are definitely faster that the garage in the elevator. The front staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you downtown or it is about a 20 minute walk. We were there to see some baseball games and the shuttle worked well. It is also walking distance to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are pleased to here that our complimentary shuttle service and the hotels location made getting to the ballpark and other city attractions convenient and easy. All and all, it seems that we met your expectations and that your stay was enjoyable. Knowing that your visit was special puts a smile on our faces.
Thank you so very much for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You have a nice view from the concierge lounge overlooking the lake, and you could walk down to the lakeside if you desired - just not what I imagined .... sort of out there by itself, older building, restaurant was marginal at best - had the mac n cheese with lobster - it was the fake lobster and so very salty - couldn't eat it. Other choice would have been the pub/bar. Room looked and felt very dated, however, the room was very quiet and all in all a good night's sleep. The fact that they charge $18 for self parking is outrageous - scary parking lot!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. It sounds as if we halfway met your expectations which is disappointing to us seeing that our goal is to fully meet or exceed your expectations. However, all feedback is valuable to us. Your dining experience has been shared with our Chef so that he and his culinary team can make the necessary adjustments to improve or tweak menu items offered such as the Mac N Cheese Lobster dish you had selected. Although we are not located in the city center, our location is just a few minutes walk to many of the area attractions such as the Browns Stadium, The Great Lakes Science Center and the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame. Keeping in mind that for those who choose not to walk we offer 16hrs of complimentary shuttle service daily that provides transportation to other city attractions such as Progressive Field, Casino, Playhouse Sq Theater District, Warehouse District, 4th St and any other locations that fall within a 1 mile radius of the hotel. Also keep in mind that just like the view of the lake from our Executive Lounge, most to all room on the east side of the building from the 8th floor up (10 floors) will give you that lake view as well and from the 8th floor up on the west side of the building you get a great view of the city including the Rock Hall. We continue to make improvements to the property and accommodations to better enhance the guest experience and I'm hoping by providing a little additional information we will again in the future have you back as a guest.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visit Cleveland OH often and chose to stay downtown on this trip due to location. After searching many hotels we chose the Double Tree even though it had a few bad reviews.
The upside: The location was awesome! Easy in, easy out, safe neighborhood. It is an easy walk to Rock N Roll or to Burke Lake airport or Codfish Submarine Museum or the pier. They had a great Starbucks in the lobby. The room view was phenomenal. Staff seemed attentive and polite.
The downside: The elevators were SLOW. We had to wait almost 10 min a few times to catch an elevator. There were 4 elevators but I doubt they were all operational. We saw a condom (still in the package) in the elevator for the parking deck. The rooms, hotel and elevators needed updating. You could tell the hotel had some age. I asked for non-feather pillows since we are highly allergic to feathers and they only had 1. We had to purchase a pillow locally.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. I would also recommend if anyone is looking for a good view of the city or the lake, simply request a higher floor at least from the 8th floor up gives you as stated a phenomenal view. Our location is idea for those who plan to visit the Rock Hall, Browns Stadium, Lake Erie Pier or the Great Lakes Science Center, they are in walking distance for those who enjoy venturing out and about on foot. For those who are not up for walking, keep in mind that we do offer complimentary shuttle service which provides transportation to all downtown attractions within a 1 mile radius of the hotel. So from that prospective all was well. However, we do apologize for any inconveniences experienced by the slow elevator. I am pleased to say that slow elevators will soon be a thing of the past as we are undergoing a modernization for our elevators that will GREATLY improve the functionally and efficiency of all elevators. In addition to the elevators, there are a few other improvement projects that we know will definitely enhance the guest experience. We are excited to have you come back and see.
Thank you for taking the time to give us you valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located in downtown with a shuttle that will take you anywhere in the downtown are you want to go. Not the best as far as in-house restaurant and bar but the bartenders are very friendly. Don't be surprised to see kids in the bar area which in a bit of a drawback.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The staff was exceptional nice and involved in getting our large group checked in. The staff around the hotel was very friendly and cordial as well. The gentlemen working our Sunday morning buffet that I purchased went over and above to be nice and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The person in charge of the cleaning staff was rude to 3 of the staff. I over heard the charge person directing the staff member what to do in a tone of voice and choice of words that was less than respectful. (over the walkie talkie system) I commented to the staff that such behavior would not motivate me. I was told this is business as usual and they are always treated in this manner. One of the receptionist at the front desk was very customer service focused. I found her to be very pleasant and willing to assist. The person other was not. The elevators were in need of cleaning. The floors were very dirty.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland Downtown-Lakeside. Your feedback is truly two fold. On one hand I'm disappointed that you had to be a witness to such behavior and I apologize for that, but on the other hand I'm glad you did witness and overhear the conversation and was able to say a few kind words to the staff member that was being spoken to poorly over the walkie.
I would like to reassure you that your comments have been share with the appropriate team members of our housekeeping department(housekeeping management & supervisors). Trust me, It's all about RESPECT and being RESPECTFUL and no one (guest or staff) should be disrespected under any circumstances.
Thank you again for your feedback which is much appreciated and will definitely assist us with making the necessary attitude adjustments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.