We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battle of Ohio Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
“Battle of Ohio Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for the Battle of Ohio football game and had a great time. The food and drinks were a little pricey but that is to be expected in a hotel. We did like the breakfast buffet. Good shuttle service with friendly drivers. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    337
    200
    95
    40
See reviews for
241
299
52
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin. Texad, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Glad to be able to Park at the Hotel before Checking in at 3 pm. Got a Great Night's Sleep and enjoyed some relaxing time in the evening and morning after spending 4 days on the road to Erie, PA and other areas around Lake eErie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great location for visiting the downtown Cleveland area. Within walking distance to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame but if you're not a fan of walking, the complimentary shuttle service was fantastic! The front desk service, cleaning staff and shuttle staff were excellent, male bartender in the hotel bar not so much. Warm cookies at check in, free parking outside on weekends. Would definitely stay here again, highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

if you are looking for excellent staff this is the place to stay. I've never been to a hotel where all the staff treats you as family. However, this place needs help in 2 areas: 1.) the elevators -- sometimes the wait is 7-10 minutes. Management knows it, but nothing gets done. 2.) the breakfast buffet. Made to order eggs or omelets are a draw but sometimes you have to wait for the cook to show up; the meats are generally 'cold' and potatoes not cooked well at all. The fruit is boring. Green bananas, seldom any berries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My family and I came here for a game. We used Hotwire and scored these rooms. The location is perfect to walk to a game. It's also a great location to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. There is a Starbucks in the lobby (it closes early, heads up) and a bar/restaurant.

The rooms vary in size quite a bit. I got a room with a sofa on the 18th floor. Next door my Dad's room was much smaller. There are refrigerators and coffee makers in all rooms. There is very limited counter space in the bathroom.

Really appreciate that there is no additional Internet fee - thanks! The woman at the front desk was just plain unhelpful when I asked for information on nearby restaurants. She bordered rude. They don't have a one sheet of restaurants but huge book about restaurants and no map.

It is clean and it is comfortable. They're still giving out the cookies! All in all I can recommend this hotel. I will say I enjoyed the Crown Plaza downtown in Cleveland more. It is just overall nicer. But this is still nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with a sofa - why not try?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeI228, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
MCO Traveller, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at our hotel. Even though most of your comments were very positive we want to apologize for the lack of service provided by our front desk. There is no reason that the information you requested was not delivered and rest assured we have shared your comments with out front office staff., Again, thank you for the feedback, we truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I booked an executive room...which was actually a standard room on the 16th floor, with a view of the cubicles in the office building across from me, but was given access to the executive lounge. This is unacceptable, even if I was not a Gold Member. No automatic upgrade was offered, nor was one made available upon request. There was no space at all in the bathroom for personal items, or to even put the bath mat down in front of the bathtub.The air conditioning unit kicked on and off very loudly through the night which made a restful sleep impossible after a day of stressful medical procedures. I received an "extra cookie" as my Gold Level Perk. I was there to go to the Cleveland Clinic for personal health issues and booked this hotel, knowing that HHonors members are generally treated well. Not here. I will have to make several trips to Cleveland for my medical issues over the coming weeks for surgery and treatment, and family members will also be coming who will need rooms. We will be staying at a different Hilton property. You do not get what you pay for and you are not recognized for your brand loyalty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeI228, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear HHGold Member, we wanted to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the disappointments encountered during your most recent stay. There is no excuse for the lack of service you received at our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback and rest assured it has been shared to the appropriate team members. We do hope that you will give us another chance so we can show you the excellent service you are accustomed to from Hilton Hotels. Please feel free to call me personally and I will assist you with your future reservations. Again, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Easy to find, parking our front to check in. Self park with hotel key for access so very secure. we had suite on 18th floor where the Executive lounge is. Suite was roomy and very clean. Did not have a view of lake, would ask for that next time. We walked to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice, about 15 minute walk.
Lounge was great, snacks and wine/beer in the evening during the week with a great view of lake and small airport. Breakfast in AM was great not your normal hotel "hot" breakfast. Had real pancakes, bacon, sausage, eggs, fruit, cookies :-)
All employees were very helpful and friendly.
We did have lunch in the bar and it was a bit pricey (25 for 1 burger and a quesidilla); ordinary.

Room Tip: 18th floor for access to Executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.