We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, very modern, but watch out for add-ons.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location, very modern, but watch out for add-ons.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

I visited this hotel with 2 of my kids. The entire hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. It has a nice pool, hot tub and an excellent (if small) gym with complimentary water.

The location is excellent and very close to several attractions including the Great Lakes Science Center, Rock n Roll Hall of Fame and USS Cod. The Hotel provides a free shuttle which the receptionist told us would shuttle guests wherever they want and does not follow a fixed schedule. This sounded good until I realized that no fixed schedule means that you could wait 30 minutes or better with no shuttle making an appearance.

Parking is $16 Per day, which I think is a little pricey, but allows you to go in and as many times as you want using your room key as a parking pass. My son made the obvious mistake of making local calls from the hotel phone (2 of 3 didn't actually go through) and that cost us $25.00.

Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The hotel was renovated 2 years ago and has a lot to offer. We look forward to having you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    345
    213
    98
    43
See reviews for
247
310
54
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located and in easy walking distance to either Progressive Field, Cleveland Browns Stadium and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

The furniture, bedding and furnishings are very nice and consistent with what I expect from a Doubletree hotel but the building is old and dated, sort if like a fading hollywood starlet with new clothes and make-up. It is a comfortable, safe and okay place to stay for business.

The service on the other hand was unpleasant at best. As an example as I went to check-out at the front desk because I had not received a statement under my door (I need it to submit for expense reimbursement). When I arrived at the front desk no one was there. After a few moments an unpleasant woman emerged from the back, picked up the phone and started dialing without acknowledging my presence. (No I'll be right with you sir or I'm sorry I need to make one quick call). When she completed her call, without looking up, she asked me what I needed. I told her I needed to check out and get a receipt. She asked the room number which I provided and without another word handed me my receipt and kept typing. So after waiting a moment for her to ask if I needed anything else I offered that I had misplaced my breakfast voucher and needed another, she handed another to me again without a word or without looking up once.

This one example was consistent with almost every staff member I encountered. Unpleasant, hurried and on the verge of being angry.

Bottom line is while it wasn't terrible I expect better from a quality brand like Doubletree and I will certainly try somewhere else on my next trip to Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond and to allow us the opportunity to have you back as a guest in the near future. I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The DoubleTree is an old refurbished hotel. The rooms are small and bathrooms tiny.

We stayed on the Executive Floor hoping to get away from families with small children visiting the Hall of Fame. No luck. Can't blame the hotel for people pounding on the interlocking door at midnight but doors were slamming LOUDLY all night. The hotel has window air conditioners that are also LOUD. You can not set them to run continuously so it is turning off and on all night.

On the plus side, the breakfast and reception food on the Executive floor was good but breakfast ends at 9am.

Staff seemed fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
First let me apologize for the noise you encountered while staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed our staff, breakfast, and reception. I look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, MI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife & I met friends in Cleveland and elected to stay here. The rooms were reasonably priced, although there was about $20 worth of taxes and $16 per night for parking. There were only 3 clerks handling the check in and there was no consierge either.

But the place has many plusses. Its location is perfect for walking to baseball park, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, and all of Cleveland's eateries and night life. It also has 3 shuttles running that will transport you if your legs can't. The shuttle drivers are a wealth of good information too.

The Double Tree also has a nice bar. It has cheap drink specials and great service. The work out room is great. It actually has free weight dumbells ans a slant board - a lot better than most hotels. The pool was clean. But the restaurant was pricey, It has a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Decided to stick with a Doubletree while traveling to Cleveland, reviews were OK and i figured so far on this trip Hilton had done a good job, guess again.

The hotel is on the lakeside and not far from the Rock and Roll Hall of fame, it is more than 6 blocks to the City Mall and Hard Rock Cafe and several blocks from decent bars and restaurants. Very close to the Browns football field and the Science Museum

Parking was about $18 a night in a open parking garage

The front desk was busy at check in, but was proficient and quick!

Room was on the top floor and was nothing special, King Room with a view of the Municipal City Air Port and the Quasi-Industry side of the city.

I hate to use the word "clean" in any part of this report, while it may have been tidied up it just did not feel clean; from the windows to the floors to the VERY outdated and abused furniture this place (or at least the room we were in) had seen better days.

Breakfast was a joke....Are you reading this Doubletree? A Joke! Clean the tables once in awhile along with the chairs. There was one woman who was trying to run the entire show and it was too much! The selection was not fresh, the fruit had been sitting around, juice was not good and the taste was not right. The Starbucks, next to the Restaurant, is the better alternative.

The saving grace was the staff, very friendly and helpful and always with a smile, to include the cleaning ladies. Thank you for at least that!

Room Tip: I think the Marriott is a newer sleaker hotel, give them a try first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

The highlight was the cookie. Not so hot you gather which is right. To far from night life to walk and the room amenities too old & worn to brag about. I spent 3 nights there and the a/c acted up all but one. This is after reporting the a/c, a dirty towel hanging behind the door and a shower curtain that was so heat distorted across the top that you could not keep the water in the shower--it was never changed even after I reported it. The bed was fairly good but my room was so small that I could use the wore out desk and chair as my night stand. The finishing touch each night and to start the day off as well, was having having to slam the door to get it fully closed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give the feedback. As stated in my email to you, we take your comments seriously and each department is involved to utilize them as a way to improve. I am also happy that you will be giving us another opportunity the next time you come to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel was great -- clean and nice. I liked the lake view, the warm cookie, and the excellent shuttle service. The front desk staff was wonderful as well. They suggested a local restaurant for our dinner. I did have issues with using the copier in the Business Center -- I couldn't figure out how to work it.

However, after I came home I realized I left some items (a shirt and a pair of pants) in my room. I called and left a message with Housekeeping (no response), and I have submiited two electronic comments on the website (no response). I have seen one other review regarding lost and found items. It appears I am not the only one who has had this problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me regarding your losat and found item. I'm glad that we were able to locate the item and ship back to you. I look forward to having you back as a future guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.