We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in quieter part of downtown Cleveland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside to your Saves list
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rock and Roll HOF Package
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in quieter part of downtown Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just stayed at the Doubletree for 2 nights with some friends. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. Room was nice and clean, bed was extremely comfortable, and the room had a fridge and microwave which definitely came in handy. Received breakfast free both mornings and it was pretty good, had an omelet maker, danishes, bacon, sausage and some other options. Hotel was a 2 minute walk to Browns Stadium, but was about a 15-20 min walk to the main part of downtown where the bars and restaurants are. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the Doubletree and would definitely recommend it to others visiting Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    408
    265
    111
    50
See reviews for
285
379
60
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel was decent but located in a business district with little to offer. It is very close to the Rock & Roll Museum and Great Lakes Science Center so convenient if you aegoing to either of those. However, there is essentially nothing else around except offices, the lakefront airport and a freeway. On the plus side, the hotel offers. Free shuttle to take you where to need to go. Plan to use if you want to eat out or find any entertainment. The price we paid was good but we got the hotel on Expedi unpublished rates web site. We'd have been much more disappointed if we paid the regular published rates.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods MI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Doubletree Hotel in Cleveland has terrible customer service, however they do offer BED BUGS and dirty socks in most rooms. I can't believe the way our family was treated last weekend, and they don't want to do anything for us. I guess we will never stay at any Hilton Hotel ever again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Mr. Paterno,
First let me say thank you for taking the time to speak with me regarding your recent visit to Cleveland. Although you chose not to stay with us, I am glad to have eased your mind with the fact that it was indeed not a bed bug. I am also glad that you have chosen to accept our apology and be a guest of ours the next time you arrive in Cleveland. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Any one of these things at this hotel wouldn't have been a big deal, but the issues just kept adding up.
We checked in very late, and the front desk staff was a couple of college kids who were making the security guard do all their errands. she was a great security guard, we saw her when we drove into the garage, but then a half-hour later she was the same person who delivered the linens and pillows for our son's fold-our sofa (which should have been there anyway).
I could excuse some of the dirt in the bathroom and tub as the result of a hasty clean, but not the turd still floating in the toilet. Gross!
when we booked the hotel the rep asked us if we wanted a lake view or not. we said, yes. so we got charged extra for a lake view. turns out, whoever build this hotel didn't put any windows on the lake side of the hotel! we checked into our room and called about the view (and the turd, sheets, etc) and the desk rep then said, "well, we really don't have any views of the lake." maybe someone should have told that to the booking rep. the best view of the lake is from the parking garage.
and yes, we would have switched rooms but they said only smoking were available. would not stay at this hotel again...except the only advantage is proximity to downtown events.

Room Tip: go somewhere else! anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
First let me say I am sorry for what you encountered during your stay. Unfortunately when the hotel was built, windows were put on the east and west sides of the building and not a direct north facing. However, many rooms have a very nice view of the lake. I also can assure you we take your comments seriously and will address the cleanliness immediately as this does not meet the Doubletree by Hilton expectations. Thank you for the kind words about our security, as we do take service as our number one priority. I look forward to hearing from you and to also get another opportunity when you return to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Lobby staff very helpful, gave us restaurant lists, and directions. Warm choc chip cookies a nice touch. Attached parking structure good. Used hotel provided van to restaurant, called for pick up home.
Walked to USS Cod, a WW2 submarine, for a tour. Well worth the time, but keep in mind that you have to climb in using ladder into sub. Has recordings with information throughout the sub.
Also walked to rock n' roll hall of fame, after going to sub. Arrived early, so little wait. but upon leaving HOF was very crowed, and had long wait.
Stayed on 16th floor, could see lake from room. Negs, event at lake park very loud at night, but turned air very low and it served to block out noise. Also, room could have been cleaner (bath room had dirt swept, but not picked up)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed for one night mid-week. Overall we were pleased with the hotel. We purchased the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame package which came wtih 2 tickets, parking, and breakfast the next morning. This was a pretty good deal but if you can go on the weekend you can save $40 or so on the package. Despite complaints I've read here our room (17th floor Executive King) was clean and quiet. and no trouble with the elevators. Breakfast was good. We walked to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and also to Progressive Field for a baseball game. The hotel does provide local transportation which is nice if you don't want to walk. Bathroom was small but adequate. Beds were quite comfortable. There was a mini-fridge in the room. We typically stay in Hilton Hotels (Doubletree, Hampton, Hilton Garden Inn) and this hotel was up to the standards we have come to expect. The only problem we encountered is we left our car parked in the garage for several hours after we checked out, before we were ready to leave. Our swipe card wouldn't work to exit the garage (most likely it was cancelled shortly after we checked out) but there happened to be a hotel employee nearby who swiped his card to let us out. I do agree with those who think $16 is alot to pay for parking in what appears to be a garage owned and operated by the hotel. But it might be on par with what you find in the other hotels downtown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belpre, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Doubletree for one night. Overall our experience was good. We got a great rate on priceline so we were pleased with how nice it was. The staff upon check in was very friendly. The problem we had was after checking out. Once we arrived home about 4 hours after checking out we discovered that my friend had left something in the bathroom of our room. We called and were told we have to speak with housekeeping. I left a message and never got a return call. We contined to call all week and have got no response. I spoke to a staff member of the front desk and he acted like I was bothering him and said the only one I can speak to about lost and found is housekeeping. I have to assume that they took her stuff. Not to mention the there was a dirty glass still in the room when we checked in. So this is a great place to stay but dont expect much from housekeeping and as far as I can tell you cannot trust them either.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree33, General Manager at Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
It was great to have been able to contact you and successfully have your items on there way. I am sorry for the confusion with the wrong phone number and look forward to many more happy stays with us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside

Address: 1111 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in downtown Cleveland is one-half mile from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and other great things to do in downtown Cleveland. It offers a spacious indoor pool and free shuttle service to downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Hotel Cleveland
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.