We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoubleTree Lakeside slipping a bit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“DoubleTree Lakeside slipping a bit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have stayed at this location several times over the past 4 years, while visiting my son who attends CSU. The beds are wonderfully plush and the decor is modern and attractive, well designed. Service is generally excellent and friendly. My only complaint is that I've noticed a decline in maintenance over the past few years. This most recent stay in particular, the towels smelled moldy, and the artwork in the bathroom had major water damage. Gave a poor impression… Another comment: there is a flashing smoke alarm (I think?) near the ceiling in every room, which is VERY bright and distracting when trying to go to sleep. Perhaps would have been better positioned in the entry area…. Also, even though I requested an upgrade (at my expense) for a lake view room and for the executive floor, the room I got had a bit of the lake in view, but mostly of the very large and very brightly flashing Channel 3 logo tower. I don't think it was an executive room, either, since it was smaller than previous visits, which disappointed me since we had 3 adults staying in the room this visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    401
    258
    111
    49
See reviews for
280
373
60
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This location is terrible if you have any inclination to leave the hotel after dark to walk to a restaurant or a sports bar. The public areas are not clean. I stay at Doubletree around the country and this is a glaring exception to the experience that I have come to expect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeI228, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear dkinsel, we want to take this opportunity to sincerly apologize for the issues you encountered during your most recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry that you were not happy with our location as it relates to the areas that you wanted to visit. We do have a shuttle service that is available to all of our guests so that we may safely transport them to where they want to go. We have spoken to our housekeeping department regarding your concerns with our public areas. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future so you can experience everything that Hilton Hotels has to offer. Again, thanks for your feedback, we truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for business recently, had a quick and easy check-in. Property was very clean and well kept. Shuttles were more than willing to run us around downtown to the local attractions. It's a pretty decent walk to the baseball and basketball stadiums as well as the casino but they are within walking distance. Parking garage attached to the property was a nice feature. Rooms were very clean and up to the usual Hilton standards. Also appeared to be very family friendly, I would not hesitate to bring the family back here. Only knock was that the four elevators could make for a lengthy wait at rush hour in the morning and evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Friday night arriving we were tired and ate at the bar in the hotel...the staff and food were great and timely. The Doubletree was convenient to the Rock&Roll Hall which was where we were going to visit. We were able to walk there and leave our car parked. The staff helped direct us to our restaurant for a special dinner on Saturday night which we were able to walk to also and along the way we were able to see the holiday light display downtown. Totally great surprise!! Back at the hotel we were given cookies for the night and then again when we checked out. The room was clean and spotless. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the downtown area of Cleveland. Cleveland Doubletree ROCKS!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were travelling back home and stayed the night in the Doubletree. We really enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it to others. The staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. They didn't seem to be busy while we were there and they upgraded our room. We had a great view of downtown. Our bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub and a stand up shower. We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel and both of us enjoyed our meals. The hotel is conveniently located near the heart of downtown. They provided a shuttle to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The only reason I do not give a five star review is because the hotel could be cleaned a little better. The elevators were in dire need of vacuuming. The shower had mildew on some of the tiles. For a hotel as nice as this, the staff needs to pay greater attention to detail in cleaning. Other than that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

After leaving the Tudor arms Hilton and moving to the downtown Hilton location, we couldn't have been happier about our decision. From the first moment we were greeted by Lauren and Lynette at the front desk, we knew we had a winner - They are superstars. We were there for the weekend for my birthday and their enthusiasm was infectious - they even gave me a birthday card! The room was very clean, the bedding of high quality and the beds and pillows very comfortable. Pass on the Tudor Arms and make your way downtown, you'll be glad you did. The rooms are a bit smaller, but soooo much cleaner and the service, even the shuttle service, makes up for that. Besides, there is a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

From the minute we arrived we had a very good experience at the Doubletree. We came to see the Browns play and stayed on the Sat & Sun nights. The young woman on the desk was awesome, I'm sorry I didn't catch her name but she was on the desk all weekend and on Monday morning, lovely person. She was friendly, fast and really helpful. The shuttle driver Streeter, he was awesome. The shuttle service was busy on the Saturday night, but for free it was worth the wait. The hotel was clean and located very close to the stadium. We had our share of cookies too! We will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.