We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Large Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Large Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel is in downtown Cleveland. Very nice large room and clean!!! Close to Rock n Roll Hall of fame and many great restaurants. Visitors Center is across the street and they are very helpful in telling you where things are. Delicious free breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    336
    200
    93
    40
See reviews for
240
299
52
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henrietta, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms are fine, beds are fine, the service is what's lacking here. We stayed here 5 days last month, and everything was very good, EXCEPT the housekeeping staff sprayed(or spilled) so much fragrance in our room, we had to switch rooms at 10:00pm one night. The hotel did nothing additional for us to make up for this inconvenience. I also left my phone charger behind. This visit, I made the reservation on the phone, reserved the Executive king room, which includes breakfast, and evening reception. On the weekends, the lounge is closed, so I asked the reservation clerk if breakfast was still included, she said yes. Before our arrival, The hotel sent an email asking if I wanted to order anything for the room in advance. I ordered two extra pillows(no charge). I received a confirmation. When I checked in, I asked if there was a charging cord left behind, the person said she would check, and call me. I never heard another thing about it. I asked about where the breakfast would be, I was told breakfast was NOT provided for Executive Rooms on the weekends. I explained that the reservation clerk confirmed it WAS included, she said it's not! I would not have stayed there if I had known this. When we got to our room, there were no extra pillows. So all along the way. it is a lack of service that we encountered. Disappointing. This could be a GREAT hotel if not for the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had a bad feeling the minute we walked into the lobby. Three people were standing behind the check-in counter, but only one was working. None of them seemed to care that there were several of us waiting to check in.

We booked through hotels.com and thank god we did. When we arrived the Doubletree did not have our reservation. Even though I stood the WITH MY CONFIRMATION NUMBER, the front desk staff did almost nothing to help other than dismiss us and tell us to call hotels.com. After spending over an hour on the phone right across from the front desk staff hotels.com finally faxed them the paperwork instructing them to give us a room. But of course they were sold out, so they "upgraded" us to a larger room. This was really a meeting room with a murphy bed.

The room:
Looked like it was never vacuumed. The bed was uncomfortable. The never even cleaned it on your 3rd day. Even though we called twice. Best we could do was get them to deliver some fresh towels for our showers in the morning. Really!?! And as you might expect never an apology.

The bar:
The closed when the wanted to. One night at 12, one night at 10 and another at 11. Bad attitudes.

The management:
Certainly does not care. The whole place felt dirty. Signs fell off walls. Some of the staff there (like in the Starbucks) were friendly, but most acted like they could care less if you stayed there or not.

Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeI228, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Arndawg, we wanted to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the lack of service you experienced during your most recent stay at our hotel. There are no excuses for the lack of attention you received and more importantly your issues not being resolved in a timely manner. This is in no way the services that our guests have come to expect from our hotel, but unfortunately in your case, we dropped the ball. Rest assured that your feedback has been communicated to our staff in order to make the necessary changes in the way we deliver our service. Again, we apologize for your poor stay and do look forward to you giving us another chance in or order to prove that Hilton definitely stands for outstanding service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elyria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I would recommend this facility to anyone traveling to the great city of Cleveland! Every employee that works there truely takes the statement "above and beyond" seriously! The only issue I had was i paid my deposit in cash and they put the money back onto the card I used to reserve the room! I was told it would be on there 7 days later and I am still waiting! That is the reason I paid cash in the first place!! But that doesnt change the fact that my stay here was one of the best I have had in a hotel or everyone in that builing minus one person never said "I can't" or "I won't"...I dont think those words exsist in there vocabulary!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms great bed and linen. Very comfortable compared to similarly prices properties I've stayed at

Gym was small but had a good range of free weights and quality walking machine.

Had a guest laundry so if you are travelling for a bit very useful and much cheaper than sending out.

The restaurant was simple but the staff very helpful and the crab cakes great :)

All up very impressive

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great location to attend Rock N Roll HoF and Football, Baseball, Basketball games. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Starbucks, Restaurant and Bar located inside. Shuttle was consistent. The elevators are HORRIBLE, especially in the morning when they are used as service elevators. We were on the 15th Floor and had to take the stairs down several times during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went to Cleveland to celebrate our anniversary and visit the Rolling Stones exhibit at the Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame. We specifically selected this hotel because of its close proximity to the Hall of Fame. We bought the "Hall of Fame" package which included the hotel (one night), museum tickets, a buffet breakfast and covered parking. We probably saved about $30 dollars and the whole package was under $200! The staff were very pleasant-especially the front desk staff! They informed us that we could remain in the parking garage after we checked out, which is especially useful if we wanted to see more sights before leaving the premises. We utilized the free shuttle to dine downtown one evening and this was extremely convenient. Free dropoff and pickup throughout the stay. Breakfast was very good for a free buffet. No negatives to speak of. Great location, good value, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water. Ours did not have one, but there were some that did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.