We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Plac to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Menominee, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Plac to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Double Tree in downtown Cleveland was a great place to stay especially if you’re visiting the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Museum. We purchased the Rock N Roll package which included: 2 admission tickets, a very good buffet breakfast for 2 in their restaurant, stadium 3, (they threw in an extra breakfast for our daughter at check-in) and self-parking in the attach garage. The Chocolate Chip Cookies they gave you at check-in were extremely good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    379
    241
    103
    47
See reviews for
258
348
60
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

very near the rock and roll hall of fame, walking distance.
cookies on arrival , nice touch.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was deceived by the pictures on the internet which show the lobby- which appears nice when you check -in but when you park your car after registering- reality sets in. The parking garage is very creepy - then you step into the elevator which needs to be totally replaced-scary. Once you go past the front desk and head toward the elevators- you begin to notice the carpets- very old- especailly in the elevator and on the floor hallways. The luggage carrier is filthy and could be cleaned easily with a vacuum and brass cleaner( it's like no one seems to care about details in this Hilton property). Our first room had active mold growing in the ceiling of the shower( which by the way if you are taller than 5'11- you can reach out and touch the ceiling in the shower and bathroom- one of the smallest bathrooms I have ever stayed in- no where to put anything). After calling the front desk and complaining- they did give us a room across the hall and didn't charge us for the first night stay since we had to move all of our stuff at 8 pm. The next room was as small and cramped and also the lighting was terrible. At least the view was of the street- the other room looked out over the roof of a building. We couldn't wait to leave the hotel everyday because it was so depressing- I now know why the Ritz and another downtown hotel were sold out. The location was a plus and the beds were up to the Hilton standard. I had not been to Cleveland in 20 yrs- was very disappointed in how the downtown had deteriorated. I took my 14 yo out to the warehouse district to a very expensive restaurant and while we were eating outside( it was very nice eating outside) the Larry Flint Hustler van rode by with the disgusting ads for men. Also being advertised and pushed was the gambling casino. No wonder the downtown is falling apart- it's not like that will encourage families on vacations! The last complaint was the Doubletree shuttle- it was gross- the woman driving was nice but she had her half-eaten dinner on the floor and the van smelled- she kept talking about places to drink and get liquior in front of my daughter. She did weem to have alot of knowledge about the city but it was just an over all bad experience- maybe my last rip to downtown Cleveland.

Room Tip: Try and find other hotel- did not see rooms on executive level- maybe those were nicer- but you woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while you were here with us. We have worked with both our maintenance team and housekeeping staff in attempts to correct all issues mentioned. We would love the chance to provide you with an exceptional hospitality experience, should your travels bring you back to the area. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinckney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We booked our room as a rock n roll hall of fame package. When we arrived the hotel did not have our tickets, but they did reduce the price of the tickets from our room price. We had to stay in line to buy our tickets( no big deal, just inconvient). The room was clean but there was a large stain on the ceiling. The Hotel is close to rail road tracks which we heard in the early hours. When the fan was not running we could also hear road noises. The pool reeked of chorlrine, my eyes burned just from entering the pool area. The breakfast was awesome and a van ride to marketplace was very nice. I would choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We’re sorry that we didn’t provide you with a rewarding experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy hallways and thin walls. We also have addressed our housekeeping staff regarding the ceiling in your room. Your comments will help us correct these issues. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I recently made a trip to Cleveland to see the Indians play. We stayed at the Doubletree - Lakeside. The hotel was clean and well managed. Our room was comfortable and we greatly enjoyed our stay. The view from our room on the 17th floor was beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hubs and I wanted a little getaway to see the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame. We were not at all familiar with Cleveland so I refered to the internet and tripadvisor and selected The Doubletree as it is the closest to the Rock Hall. BINGO! We booked a package deal that included tickets to the Rock Hall and a buffet breakfast in the hotel.

From check in to check out ALL staff were friendly. We were given warm chocolate chip cookies at check in! We arrived very early, but they allowed us to check in and gave us our Rock Hall tickets. From our hotel window although we faced another building - we could see the Rock Hall and Lake Erie. It was a hot day so we opted to take the FREE hotel shuttle. Just ask... and they take you where needed all over downtown. Great! We ended up walking back because it is so close.

We later took the shuttle to the new casino where although we did not have much luck with the slots- we REALLY enjoyed the AWESOME buffet dinner at the Horseshoe Casino!

There is a nice bar- and a Starbucks IN the hotel! Also- a great pool. The buffet breakfast was yummy. The parking garage elevator is in the lobby of the hotel and there are plenty of spaces. We parked on the top floor of the garage and could see our vehicle from our room on the 9th floor which made the hubs happy!

Our room had two very comfortable queen sized beds - nice sized flat screen- chair, desk, full length mirror- and a mini fridge!!! The bathroom was nice. Everything in the room was updated and very clean.

There are lots of places to stay in Cleveland. This place has all you need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you will be able to see a view of the lake and the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
It is wonderful to see you had such a great stay.... Thank you for a great compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Booked the room on hotwire. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, but I had a few quibbles.

When we arrived the room was as cold as a meat locker. I checked the thermostat and it was set to 60. When I mentioned this to the front desk they did not acknowledge it as an issue.

The other concern was the poor soundproofing between the rooms. The noise from my neighbor's shower woke me up in the morning

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.