We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Convenient and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, part business, part vacation. The location - on the lake, close to convention center and R&R Hall of Fame - was great. We found service generally good. The room was clean, comfortable. The indoor pool was great, although the chlorine level was unnecessarily high.

The restaurant was nothing special, but one does not expect much from hotel eateries. The in-and-out privileges in the parking garage were handy. They offer a shuttle service to the medical centers, which is a plus if you are in Cleveland for medical reasons.

The decor is dated, but the place is well maintained so it does not look shabby. All in all, we had a good stay here and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in "01" have a partial view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    368
    237
    103
    45
See reviews for
252
338
59
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
440 helpful votes 440 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Doubletree Guest Suites Cleveland for 2 nights in early September 2013. Self-parking (with in/out privileges) is available for $16 per day, and entitles you to keep your car parked in the garage until 6:00 pm on the day of your departure. The parking garage is several floors high, with stairs and elevator access on every floor. The elevator from the garage leads right into the hotel lobby, although it is not the same elevator that guests use to access their rooms. The parking garage has two spaces prior to entering through the gate/arm where you can unload your car. If those spaces are occupied, just take a ticket, enter the garage, and park your car. The front desk will destroy the paper ticket and provide you with your room key, which you will then use to enter and exit the garage. Upon check-out, there's a box to return your key right next to the access box. The elevators at this hotel work extremely slowly.

Although there are four elevators in the bank, do not expect to get anywhere quickly. The indoor swimming pool was closed for renovations during our stay, a fact that was noted on their website when we made our reservation. We also received a personal email from the hotel manager to make sure that we were aware that the pool would be unavailable while we were at the hotel, although the initial dates quoted seemed to stretch a few extra days. We were unable to see into the pool area; however, the back of the pool area seems to open onto a courtyard shared by the event rooms, so it is possible to get some fresh air before/after your swim (there were not chairs in the courtyard, though).

The hotel restaurant/bar is called the Stadium 3 Bar & Grille. The restaurant area is fairly small, and this is the location of the breakfast, if one is provided with your room rate (not all rates include breakfast). The breakfast was acceptable, although not any fancier than what is provided at a Hampton Inn (we had expected something slightly more extensive because this category of hotel is a bit better). The hostess had great difficulty managing patrons waiting to be seated. The dining room area is totally separate from the bar area. The bar seems to close early - before 10:00 pm on the weekend that we visited.

We had room 1217, which was a standard room towards the middle of the floor and that overlooked the city (but not the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame). Our room was a decent size, with a king bed abutted by two nightstands, a sofabed, and a glass-topped coffee table. Our room also held a desk and chair, and a bureau on which the flat-screen TV sat. We had an empty mini-refrigerator and a coffee maker, as well as an iron and ironing board. Our air-conditioning worked well; however, it dripped condensation on the carpet, making the floor a wet mess. The bathroom was a bit compact, with a single sink/vanity that did not offer much counter space. Toiletries by Crabtree & Evelyn (Citron) were provided (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion). There were two trash cans in our room that had separations for paper and plastic/glass recyclables.

The hotel has an executive lounge; however, it is only open Monday through Thursday, so we were unable to see it or partake of its breakfast or evening happy hour. It did not sound as if one could even access the lounge area on the weekend, even if you are just looking for a quiet place to relax (without any food or beverage).

The hotel is within walking distance of Cleveland Browns Stadium and the science center, and is the closest hotel to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. The hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to the downtown area, but not to the museum/hospital areas. The hotel is an easy walk to the true downtown area (such as East Fourth Street), but is located on a more quiet side street away from the real action.

