We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Cleveland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great hotel in Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Went to Cleveland for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and a baseball match at Progressive Field. Both places really close to the hotel. The check in was really fast, the cookies were great and the extra request I ordered online were already on the room.
The staff was always there to help and explain. There was supposed to be a shuttle for the downtown area, but we never had the opportunity to use it because it took to long to return to the hotel, but the staff were there and call us cabs for our trips.
The only complain about the hotel was the pool, it felt more like I was swimming on chlorine than in water, but at least we were sure the water was extra clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    312
    175
    80
    33
See reviews for
213
279
49
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piqua, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

different room than they promised on phone, 10:00 at night I was changing room, no bellboy or carts to bring in luggage. key card would not work to get out of garage, elevators were all broken, key card in room would not work, had to wait in lobby for cart to leave. It was a nightmare...one aggravation after another. Can't believe you call it a Hilton. Price says so but hotel was horrible. Again..employees were great, did all they could..Short staffed. Too many problems. Oh and no internet that was promised as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeI228, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Margaret M, we wanted to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the service issues you had with our hotel. Let me assure you that your feedback has been shared with the apporpriate staff members. Our service provided to our guests is our number one priority and again I apologize for your inconvenience. I have also shared your positive feedback regarding our staff and we thank you for that. We all hope that the rest of your week is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel had 4 wedding parties staying there that weekend, so they were very busy. But the front desk staff was never too busy to assist all of their guests. The restaurant staff seemed to be a bit overwhelmed at breakfast and was quite cross with the patrons. perhaps she was just inexperienced. Clean and great amenities!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Average hotel. Very slow check in (15 minutes with 2 people working). Not much in the area for places to eat. Close to the Rock & Roll HOF. I would stay if I had a meeting there (I did) but would look somewhere closer to the casino for places to eat. Very nice bed! Small bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, part business, part vacation. The location - on the lake, close to convention center and R&R Hall of Fame - was great. We found service generally good. The room was clean, comfortable. The indoor pool was great, although the chlorine level was unnecessarily high.

The restaurant was nothing special, but one does not expect much from hotel eateries. The in-and-out privileges in the parking garage were handy. They offer a shuttle service to the medical centers, which is a plus if you are in Cleveland for medical reasons.

The decor is dated, but the place is well maintained so it does not look shabby. All in all, we had a good stay here and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in "01" have a partial view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Doubletree Guest Suites Cleveland for 2 nights in early September 2013. Self-parking (with in/out privileges) is available for $16 per day, and entitles you to keep your car parked in the garage until 6:00 pm on the day of your departure. The parking garage is several floors high, with stairs and elevator access on every floor. The elevator from the garage leads right into the hotel lobby, although it is not the same elevator that guests use to access their rooms. The parking garage has two spaces prior to entering through the gate/arm where you can unload your car. If those spaces are occupied, just take a ticket, enter the garage, and park your car. The front desk will destroy the paper ticket and provide you with your room key, which you will then use to enter and exit the garage. Upon check-out, there's a box to return your key right next to the access box. The elevators at this hotel work extremely slowly.

Although there are four elevators in the bank, do not expect to get anywhere quickly. The indoor swimming pool was closed for renovations during our stay, a fact that was noted on their website when we made our reservation. We also received a personal email from the hotel manager to make sure that we were aware that the pool would be unavailable while we were at the hotel, although the initial dates quoted seemed to stretch a few extra days. We were unable to see into the pool area; however, the back of the pool area seems to open onto a courtyard shared by the event rooms, so it is possible to get some fresh air before/after your swim (there were not chairs in the courtyard, though).

The hotel restaurant/bar is called the Stadium 3 Bar & Grille. The restaurant area is fairly small, and this is the location of the breakfast, if one is provided with your room rate (not all rates include breakfast). The breakfast was acceptable, although not any fancier than what is provided at a Hampton Inn (we had expected something slightly more extensive because this category of hotel is a bit better). The hostess had great difficulty managing patrons waiting to be seated. The dining room area is totally separate from the bar area. The bar seems to close early - before 10:00 pm on the weekend that we visited.

We had room 1217, which was a standard room towards the middle of the floor and that overlooked the city (but not the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame). Our room was a decent size, with a king bed abutted by two nightstands, a sofabed, and a glass-topped coffee table. Our room also held a desk and chair, and a bureau on which the flat-screen TV sat. We had an empty mini-refrigerator and a coffee maker, as well as an iron and ironing board. Our air-conditioning worked well; however, it dripped condensation on the carpet, making the floor a wet mess. The bathroom was a bit compact, with a single sink/vanity that did not offer much counter space. Toiletries by Crabtree & Evelyn (Citron) were provided (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion). There were two trash cans in our room that had separations for paper and plastic/glass recyclables.

The hotel has an executive lounge; however, it is only open Monday through Thursday, so we were unable to see it or partake of its breakfast or evening happy hour. It did not sound as if one could even access the lounge area on the weekend, even if you are just looking for a quiet place to relax (without any food or beverage).

The hotel is within walking distance of Cleveland Browns Stadium and the science center, and is the closest hotel to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. The hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to the downtown area, but not to the museum/hospital areas. The hotel is an easy walk to the true downtown area (such as East Fourth Street), but is located on a more quiet side street away from the real action.

We were happy with our stay at the Doubletree Cleveland. As Hilton loyalty members, we looked at the other two options in the downtown area, but feel that we picked the best choice for us. The Hampton Inn has a great location, too - perhaps as good as the Doubletree, depending on what your sightseeing plans are, but we think that the Doubletree was just a bit more luxurious.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Room we stayed in was were clean. The bed and quit comfortable with ample pillows. The sheets, covers, and pillows were clean. The Front desk and other service workers went out of there way to make us feel welcomed and were very helpful. The restaurant service was very courteous and the wait was minimal. Thank you for a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#13 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.