We were happy with our stay at the Doubletree Cleveland. As Hilton loyalty members, we looked at the other two options in the downtown area, but feel that we picked the best choice for us. The Hampton Inn has a great location, too - perhaps as good as the Doubletree, depending on what your sightseeing plans are, but we think that the Doubletree was just a bit more luxurious.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Room we stayed in was were clean. The bed and quit comfortable with ample pillows. The sheets, covers, and pillows were clean. The Front desk and other service workers went out of there way to make us feel welcomed and were very helpful. The restaurant service was very courteous and the wait was minimal. Thank you for a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Recently visited Cleveland for the first time for a business conference. Doubletree Cleveland Lakeside was one of a handful of partner hotels that was suggested by the conference. The location couldn't have been better - right by the lake, within walking distance to the conference center and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Also, just a few blocks from the Horseshoe Casino and House of Blues. The cost was also very reasonable, but the service I had there was spotty. My reservation details were a bit mixed up when I checked in and then the internet service was down two of the three days I was there, making it difficult to do work remotely. When I inquired about the internet it seemed that no one really knew what was wrong or when it would be fixed, as the answer was simply, "we're really sorry about that." The gym and business center are handy, though and the second half of the trip, I found the staff service to be much better.

Wanted to rate this property average, but had to give it a very good because the bed was hands-down the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Amazing. Didn't want to get up and felt completely rested when I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel is in downtown Cleveland. Very nice large room and clean!!! Close to Rock n Roll Hall of fame and many great restaurants. Visitors Center is across the street and they are very helpful in telling you where things are. Delicious free breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms are fine, beds are fine, the service is what's lacking here. We stayed here 5 days last month, and everything was very good, EXCEPT the housekeeping staff sprayed(or spilled) so much fragrance in our room, we had to switch rooms at 10:00pm one night. The hotel did nothing additional for us to make up for this inconvenience. I also left my phone charger behind. This visit, I made the reservation on the phone, reserved the Executive king room, which includes breakfast, and evening reception. On the weekends, the lounge is closed, so I asked the reservation clerk if breakfast was still included, she said yes. Before our arrival, The hotel sent an email asking if I wanted to order anything for the room in advance. I ordered two extra pillows(no charge). I received a confirmation. When I checked in, I asked if there was a charging cord left behind, the person said she would check, and call me. I never heard another thing about it. I asked about where the breakfast would be, I was told breakfast was NOT provided for Executive Rooms on the weekends. I explained that the reservation clerk confirmed it WAS included, she said it's not! I would not have stayed there if I had known this. When we got to our room, there were no extra pillows. So all along the way. it is a lack of service that we encountered. Disappointing. This could be a GREAT hotel if not for the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had a bad feeling the minute we walked into the lobby. Three people were standing behind the check-in counter, but only one was working. None of them seemed to care that there were several of us waiting to check in.

We booked through hotels.com and thank god we did. When we arrived the Doubletree did not have our reservation. Even though I stood the WITH MY CONFIRMATION NUMBER, the front desk staff did almost nothing to help other than dismiss us and tell us to call hotels.com. After spending over an hour on the phone right across from the front desk staff hotels.com finally faxed them the paperwork instructing them to give us a room. But of course they were sold out, so they "upgraded" us to a larger room. This was really a meeting room with a murphy bed.

The room:
Looked like it was never vacuumed. The bed was uncomfortable. The never even cleaned it on your 3rd day. Even though we called twice. Best we could do was get them to deliver some fresh towels for our showers in the morning. Really!?! And as you might expect never an apology.

The bar:
The closed when the wanted to. One night at 12, one night at 10 and another at 11. Bad attitudes.

The management:
Certainly does not care. The whole place felt dirty. Signs fell off walls. Some of the staff there (like in the Starbucks) were friendly, but most acted like they could care less if you stayed there or not.

Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeI228, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Arndawg, we wanted to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the lack of service you experienced during your most recent stay at our hotel. There are no excuses for the lack of attention you received and more importantly your issues not being resolved in a timely manner. This is in no way the services that our guests have come to expect from our hotel, but unfortunately in your case, we dropped the ball. Rest assured that your feedback has been communicated to our staff in order to make the necessary changes in the way we deliver our service. Again, we apologize for your poor stay and do look forward to you giving us another chance in or order to prove that Hilton definitely stands for outstanding service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.